We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B on Central Coast!”
Review of Cayucos Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cayucos Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B on Central Coast!”
Reviewed 19 May 2010

My husband and I will return. Breakfast was great both mornings of our stay--fruit and muffin or scone, coffee, juice and 2 choices for main dish. More food than the usual continental breakfast and gourmet quality. We stayed in the Sunset room which was spacious and comfortable, slept sound both nights--bed was perfect. And of course we walked to the beach and the pier and great nearby restaurants for dinner. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    32
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
230
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

A beautiful place in the beach town of Cayucos. Wonderful service by staff and owner. Nice breakfast and warm hospitality. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, CA
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The Cayucos Sunset Inn B & B is special, located in the small sleepy Cayucos town, very comfortable and classy rooms all with a view of the ocean. The service is outstanding! They offer menu choices for gourmet breakfast, and many special immenities. The owners and staff are friendly, helpful and wonderful individuals! We highly recommend the Cayucos Sunset Inn, In every way it suprassed our expectations.!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsifelttil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Breakfast was excellent and served with a simile.
Room was clean and ample.
Afternoon wine & cheese and evening milk & cookies were a nice welcome touch.
Staff was very helpful and willing to answer questions about area.
Hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgerunnerNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont CA
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2010

our visit in February 2010 was our fourth visit to this Inn. Not long after it opened, we were referred here by a Cambria innkeeper, with very, very high marks, and the Sunset Inn owners and staff have certainly lived up to the billing.

Check-in is quick and easy; the staff is friendly and professional. The rooms are quite nice - a sitting area towards the back, a very luxurious bathroom with two-person tub, a water closet/shower midway through, and a very nice bedroom facing the seaside, with french doors and a porch outside. The rooms have gas fireplaces, which are both functional - they provide a lot of heat - and add a very welcoming touch to the room.

Breakfast has two seatings, at 8:30 and 9:30; both are wonderful, with sweet and savory breakfast choices each day. Lunch is the guest's responsibility, but there are enough wonderful restaurants in Cayucos itself to stay busy.....or there's wine touring, or cycling, or San Simeon tours, or hiking, or (...) - you get the idea; there's lots to do.

In the evenings from 5-7, the staff serves local wine, cheese, and fruit in the common area. It's a pleasant way to start winding down and a nice amuse-bouche before dinner.

I've enjoyed Cayucos in general - it's just far enough off the beaten path to be comfortable and quiet. The weather's generally wonderful - even rainy days aren't bad, as a rule, as it doesn't get bitterly cold - and the scenery and ocean view are unparalleled.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meh1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California-Dunsmuir
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Reservations made with a Sandy for one night and made dinner reservations at a local restaurant too. The staff was well-trained, friendly, and professional.

The room ( #5) is actually a suite and is LARGE- perfect for a long stay...

We had breakfast in the room and it was delivered by the owner! Now, that is personalzed service... : )

I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baker195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This place is so special. It's a very romantic setting with beautiful rooms, views and amazing breakfasts. We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mushy1h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
12.7 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
15.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Sunset Inn

Property: Cayucos Sunset Inn
Address: 95 S Ocean Ave, PO Box 151, Cayucos, CA 93430-1647
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayucos Sunset Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cayucos Sunset Inn is a welcoming, open building trimmed with beautiful flowers and hedges. We have a shaded patio in front for the guests to relax in. The patio opens to our quaint dinning area where we serve a free breakfast and hold a complementary wine and cheese hour. Our five rooms vary in size. Four are located upstairs with ocean view patios. The rooms open to a living room area with a television, electric fire place, and couch in the front. Through the small hall, the bedrooms have luxurious king size beds, additional electric fire places, and small refrigerators. Each of these four rooms have jacuzzi tubs and rain shower heads. We have a smaller downstairs room we offer as well. We are located in a small throwback beach town. Our building is about a block from the beach with ocean views up top. The Inn is located on the main road up from Cayucos's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cayucos Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Sunset Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing