We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Princess and the Pea Bed!”
Review of Cayucos Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cayucos Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our bed at this welcoming Inn was enormous and had a superb feather mattress. even a Princess would be happy sleeping here! The sheets were beautiful. Super tasty fresh breakfast - all quality foodstuffs. The bathrooms were excellent and immaculate. We enjoyed the view and fresh air of our balcony. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrianaB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I were spending a week in mid-Dec (away from sub-zero weather at home) wandering around and exploring central California. Based on some TripAdvisor recommendations, we decided to stay in San Luis Obispo County's coastal village of Cayucos, and from there visit Hearst Castle and the nearby Elephant Seal beach. Cayucos is a great spot for this purpose. It lived up to the TripAdvisor description of a really scenic and low-key tourist village with good restaurants -- no chain stores or national fast food outlets there -- and very good places to stay.

When we arrived in Cayucos and opened TripAdvisor to pick a place to stay, we were surprised to find that one of the top-rated B&Bs in the US is located there! The Sunset Inn has a rating of 9.8 and it is well deserved . . . But after staying there for 2 nights, we wonder how they lost any marks at all from a perfect score!

It was an easy walk to the beach, community wharf (currently being refurbished), restaurants and a few stores and bars.

The staff at The Sunset Inn are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent and the daily wine and appetizer receptions were a very pleasant surprise! And both provided good opportunities to compare travel tips with other guests and the staff. The location is very good and our "room" (more accurately described as suite 6 or "The Champagne Room") was on the second floor with a good sized balcony that had a great view of the coast and ocean. We took every opportunity while we were in the unit to sit out there and take in the view.

The suite exceeded our expectations. We entered into a good-sized lounge, with a queen-sized hide-a-bed, flat panel TV, ceiling fan, and gas fireplace. It also had a full-size closet with 2 robes, security safe, ironing board, iron and luggage stand. In the middle of the suite was a washroom to the right with 2 sinks and a jet-tub that could easily hold 2, while on the left was a room with a large shower (ceiling-mounted rainfall shower head and three wall-jets) and a modern high-efficiency toilet. At the front of the suite was a very large master bedroom with king-sized bed, gas fireplace, ceiling fan, bar fridge, bar sink, an armoire with another flat panel TV, an easy chair, a cafe table-for-two and large windows facing the bay, alongside the door to the deck, mentioned above.

The furnishings, linens and the finish of the suite were top quality. The mattress was a superior-quality commercial mattress that we only encounter in high-end hotels like a Fairmont or Hyatt.

The Sunset Inn is a little more expensive than others in Cayucos, but in this case you not only get what yo pay for, you get more. And that is why we extended our stay at The Sunset Inn.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the second floor suites sou you get the ocean view and the balcony. We didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandonBob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was visiting friends in nearby Cambria, and stayed 3 wonderful nights at The Cayucos Sunset Inn in the Champagne Room. The decor of the room (as well as the common dining area downstairs) has that "casual yet elegant" feel of Provence. Simply beautiful and luxurious fabrics throughout the room, and an impeccibly clean, spacious bathroom. It's the little touches like fresh flowers on the bath sink and the cookies on your doorknob each evening that make a stay here special. A sweet or savory breakfast choice each morning--each one delicious and filling enough to keep you going all morning. The staff is very friendly and accommodating of special requests. I couldn't ask for anything more from an inn. They truly are B&B perfection, and I am already looking forward to coming back there on my next trip to California.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkie6678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Beautifully appointed suite with separate living areas. Cooked breakfast. Walking distance to the beach and good restaurants. Lovely bed and breakfast! Staff available from 8 am to 8pm. Good stop overnight from Monterey.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I am always nervous when I go to a hotel, at Cayucos Sunset Inn I felt like at home, the cleanness of the place help me feel so relax, I want to thank Lisa the owner and her staff for being so kind, loved this place, All the guest looked very happy. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our second stay at the Sunset Inn, the first being 6 years ago when we got engaged. The property has been upgraded and is smartly decorated. The service remains excellent, the food was wonderfully prepared and we loved the happy hour, especially the olives and cheeses. And of course the warm cookies and milk at bed time is a real treat!!

This property is a great romantic getaway within walking distance of the beach, bars, restaurants. We would also recommend a drive to the Heart Castle, a really cool place to see.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We love staying at the Sunset Inn as the staff extra friendly and they remember you when you return. The rooms are beautiful and the linens are soft. Happy hour, warm cookies & milk at 8, and the breakfasts cooked to order are yummy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
143 reviews
6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Sunset Inn

Address: 95 S Ocean Ave, PO Box 151, Cayucos, CA 93430-1647
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range: £102 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayucos Sunset Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cayucos Sunset Inn is a welcoming, open building trimmed with beautiful flowers and hedges. We have a shaded patio in front for the guests to relax in. The patio opens to our quaint dinning area where we serve a free breakfast and hold a complementary wine and cheese hour. Our five rooms vary in size. Four are located upstairs with ocean view patios. The rooms open to a living room area with a television, electric fire place, and couch in the front. Through the small hall, the bedrooms have luxurious king size beds, additional electric fire places, and small refrigerators. Each of these four rooms have jacuzzi tubs and rain shower heads. We have a smaller downstairs room we offer as well. We are located in a small throwback beach town. Our building is about a block from the beach with ocean views up top. The Inn is located on the main road up from Cayucos's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cayucos Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Sunset Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing