We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoppe's Garden Bistro - CLOSED

Hoppe's Garden Bistro
Price range: US$20 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Hoppe’s Garden Bistro has been serving the highest quality Continental cuisine and the finest International and local wines, from our historic location in the heart of Cayucos, for over 13 years. Our team of professional, knowledgeable servers have devoted themselves to pampering our guests and delivering a sophisticated level of attentive service. The kitchen and bakery are abuzz early each morning as our chefs start their daily craft of making virtually everything by hand: breads, pizza dough, ice cream, cakes, pastries, stocks, sauces, pasta, smoked meats, sausages, cured fish – it all begins from scratch with our dedication to fresh flavors and creative seasonal cuisine.By the time Chef Wilhelm Hoppe opened Hoppe’s Garden Bistro in 2000, he was already recognized as one of the Central Coast’s most cutting edge chefs. His years in Morro Bay at Hoppe’s 901 and Windows on the Water won over the palates of many critics and the dining public. Chef Hoppe’s uncompromising use of the finest ingredients, skillful saucing and masterful plating won him respect as someone truly devoted to his passion. Chef Hoppe graduated from the Culinary Institute of America in New York and trained in Switzerland before settling here. His numerous accolades include Awards of Excellence from Wine Spectator and Le Cordon Bleu. Sadly, Chef Hoppe passed away in 2010.Today, Hoppe’s honors the man and his legacy: sourcing fresh, high quality ingredients, creating seasonally inspired flavors, and building long lasting relationships with growers, winemakers and patrons.
United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were happily surprised by our dinner here. Loved the abalone/pork belly appetizer, oysters. wine selection and dinners. People were casually dressed but the atmosphere was fairly formal, which when combined with great food, makes for a relaxed, memorable evening. Our waiter was great and knowledgeable about the locally sourced foods/wines. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sctraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Hoppe's Garden Bistro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi SC Traveler,

Thanks for your pleasant review of Hoppe's. We're happy that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere, and that your server took care of you. We hope to see you again!

Thanks,

Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    39
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very impressive food in a small beach town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

If it weren't for the exquisite dining experience at Cass House this would probably be the best place to eat in Cayucos, My wife had an excellent duck where they used candied kumquats to create the orange flavor in the sauce-outstanding. I had scallops prepared perfectly. The chef is obviously well trained. Check out their menu on the website as the food changes with the season. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevenhoward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Hoppe's Garden Bistro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello San Carlos Doc,

Thank you for your review of Hoppe's. We're glad to have provided a lovely evening for you and your wife, and hope to see you again on your next visit to Cayucos.

Thanks,

Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

On a beach weekend in Cuyacous, we were delightfully surprised by the quality of the food at Hoope's. The albacore tostada and warm brussel sprout leaves appetizers were a great start, followed by the wonderful halibut and the pepper bacon flatbread.Brendan one of the owners, worked with one of us in advance via email to plan a birthday desert for two of our party.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Hoppe's Garden Bistro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Nancy,

Thanks for your kind words. We were happy to have hosted you for such a special dinner, and hope that Jeanette and your friend Nancy had a great evening. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Cayucos.

Thanks,

Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a nice dinner here and then went to their bakery the next day - fantastic. Good menu choices and good service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brunchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Hoppe's Garden Bistro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello Brunchers,

Thanks for your review, and thanks for visiting both our bistro and bakery. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cayucos!

Thanks,

Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ooh la la!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Tucked away in an old building, this bistro is a real gem!

We were greeted warmly by the maitre d' who guided us to a table in a small area on the garden side of the kitchen hallway from the large main dining room. It was a windy and bone-chillingly cold evening, so the garden was not open for seating. However, this tiny dining room was perfect for us, especially once we had the space to ourselves.

My husband had the albacore tostada appetizer, and I had the butter lettuce salad. Both were delightful, not oily or overly dressed, but bursting with a variety of flavors and textures.

For dinner, my husband had the Hoppe's blue cheese/bacon burger (we rarely eat red meat, but he splurged!) and he claims it was one of the best he's eaten. I had the local halibut served with a citrus-butter sauce--unbelievably delicious--probably one of the best seafood dishes I have eaten in a restaurant.

The wine menu was excellent, including numerous Central Coast offerings while showcasing wines from almost every major global appellation. I had a Monterey County Pinot Gris, and my husband had a Tempranillo from the Rioja region in Spain.

Too full for dessert! I can only imagine that their finishing courses are as well-prepared from much local, seasonal fare as the earlier courses.

Service was slow for an off-season Sunday night, but we didn't mind: it gave us time to talk at length on our favorite topics (making music, eating good food, and drinking good wine!), and to appreciate a more European-style approach to dining, right in our own back yard.

Please, please go to Hoppe's and treat yourselves to a nice, long evening of pleasurable food, wine, and ambiance.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SharineCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Hoppe's Garden Bistro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Sharine,

Thanks for your fantastic review. We're delighted that you enjoyed our food and wine, and look forward to serving you again. In the meantime, we'll continue to work on ensuring that the timing of our service is spot on.

Thanks,

Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoppe's Garden Bistro also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing