We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Cayucos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Motel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
“The best place to stay in Cayucos”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I thought I had posted a review before but I guess not. We too 'found' this place by accident and we LOVED it and have stayed there more than once and will again. The owners Rick and Rebecca are fantastic hosts and they know how to treat their customers and this is sadly missing in a lot of establishments but not the Seaside Motel. They do it 'old school' which means trust, respect, friendliness, cleanliness, manners and so much more!

Room Tip: I think there are 12 rooms and all are good but the real gem is the garden they have for all to shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick_Rebecca, Owner at Seaside Motel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely review Dana, we do love to give our guests "Old School" service!

See you soon,

Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    64
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
157
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seascale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a wonderful find this small, agreeably friendly and clean accommodation turned out to be. Rick and Rebecca were such kind hosts, even allowing us to borrow their own personal laptop so we could check our e-mails, having brought no device of our own with us.
I had spent hours planning our trip down PCH1, (which we started up at Fort Bragg and ended in LA.) Our travels led us to many styles of lodging, but nowhere offered us more value for money than The Seaside Motel, Cayucos. Cayucos itself is an overlooked gem of a town, almost feeling as though time has stood still here and the ‘Beach Boys’ and ‘Surfing Safaris’ could have waded out on their boards and joined us in a real-feel ‘Saloon’ where the measures were deep and the prices neat! (Not too good for the head next day!)
Rick and Rebecca leave the BBQ’s in their garden, with all the necessary gear, ready to light. They lent us plates and knives having recommended an excellent store up the street for salad, bread, beer, wine and steaks to die for. We sat in the late sun watching the surf on the beach and wishing we had more than a one-night-stand.
Next morning, well rested on a comfy bed, showered and refreshed with a welcome strong coffee made in the room, Rick pointed us in the right direction for breakfast just up the street, which met with my wish for smoked ham and eggs with toast. This was another winner by Rick and a great tick for Cayucos.
Rick’s helping hands had not finished, as whilst packing up the ‘Mustang’ I locked the only set of keys in the boot (trunk)!!!!! Rick to the rescue and he found a switch inside the open car that popped the lid. We would have spent hours calling a garage, waiting around for them to come and we had quite a long drive ahead of us that day, so pleased not to be delayed.
During our trip down PCH we hardly met a soul who had heard of Cayucos. It’s a magical find if you’re happy to stay somewhere where time stands a little stiller than most other places. Thanks for your hospitality Rick and Rebecca. We may not get back but we will spread the word. Melvyn and Linda, Cumbria UK, 19th May 2014.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melvyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideMotel, Owner at Seaside Motel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
What an absolutely lovely review of our town and motel. Melvyn, you are so kind to write such a thing. It was a pleasure to help you while you were here and we do hope you make it back to the Central Coast sometime soon! Some of our favorite guests are from across the Pond, and we are so blessed to have had you stay with us.

From our family to yours, all our very best.

Rebecca and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We LOVED the Seaside Motel and Cayucas! Thank you Rick and Rebecca for providing such a fantastic place to hang out. Rick greated us in the driveway as we drove up for the first time and delivered our keys to us in the Sunflower Surprise room. We loved that room!!! It is VERY clean and so cutely decorated. The hotel location is fabulous and close to the beach with a partial ocean view from the amazing garden area. It's close to town and some great restaurants and the super fun Saloon. The people of Cayucas are so friendly and really make you feel welcome. One day we had smoked fish tacos from the amazing smokehouse just down the street and sat in the hotel's garden to eat them - the perfect setting. If you are going to Cayucas there is NO QUESTION that you should stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideMotel, Owner at Seaside Motel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Ohhhhh you've made my day!! It was SUCH a pleasure to have you with us, we are so happy you loved your stay! Have a wonderful trip and we hope to see you down our way again soon.

-Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The room was clean, great customer service, amazing garden, can hear the waves at night, shortcut to the beach. We can't wait to go back, I told my husband I didn't want to leave & that I wanted to live in the garden.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideMotel, Owner at Seaside Motel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Oh Ana, that garden is my sanctuary! So happy to hear you love it too. Come back and enjoy anytime.

– Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The garden(s) are lovely and the place is decorated pretty cute. Whether making reservations through email, checking in or checking out, the proprietors were quite friendly and helpful. They seem to do everything, from maintaining the beautiful grounds, to cleaning the rooms - they are hands on.

From the outside this place looks almost cuddly and seemed full to capacity the night we were there. Although we didn't need air-conditioning (the rooms have no air-conditioning), we needed some "air" because the room had an odor. So we used the circulating fan in the room and left the only two windows in the place open for air flow. Our best guess is that the odor came from the shag rug. It was sticky/tacky to the touch and we wouldn't walk on it without shoes. The down side to having the windows open was the cigarette smoke wafting in from the outside but that problem was taken care of when the (smoking) guest strolled to the garden area in the back corner of the motel.

Back to positives, the bed was VERY comfy and cozy. The motel is within walking distance of most anything one wishes to do or see within the downtown area. We had our own toiletries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoggyMonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideMotel, Owner at Seaside Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you FoggyMonday for a lovely review! Yes, Rick and I are very hands on - we do love our "job"!

Thank you for letting us know about the room... we are surprised to hear as we do re-carpet all the rooms every 2-3 years. However the sea salt and sand take their toll! Please do let us know right away if anything is amiss in your room; we are very to take any other actions for your stay to be as comfortable and cozy as possible.

All our best and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place is a real gem. Peak ocean views from the Cayucos Suite, well stocked kitchen, comfy down comforter. The garden is a wonderful place to sip coffee in the am, wine in the pm. The owners' time and efforts are obvious. This is a labor of love for them and a great place to stay. Will return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideMotel, Owner at Seaside Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you Tammie, it was lovely to have you! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms at the Seaside Motel are different to any motel I visited before. They are decorated and painted with love. The Seaside Motel has a nice little garden with barbecue place and you can tell the owner is putting a lot of effort in this nice little place. You can see and hear the garden out of the garden.
A beautiful place to stay in a beautiful quiet town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideMotel, Owner at Seaside Motel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you Markus, it was wonderful to have you stay with us. We too love to listen to the ocean on our back patio! So calming :) Take care and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
123 reviews
12.7 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,603 reviews
15.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Motel

Property: Seaside Motel
Address: 42 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1640
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#1 Family Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles, and just a stroll away from the sand and beach, the Seaside is a home away from home! Each charming room is unique in decor, all sprinkled with gifts from their ever-loving customers. The back garden patio can be found softly buzzing with wine sippers, book readers and chit-chats! Summer rates range from $110 - $180 Winter rates range from $80 - $110 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Motel Cayucos
Seaside Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing