We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Cypress Tree Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cypress Tree Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are looking for a small motel that is close to everything, this is it. The beach was a few blocks away and downtown was within walking distance.
Would consider staying here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have stayed at the Cypress Tree Motel several times over the last several years and have had good experiences each and every time. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and each is decorated in a theme. The bed and pillows are extremely comfortable. Some of the rooms are not very large so if that is a concern be sure to ask when you make your reservation. To me the charm of the rooms make up for the size! Cayucos is a small beach town so shops and restaurants and the beach are all within walking distance. This is my hotel of choice when I am in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is where we stay every time we come to the coast. The atmosphere is so welcoming, it feels like home away from home. We have met the best people when we stay. The hotel is pet friendly which allows us to bring our little guy with us. Would highly recommend Cypress Tree to anyone who wants a nice getaway and meet amazing people!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The place has charm, the folks running the place were very friendly. We stayed in the Route 66 room. Great location, close to everything. The Sea Shanty is located across the street. Next time we're at the coast this is where we'll be staying. Tho we didn't take advantage of the BBQ it was available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We reserved rooms Friday and Saturday night and were unable to make it Friday. We did not notify them until 9pm Friday night. They said because they were not full they would give us a discount for Friday (and were extremely friendly about it). When we arrived Saturday morning the motel and all surrounding motel/hotel/inns were showing "no vacancy". We were surprised when they still gave us the discount as promised and checked us into our original reserved room early. So the customer service was great. The "Sunflower Suite" was relaxing, fully equipped, clean, and quiet. There is a great BBQ area (I get why others are so jazzed about it in the reviews), a sandy-dog-or-sandy-toy washing area, and just a great vibe. Did I mention the location is GREAT? Next to a market/deli, restaurants, the beach, and the pier. Cuyacos in general has a great vibe and breathtaking natural surroundings. Our overnight at Cypress Hotel relaxed us like a week's va-cay, thanks!

Room Tip: The upstairs suites are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeckyLeeNissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This little motel is in some bad need of a good cleaning...fecal matter under the toilet seat!! Old dirty fake flowers stappled to the door and above the bed! Yuck, pay more, book earlier and get something clean!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jrphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmylou5, Owner at Cypress Tree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

I've owned the Cypress Tree for almost 15 years and have resisted responding to a review until now. I would invite anyone reading this person's review to click our "By the Garden" room page and look at the farm gate with flowers decoration over the bed. I have received hundreds of compliments on it over the years, and none of them contained the phrase "dead flowers".

The second "dead flower" reference was for the the red, white, and blue boquets we attach to all our room doors as part of our elaborate 4th of July decorations.

As for the cleanliness issues, I suggest anyone to read all 31 reviews currently on TripAdvisor and note "clean" or "cleanliness" is mentioned in the vast majority of them.

I quess none of the rest of us can be as perfect as the writer of this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Pet friendly, clean, welcoming and great location on Cayucos Beach. Rooms are small but have everything you need including fridge with complimentary water bottles and microwave. Friendly welcoming inn owner. Great value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
137 reviews
6.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,327 reviews
5.3 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#27 of 29 in Morro Bay
248 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Tree Motel

Address: 125 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1227
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cypress Tree Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing