We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Have To Get the Halibut!”
Review of Schooners Wharf

Schooners Wharf
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in picturesque Cayucos, California, Schooners has been offering guests an unforgettable dining experience since it opened in 1993. Embracing a nautical theme reminiscent of the early history of the Central Coast sailors and fishermen, Schooners boasts the best ocean views of any restaurant in the area. Gaze into the deep blue while enjoying one of our signature cocktails, or perhaps some of our famous calamari strips. Schooners menu features fresh seafood and steaks, prepared thoughtfully by Chef Beto Gonzalez. Take time to stop in, take a look and say hello; chances are you'll find yourself wanting to indulge in our house specialty Bloody Mary, our fresh seafood, and some lively conversation with our local patrons. Hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Back at Schooners Wharf in Cayucos this week! It was great! I loved the Fish-n-Chips with Halibut... marvelous! And the servers felt my portion wasn't big enough and brought a little more! We had the clam chowder too which was yummy... great service from Hillary and the team! So helpful and welcoming! Great experience yet again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PilgrimStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Hi PilgrimStranger,

Thanks for your recent review. We're happy that you enjoyed the halibut, and that Hillary took good care of your group. She is working today, so I'll be sure to pass on your kind words. We'll do our best to keep it up, and hopefully see you again down the road.

Thanks,

Brendan & Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

This place has a great decor. The servers were all friendly. We had the ahi sashimi, steamers and raw oysters for lunch. Everything was great. For breakfast, the bloody marys and mimosas were fine. The food wasn't as good as lunch.

Thank jjnp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Hi JJNP23,

Thanks for your recent review. We're happy that your enjoyed our lunch items, and we certainly appreciate the kind words for our staff. Thanks also for your comments on the breakfast items. We feel that we have a very good menu, but since we just started rolling out breakfast, we're working toward maintaining a high quality of food and service, and will hopefully be able to really impress you next time. Thanks again for your review.

Take care,

Brendan & Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I had the Black Beard burger with beer battered fries. My Love had the halibut fish and cups. Outstanding. A great little place for affordable and fun sea side dining. :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ame W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Hi Ame,

Thanks for your review of Schooners. We're glad that both you and your friend enjoyed our place and your dishes. We hope to see you again sometime, and wish you a great holiday.

Thanks,

Brendan & Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The ahi eggrolls were delicious. We sat outside watching the surf and sea view. The service was great.

1  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thanks for the awesome review! Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers!
Amanda Atkinson, Owner at Schooners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Food was delicious and their wine selection was great. The servers were friendly and helpful. They have one section if you have a pet and that's where we sat. Only bad thing, it is under a deck and people walk up and down the stairs while you are eating. I would go again though.

Thank Slybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Hi Slybar,

Thanks for your recent review of Schooners. We're glad that you enjoyed our food and wine, and appreciate your comment regarding our 'dog friendly' lower deck. Unfortunately, that staircase had to go somewhere, but we'll see what we can do about trying to make the lower deck area a little more cozy.

Thanks,

Brendan & Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schooners Wharf also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Schooners Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing