We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here's an upgraded review of the Shoreline Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We have been back to the Shoreline Inn twice since I first reviewed it in September of 2010. And...I'm upgrading my review to "Very Good". The front desk remembered the name of my dog. That counts....-:)

We normally stay at the "New Building", but....while there in early March we noticed that they were upgrading the "Beach Building" in a major way. May be we'll just have to try it out the next time. The location of the Beach Building cannot be beat....being right on the beach...!!!

Just received a "private message" from the management right here on tripadvisor.com announcing the upgrading of the Beach Building. Thumbs up....sounds like they care and want my business....!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are taken seriously so that we can take note of what we’re doing well and what needs to be improved. We take great joy in being guest oriented. Our goal is to make every guest feel important and welcomed, whether two-legged or four. We look forward to having you back again!
Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
There are newer reviews for Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2010

Stayed for 4 nights and reservation was what we asked for. zRoom was clean and staff friendly. Will come back again next yer

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unckebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, President at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Thanks for your kind comments. The level of customer service your received reflects the pride staff takes in their roles. Checkout our new website and view the beachcam to see what Shoreline Inn has to offer. We look forward to your next visit!
Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Not fancy, but you can't beat the ocean front location. Continental breakfast with pastries from local bakery. Oceanfront rooms with beach access right out your patio. Staff was helpful and accomodating. Walk to great restaurants and nightime entertainment.
Walk to the end of the pier and you might see dolphins or even a whale. Can't wait to come back. Good location for biking along the coast. Don't pick the oceanfront rooms if the roar of the ocean keeps you awake. But looking out your window at the sea was definetly a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, President at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We agree that our " ...on the beach" location is the best one available for the price, especially with the recent renovations we have done! Quiet rock insulation, fresh paint/popcorn removal, flat screen TVs, updated furniture and bedding to name a few. Check out our new website, too! Spring has sprung and it's time to plan your vacation to Cayucos and the Shoreline Inn...on the beach!
Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We have just booked our 2nd visit to the Shoreline Inn. Yes, we're traveling with a dog and...the pet policies of the Shoreline Inn has made a difference.

Having stayed there before, it's clear to me that the Shoreline Inn consists of two different buildings. There is the "old" building, which is directly facing the beach. From what I could tell, these rooms are smaller, but also less expensive.

Then there are the "deluxe rooms", which are newer, and....or more expensive than the "beachfront" rooms. This is where we stayed the first time, and....there's nothing wrong with these deluxe rooms.

Normally you'll consider something "beachfront" an upgrade, but in this case it might not necessarily be the case....!!! Just a suggestion...!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, President at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Visitors to our motel have a common desire when they come to the Shoreline Inn...on the beach: to enjoy a seaside visit. Our motel has two different buildings which offer unique accommodation options to guests. Some request beachfront rooms to fall asleep to the relaxing sound of the surf, to sit on the balconies high above the waves in search of dolphins . And there are those who look forward to stretching out in a deluxe room with their pet and little to do but relax and enjoy life. Whatever brings you to Cayucos, we are happy you choose Shoreline Inn...on the beach as your destination stop, and will make every effort to ensure your stay is memorable!
Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This was our fourth family reunion at the Shoreline. However, this was the first time that we experienced a front desk person with a very unpleasant attitude. She seemed to be on the alert for any infraction of a rule and then she enforced it in a very officious manner.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katkik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

The staff at Shoreline Inn…on the beach would like to sincerely apologize if you were offended during your stay. The intent of our policies is to allow our guests, both two legged and four, to enjoy their stay at the Shoreline. We do our best to address issues in a diplomatic manner. We hope you will consider another visit so that we can ! Please join us for one of our specials we have going on in the next few months. Check out our website for more details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This place stinks, literally. As soon as you walk in front of the rooms, you are hit with the stench of pet deodorizer. It is so strong, it made me gag. The rooms are old and dingy. We had an ocean front and the view was amazing. When you walk in the front door, you are face-to-face with the bathroom sink. Cayucos is a great town, but we would never stay at the Shoreline again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibookmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, President at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

While recently reviewing our TripAdvisor site, we realized we have not been in touch with you for awhile. There have been LOTS of changes at the Shoreline Inn...on the beach since your visit. The beachfront rooms have been undergoing a major renovation, with completion date scheduled for April 2011. We've replaced heaters, mattresses and bedding; painted the rooms soothing colors, added flat screen TVs, updated furniture and added quiet wall insulation.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and hope these improvements will entice you to make another visit in the near future to Cayucos and to Shoreline Inn...on the beach!

Laila Kollmann
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Took a chance (last minute reservation) on a smoking room (we are non-smokers) and we a glad we did!

Our room was on the top floor, with a fireplace, and an AMAZING ocean view--to our right was the public pier which is gorgeous in the sunset light, and to our left was a fabulous view of Morro Rock! The room smelled a 'little' smokey when we entered the room, but once we opened the slider to the balcony, all you could smell in the room was sea air; we never shut the slider except when we left the room and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore all night, sea lions barking from the offshore buoy, was just what we were looking for! We had brought some high fragrance candles to help with the smoke smell, and we NEVER needed them, so don't let that deter you!

The room was small, but all we needed really--a comfortable bed, a table and some chairs, a small fridge and a microwave, and a vanity area outside of the bathroom proper which makes for easier time getting ready!

The fireplace was an amenity I didn't think we would need--being summer and all--but it was a nice source of heat as it gets fairy chilly once the sun goes down. So we had the slider open for the ocean sounds, and the fireplace on for the added warmth--it was PERFECT!

Staff was VERY friendly and helpful with our many questions about the town as far as what to do, where to eat, etc.

It's been a week since our trip, and we are still thinking about our ocean view and the GREAT time we had in Cayucos and at the Shoreline Inn--WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kzmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.0 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
136 reviews
15.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
15.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Sunset Inn
Cayucos Sunset Inn
#1 of 7 in Cayucos
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1605
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range: £113 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing