We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location...on the beach...well maintained...friendly staff...Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Location...on the beach...well maintained...friendly staff...Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Met some friends in Cayucos and they suggested the Shoreline Inn...Very pleased that we took their advise...The inn was very well maintained, comfy bed, with refrig/microwave/coffee maker...The staff is very friendly and a wealth of information....We got an upper floor room that had an awesome view of the ocean, with the waves lulling us to sleep at night...With the upper floor room you also get a private balcony...All on this on the beach, with the pier a couple of blocks away....A couple of nice antique stores, nice restaurants - all within a couple of minutes of walking...With Morro Rock and community a short drive away, with hiking around a huge eucalypcus forest and down to the beach...Plus we book a tour ahead of time for Hearst Castle in the evening and that is highly recommended...very relaxing and enjoyable...

Room Tip: Upper floor has commanding views, and private balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HQComics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for staying at the Shoreline Inn and taking the time to leave a detailed review. We love that you not only described the room, but also described the surrounding areas with the antique stores, restaurants, and hiking trails and had such a relaxing time that you let the waves “lull you to sleep at night”. We hope that we will see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    185
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
271
442
42
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, CA, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We booked a downstairs room on the lawn, which leads to their beach access. The room had two double beds, it was clean and neat. We loved the location, the positive, friendly attitude of the staff and everything about the motel. They gave us a sheet for the bed, dog water dish and cookies for our dog when we registered. There was a towel designated for beach use or dog drying on a hook. There is also a dog shower area at the edge of the lawn to rinse your dog from the ocean and sandy beach, a wise move if you want your dog to be comfortable.

We left our window open to listen to the surf at night. We rarely heard another dog bark during our stay and the motel was so quiet we did not hear the people over us walking or making noise. Breakfast was in the lobby and dogs on leash were permitted to enter the room. It wasn't fancy, but there was fresh fruit, juice, coffee, yogurt and fresh pastries.

One great advantage of this motel is that it is right on the beach and dogs are allowed on Cayucos Beach. (They are not allowed on Moonstone Beach, out of Cambria) They are also allowed off leash on the south end of the beach.

This is a place I will happily go back to in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay and mentioning all the little touches we try to provide for our four legged friends. For dog lovers, such as yourself, Cayucos is the perfect place to enjoy the beach with your dog and getting away from every day live. The fact that dogs are allowed on our beaches only adds to that experience. Thank you for also mentioning how quiet your room was. When we remodeled, we installed “Quiet Rock” in all the beachfront rooms and our regular guests have really noticed a big difference. We enjoyed having you and your dog and hope that we will see you again
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This property is right on the beach just south of the pier in Cayucos. We had a ground floor room facing the ocean. It had 2 double beds. Not a king like I'm used to but it would be perfect for a family. They provide a dog dish and a dog towel, cookies for both the dog and us people. Breakfast was well presented. Nothing spectacular but very solid, good food. Staff was friendly and we had no issues. We will definitely be back. It's a small town and the Shoreline Inn is just a couple of minute walk to anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Shoreline Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Inn and the rooms. Many of our guests appreciate our quiet location in Cayucos, which is still central to area attractions including Hearst Castle and the elephant seals. We hope to see you again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed here with my bf on our trip down the California coast. I used to vacation to Cayucos when I was a child and remembered it was a sweet town and looked it up for this trip. We found the shoreline inn which was having a special and booked a room. We stayed in the section that looks directly out onto the ocean on the bottom floor. The room was soo cute and looked nothing like the brochure, they seemed to have updated them and given them a more homey and beach-y vibe. We loved it! It was so nice to sit out on our semi-private porch watching the waves roll in and drinking some beers. Amazing. I will however note, m parents did the same drive a few months later for their anniversary and booked a room in the other building on the top floor and said the decor there was old and not at all what I had described to them. So make sure to book in the building that overlooks the ocean, not the building attached to the checkin and breakfast nook.

Room Tip: Book the building that overlooks the ocean, not the building with partial views! It seems as if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MT1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Shoreline Inn…on the beach. We are so glad you liked our beachfront building and had a wonderful time. We are in the process right now of updating the brochure and website with new room pictures that show all the changes we have made. We also have just updated our deluxe/lobby rooms with new paint and furniture and many of our regular guests have commented on the positive changes. We hope to see you again soon on the beach.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Only time for a one night stay for our anniversary, but it was great. We were pleasantly surprised with some sparkling cider, chocolate & a personal note of congratulations. The room was clean, spacious & offered all the nice amenities, including a balcony to sit on and enjoy the waves. The desk staff was helpful & explained many restaurant choices & we really enjoyed the Café della Via for our special dinner. The town has many shops to visit & a nice pier to stroll along, so I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getaways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for coming to the Shoreline Inn to celebrate and for taking the time to write a review. We love making our guests stays special with little goodies in the room and putting their name on the board, when we know it’s a special occasion for them. We hope you made wonderful memories and that we’ll see you again
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This Inn is, I think, family run. The rooms were clean, although sometimes hard to get an ocean view room. Smokers were catered for with a small smoking area overlooking the beach, which I appreciated.

Cayucos itself is a small town but there is a lot to see in the area.

Room Tip: Book early for a room with an ocean view. It's worth it. You will see the sea otters from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your review. You are right, Cayucos is a small town, but there are lots of things to see in the area. Many of the guests love it for it central spot along the California Central Coast. The Shoreline Inn is family owned and operated and we try to make our guests feel as though they are part of the family. We hope you will visit us again when you are in California
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I love coming to Cayucos and staying at the Shoreline Inn. I've stayed here twice now, and I have another visit booked for February. I stay in an oceanfront room on the second floor, and the view is just spectacular. You're right on the water. And it's quite a view to wake up to. The rooms are very clean, the staff are friendly, and you can't beat the hotel location. It's just an overall great experience!

Room Tip: Book an oceanfront room, the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at the Shoreline Inn. We are so glad that you love it! We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location and many of our guests come back again and again for that reason. The oceanfront rooms upstairs are a favorite for little getaways!
We hope to welcome you again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
123 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,423 reviews
17.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
783 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,289 reviews
15.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Property: Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1605
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing