We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST Cozy & Clean Motel Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Motel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST Cozy & Clean Motel Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This motel has got quite the personality! It redefines MOTEL. The owners treat it like a home and it shows! Rick, accommodated us by providing a pack n play for our daughter. Each rm has a theme. We stayed in Fish Fantasy and it was so cozy! The room always smelled fresh and was well kept! We had free wi fi, flat screen tv w/ cable, and there were even wine glasses with a cork opener!The bathroom was soo clean and they provide ORGANIC SOAP! The garden was so relaxing. The beach was a nice walking distance. If we are ever in town, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaScorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    64
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
157
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a small (12 rooms) motel with a seaside view in Cayucos, near San Simeon. It's run by the owners, who are very friendly. The cost is about what we expected ($75) for the four of us. We wanted an extra roll-in bed, which the didn't have, so they gave us an inflatable bed at no extra cost. Each room has a name: Ours was "Birdhouse Bungalow" and the decor inside the room matches the theme. It's not the Ritz Carlton, but it's clean and worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trawler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This Place is great, quaint and wonderful. There is no reason to stay anywhere else in Cayucos. Rick and Rebecca, the owners, are kind and very helpful. You can ask them anything and at any time. Every room has a theme and throughout the years (i have stayed there every summer for many years now) i have stayed in most of the rooms. All of them have charm, are clean and delightful. The Garden is a great place for a respite when the beach is too windy or you just want to isolate yourself from town yet still want a relaxing moment in the sun. Rooms are clean and comfortable with wi-fi. I would recommend this place to everyone, but dont want too many people to love it since I still want to be able to stay there during my annual summer trips ; )

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erika b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Quirky, kitsch, friendly and immaculate. We found this motel to be a total delight, with its themed rooms packed with details and imagination. Some of the rooms incorporate little kitchens, which we loved for the freedom it gave us to cater for ourselves. The garden was a fabulous haven of flowers and birds, and includes a BBQ and table for guests to use. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Have a look at several before you choose - every room is completely different and some have little k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremyandpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

What a wonderful little place in a delightful beach community just north of Morro bay.The owners take an obvious pride in their long ownership of this motel and the place abounds with many thoughtful touches. Rooms are individually styled and include modern flat screen tv's.The garden is wonderful and guests are encouraged to spend time there with comfortable chairs and sofas and several bar-b-q's for guests use. The owners even provide all materials to cook with and other family members help with the upkeep. The beach is less than 100 yards away and at low tide it is possible to walk all the way to Morro rock and the rather more touristy stores and restaurants there. Some of the suites have their own well equipped kitchens and all have microwaves and coffee makers. Great location for central wine country or beaches and hearst castle is less than half an hour away. We were looking for a laid back romantic retreat and found it!

Room Tip: choose a room facing west towards the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caliente
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Seaside Motel is a darling little place with each room decorated in a different style. Even though it is older it is a well cared for place and quite. The owners are so nice and treat you like family. The rooms have lots of little niceties and comfortable beds. Your right up from the ocean and within walking distance of many things to see and places to eat. They also have a delightful little garden with lots of colorful flowers and plants. We have stayed several times and it is a nice respite from our busy life.

Room Tip: Go on line and see all the rooms and the decor. If you are looking for swank this is not the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnCaliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

It took us a long time to get there. We came all the way from Paso Robles but it was worth every mile. I quess what we mean is it was great to find such a nice place, reasonably priced, with friendly hosts right in our own back yard. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weldingone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.1 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
12.7 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
6.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Motel

Property: Seaside Motel
Address: 42 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1640
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles, and just a stroll away from the sand and beach, the Seaside is a home away from home! Each charming room is unique in decor, all sprinkled with gifts from their ever-loving customers. The back garden patio can be found softly buzzing with wine sippers, book readers and chit-chats! Summer rates range from $110 - $180 Winter rates range from $80 - $110 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Motel Cayucos
Seaside Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing