We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needing renovation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Kettering UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needing renovation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I had booked in advance at a number of locations whilst touring California and Arizona, all of which had proved to be good choices. This was our last stay and how I came to chose it I will never know! On arrival the place looked poor and the room was musty and not at all inviting. Beds clean and comfortable, but carpeting dirty and stained. Shower OK in corner of very small washroom in which sink drained very slowly. This motel looks as if it was constructed in the 1950s or earlier and since then little, if anything, has been spent on updating it. Breakfast which was included, consisted of one sticky pain au raisin (or at least thats what it looked lke!!) in a sealed bag and a coffee which we had to fetch from the small reception room where there was no eating area. Needless to say, we found nothing to recommend this place.

Room Tip: Dont think there are ANY GOOD rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    8
    8
    21
See reviews for
19
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

not as advertised: first room had no refrigerator. no ice machine available. bathroom sink was clogged.

management lied about giving me a reduction in fees when I complained about the conditions of this hotel. Billed me the hole amount. Free breakfast was Cheerios. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: plug your nose and close your eyes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cayucos hotels

Danville, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Cayucos, Calif. is definitely one of the "best kept secrets" in beach towns you will ever find. However most of the hotel choices are from motels from the 50's & 60"s & the Dolphin Inn is one of these 50 year old properties. It lacks any beach view and is a fairly long walk to downtown where all the dining and activities are located. It is clean, neat & safe just VERY basic. I was offered my choice of rooms and Room #1 was nicer than most with nice furniture & a very nice flat-panel TV with a very cute (but small) bathroom. All these little beach motels fill-up on the the weekends - so plan accordingly. The Continental brkfst was just barely acceptable but it was FREE! Go down the street to Hoppe's for a real breakfast. No pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrmojo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here for 1 night whilst on a road trip up highway 1. I used trip advisor before coming into town and quickly found the motel. It didn't look great from the outside so we looked elsewhere but as it's peak season, absolutely everywhere else was showing 'No Vacancy'...so we decided yo stay at The Dolphin as planned. We thought the $129 was pretty hood until we saw the room. It looks like it was last decorated in the 1950's, the carpet was truly filthy and it smelled musty and damp. There was a kitchen that was barely suitable to house our suitcases, let alone cook in! The curtains barely give you any privacy. The shower was horrific, like showering in a dark wardrobe, it made me and my wife shudder the thought of using it (would make a great place to commit suicide). The front door didn't feel remotely secure as it looked like an old bedroom door. The bedshhets were clean, and we could park right outside, they are the only positives! We would highly recommend eating and drinking at the excellent Schooners down on the front. The food is excellent and the staff are ultra friendly, as are the locals.
Avoid The Dolphin like the plague!! The only way I'd stay here again is if they pulled the place down and let me pitch a tent where it once stood!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meadie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here because of the reviews on Yelp and TripAdvisor. Great choice! This is a totally retro feeling motel, but it is clean, kept nice and comfortable. We had two rooms, one with a King and the other with two Queens. I Do Not Recommend the Jacuzzi Suite room. It is smaller than the regular king room, especially the bathroom. The only drawback from this property is that it is a further distance from the main restaurants and the pier, but still walking distance, as is pretty much everything in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is a cute, old time motor hotel. Nothing fancy or modern except for the free wi fi. But the owners are super nice and the property is neat and tidy. Our room was clean, comfortable, and there weren't any strong cleaner odors masking old cigarette smells that you often find in old hotels. This little place is right across the street from the ocean. But the best part about this hotel is that it's in this great little seaside town which offers family vacation value in a quaint homey environment. The amenities at the Dolphin Inn are limited to in room coffee and a super limited breakfast of cereal and sweet rolls. But the packets of cookies are actually a welcome treat at check in. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uphilldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Spent 2 nights here. Great location close to everything and just a very short walk to the beach. It's true that it is not the newest motel or perhaps loaded with all the latest equipment but it was quiet, comfortable and clean. Our room had a small microwave and fridge which was handy. You can walk to most any place in town from the motel. Yes, there are newer motels available but I found this one to be the best price and it is pet friendly too. The breakfast was ok but there are a lot of places to eat in town. My only small complaint would be that our window facing the parking area didn't lock but the town appears to be a pretty safe place. We were satisfied with our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ace4294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.4 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.3 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Sunset Inn
Cayucos Sunset Inn
#1 of 6 in Cayucos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.5 mi away
On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 399 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1298
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pleasure in the lap of nature at Dolphin Inn. 19 Unit family operated motel, Non smoking Rooms, Cottage with kitchens, some rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing