We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Schooners Wharf

Schooners Wharf
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in picturesque Cayucos, California, Schooners has been offering guests an unforgettable dining experience since it opened in 1993. Embracing a nautical theme reminiscent of the early history of the Central Coast sailors and fishermen, Schooners boasts the best ocean views of any restaurant in the area. Gaze into the deep blue while enjoying one of our signature cocktails, or perhaps some of our famous calamari strips. Schooners menu features fresh seafood and steaks, prepared thoughtfully by Chef Beto Gonzalez. Take time to stop in, take a look and say hello; chances are you'll find yourself wanting to indulge in our house specialty Bloody Mary, our fresh seafood, and some lively conversation with our local patrons. Hope to see you soon!
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just Drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were going to eat dinner here, but arrived too early for the dinning room. Strolled upstairs to the bar and ordered a couple of drinks. They were VERY spicy but tasty. The bar is VERY small and full of locals, which made for an interesting experience. Probably a great place to go after playing all day on the beach because it is very casual and is also very dog friendly. Friends recommended we eat here and told us they love the fish and chips, but we just had the Bloody Mary's, and were on our merry way.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoggyMonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    163
    49
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, California
1 review
“Save your $$$--go somewhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had to sit inside as the outside had a long wait. Cobwebs were hanging from the ceiling and the windows were dirty. The service was terrible! Three in our party and we had to share 2 sets of silverware/napkins between us. Husband ordered a draft beer and they didn't bring it until 1/2 way through our lunch. The cocktail I ordered was terrible--not drinkable! The food just wasn't worth the price. The chicken on the nachos looked like it was from a can. Gross! We won't be back! $50+ for lunch was too much for the food and service quality and atmosphere. Please fire the hostess who can't get off the phone to help customers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValleyFamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"Ocean View and tasty food"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My family has enjoyed Schooners for many years. There is a nice view from the deck and food is always good. We enjoyed their fish & chips and calamari. Good service by friendly people. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food, good view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband had been here years ago and it was just as good as he remembered! Fish & Chips were excellent as was tuna melt. Prices are affordable and sitting on the upper deck enjoying the view of the ocean made it all come together! Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robincafoxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nalcrest, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“sunny day at the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

we come here every time we're on the central coast. we enjoyed the bloody mary & good craft beer. my fish & chips were really good, nice & crispy. the grilled tuna salad was big & good flavor.
you can't beat the view. service was pretty good but she was disorganized. we'll eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathryn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schooners Wharf also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Schooners Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing