We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cayucos Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cayucos Beach Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked this hotel last minute, on the way on a drive in the Central Coast. The rates were reasonable (the staff told me it is much harder to get a room in the summer months). The hotel had nice curb appeal, and the room was large and comfortable. I liked the idea of the hard flooring (laminate/wood) on the first floor. The room was quiet. Breakfast was continental (no warm items), but sufficient. The owners were very nice, and checking in was easy. Walking distance to the beach. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I liked the idea of no carpet on my first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8lindsay, Manager at Cayucos Beach Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks for the amazing review. We love hearing from our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    108
    30
    8
    13
See reviews for
121
123
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights as a summer getaway with our dogs. It is very important to us that where we stay is pet “friendly” and not just pet “tolerant”. Cayucos Beach Inn fit the bill.
The rooms were spacious with great amenities like a coffeemaker, mini fridge, microwave and a separate sink from the bathroom vanity. Beds were large and comfortable. Doggies have their own peep hole at the bottom of the door.

The pet area was great, a nice grassy patch to take the dogs, complete with a dog wash station for when those furry babies are caked with sand after a walk on the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed walking or dogs on the beach every morning and evening.

The hotel is conveniently located next to a grocery store, so if you need ice, or drinks or even a couple of steaks to grill on the outdoor BBQ, they have pretty much everything you need.

There is a small park across the street for additional dog walking and a short walk to beach access. Though the downhill and rocky terrain at that beach access can be treacherous, I suggest walking or driving the few blocks to town for good (and free) parking with better access to the beach.

The continental breakfast was sufficient, just the basics as not to take away from some of the great restaurants serving breakfast. The employees were friendly, our room was cleaned in a timely fashion every day.


The one caution I would advise, is to call and confirm your reservation. The Inn does not send out an e-mail confirmation. I had called and booked 3 nights, then called a few days prior to confirm and they had us down for only 1 night. It was easy enough to fix, but it could have been a problem. Check in and Check out was a breeze though.

Cayucos is a lovely place, we will go back again. The folks in town are welcoming, the food at local restaurants is delicious and reasonably priced. We loved that we could take our doggies with us to eat and sit out on a patio at Skipper’s and Schooner’s. It was a great way to spend a few days at a very relaxing pace

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8lindsay, Manager at Cayucos Beach Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We loved having you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here on our honeymoon, at first we were a little bummed out our travel agent booked us here... But once we settled in we really enjoyed ourselves! Very well kept and it's in such a great little town. We stayed here for 2 nights and it ended up being one of our favourite places we stayed along the coast! Our room was very clean, and it had a little patio table on the balcony for us to sit on to watch the sun setting. Breakfast was good to get our day stared.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8lindsay, Manager at Cayucos Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for writing us an amazing review. We love hearing from our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, Ca
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed four nights and we were really impressed with Cayucos Beach Inn. As others have stated the rooms are very large. There was more than enough room for me, my two daughters and our golden retriever. We never felt cramped or like we were trampling over each other. We had a room with two queen beds, a recliner, a small table with a chair. A very large flat screen tv, with a chair and desk area and plenty of space to spread out our luggage. The shower/tub combo also shared the toilet and the vanity was extra spacious as it had two sinks which made for lots of room for all of us to get ready for our day. The room was so large we also had a counter/sink area with a coffee pot, microwave and mini frig. The room was very clean and smelled very nice when we arrived. I do have to mention that the toilet seat lid was broken but did not keep us from using the toilet. Also, in need of repair was one of the sink faucets which had to be maneuvered in a certain way to turn it off. We had an upstairs room and had to carry our suitcases upstairs but it was not an issue for us, elderly people might have a problem so ask for a ground floor room. The owners and staff were always around making sure rooms were cleaned and were very generous with things like extra toilet paper and towels. Other guests we encountered were very friendly and one couple shared with us where to get the best fish and chips. As did the owner when my daughter went to ask her she was told the same place as the couple...Duckie's! And they were correct. We will be back to Cayucos Beach Inn, in the very near future and would recommend it to everyone or maybe we shouldn't, we won't be able to get a room. Love the Cayucos area, so quiet and felt like home.

Room Tip: Ground floor room for elderly as there is no elevator for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shell1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8lindsay, Manager at Cayucos Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for giving us your kind feedback. We loving hearing from you! We are so glad we made your stay at Cayucos so enjoyable. We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed two nights here and it was really great. Centrally located and the room was large and clean. Staff was excellent. Had a little problem with the TV at first and was immediately attended to. Will return.

Room Tip: The room we had was great. The breakfast was continental and average. Recommend visting the Pie M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8lindsay, Manager at Cayucos Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. We love hearing from our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
379 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Every year we make this a stop on a longer distance driving trip. We have found it to be a clean, well run motel that is basic but reliably consistent and meets our needs. Breakfast included in the cost for a night's stay and decent fresh offerings for the morning meal. We find it to be a tradition to stay here and know we can expect a level of care and consistency as we continue the journey on our way home. Close to everything in Cayucos and a 15 minute drive to Cambria.

Room Tip: No elevator so we always ask for a ground floor quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8lindsay, Manager at Cayucos Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are so glad we were able to keep you comfortable on your long trip. Thanks for the amazing review and we'll see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My sister and I stayed here a couple nights. We were here to attend my cousin's wedding. Our room had 2 queen beds and it was a very big room. The rooms were very clean,beds were comfortable and the staff was great. The breakfast was also very nice. The close proximity to the beach was awesome. I had never been to this beach and it was beautiful and the Inn made it that much more memorable. I will definately return to this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is going to be in this area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor and we did not hear any noise from the 2nd floor nor the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebudd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8lindsay, Manager at Cayucos Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for taking time out of your busy day for the amazing review you had left us. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.3 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.3 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
6.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
18.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Beach Inn

Property: Cayucos Beach Inn
Address: 333 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1231
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cayucos Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayucos Beach Inn is one block from the beach in Cayucos, California. We are a 3-diamond rated property, and we would love for you to bring your pet with you on your family vacation. We offer a friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, and a great location. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cayucos Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Beach Hotel Cayucos
Cayucos Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing