We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously Good This Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooners Wharf

Schooners Wharf
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in picturesque Cayucos, California, Schooners has been offering guests an unforgettable dining experience since it opened in 1993. Embracing a nautical theme reminiscent of the early history of the Central Coast sailors and fishermen, Schooners boasts the best ocean views of any restaurant in the area. Gaze into the deep blue while enjoying one of our signature cocktails, or perhaps some of our famous calamari strips. Schooners menu features fresh seafood and steaks, prepared thoughtfully by Chef Beto Gonzalez. Take time to stop in, take a look and say hello; chances are you'll find yourself wanting to indulge in our house specialty Bloody Mary, our fresh seafood, and some lively conversation with our local patrons. Hope to see you soon!
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Seriously Good This Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Ordered our usual - the calamari - and it was so good and fresh and the portions were generous. This is back up to par. The restaurant was crowded so we grabbed a table in the bar and ate there and visited with other patrons. Lots of fun. The drinks are always good - highly recommend the Bloody Mary's and the Cool Burns. We sat and watched whales as we gazed out the window. Great service by our young surfer-guy waiter who took good care of us. Go and enjoy. Definite small town beach vibe in the best way. Thanks, Schooners!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReillyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    161
    49
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a delicious meal here on our trip to Cayucos. The food was incredible. The waiter was pleasant and the Bloody Mary's were excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We love that our dogs could come onto the patio with us and hang out while we ate dinner. Great fish and chips and my husband loved the burgers!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst meal of our trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Probably shouldn't have gone but not a lot of choices in town. The steamer clams were swimming in a flavorless broth consisting primarily of chili flakes, the ahi tuna rolls were just a bad order on our part they came with sweet chile dipping sauce right out of the bottle served in a disposable plastic cup. After the starters we opted for burgers but they suffered from a store bought sesame bun, overcooked thin meat patty and cheese sliced so thin it melted into the burger. The service was good on a positive note.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank italaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can I get a Margarita please?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family of five thought this would be an awesome place to eat lunch by the looks of the place. I loved the decor from the sidewalk. We were seated immediately by a sweet hostess, she brought us water, kids menus and crayons, took my order for a margarita, and that was where our lunch ended. We were ignored by all staff that walked by our table for the next 30 minutes. I wouldn't call this restaurant extremely busy the day this happened. I'm not sure if this was just an off day, but I'll never be back." Waddle" over to another restaurant found in my reviews.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommyto3kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schooners Wharf also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Schooners Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing