We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Luxury & BIG Rooms”
Review of Pier View Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pier View Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2011

It is hard to find a good place to stay on the central coast but we have finally found it. My four kids love Cayucos because of the beach and my husband and I prefer it to the other coastal towns but got sick of staying in crumby little $200 rooms that were built in the 50’s and last furnished in the 80’s. We finally found Pier View Suites when it opened a couple of years ago and have came back 6 times since. We have stayed in six of the seven suites at the hotel and have not been disappointed once. Each suite is nicely designed and bright with plenty of space and light. All suites have large decks and equally fantastic views, especially for the 4th of July Parade. The setting is spectacular, and the staff is professional, enthusiastic, and obliging. The grounds and rooms are always pristine and spotless. We love grilling steaks and cooking meals in our suite but it is nice that 10 causal and fine dining restaurants are all within easy walking distance, not to mention a great wine bar on the second floor of the hotel. My husband and I regularly visit the hotel’s public spa (the Bohemia) where Suzanna delivers some of the best massages we’ve ever had. This is a great find and, in an area with a drought of upscale hotels, it is definitely worth more than it charges. A++

Room Tip: Executive Suite 220
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AllanNoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

We booked Pier View Suites after reading the glowing reviews on this site. We were travelling with our 12 lb puppy and reserved a suite that was pet-friendly. On arrival we were shown to our suite and informed about how often to feed the resident fish. I took off my shoes and started to unpack when I noticed that my socks were very wet. On closer inspection the living rug was soaking wet in a few areas. I talked to the woman in the office who informed me that it was a 'pet friendly' unit and accidents happen. We were paying a hefty price for the unit so it wasn't like 'pet friendly' meant we were getting some kind of bargain. She did assure me that someone would come in the next day to extract the moisture but there was no apology at all. The following day a fan was put on the rug to suck out the moisture. The unit was advertised as being a luxury accommodation and although the bed was very comfortable, we did not experience anything luxurious about the place. The towels were abundant and of good quality but the kitchen was completely bare. There was not even a dish cloth! We cook when we travel and there was no cutting board and not one condiment in the cupboards. We've been staying at a lot of VRBO properties and the least we have been seeing is salt, pepper and cooking oil but there was nothing at all in this unit. The street was noisy and the beach, across the street was a bit cruddy. We were told we'd be able to hear the surf but we were too far away to do so. Wifi was slow and sporadic. We are travelling across country and experiencing a lot of different types of accommodation and this one was disappointing for the price. They also advertise laundry on site and it is a coin laundry situated on the main level, not in the unit itself. All told, a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vcfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Me and my family stayed at the Pier View Inn Suites on Saturday, April 9th and left on Sunday, April 10th. Pier View Inn is perfect for a large group of people! It was a large group that we went with...myself, my boyfried, brother, sis-in-law, parents, cousins, uncle, and grandfather. We had two adjoining suites, which worked out wonderfully!! The rooms were very spacious and very clean! And the view from our balcony was spectacular! The weather was absolutely gorgeous so we were able to see Morro Rock from our room!
I wish our trip there could have lasted longer! I am definitely going back to Cayucos and staying at the Pier View Inn Suites! Thank you for a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank minreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Just back from a weeks vacation. Got to meet my 11 year old Granddaughter and her Grandparents from Argentina, for the first time. Great people had a wonderful time and now we have to learn Spanish (Argentina Spanish). My son got us reservations at the Pier View Suites on the top floor #330. The lay-out of the suite was perfect. Full kitchen w/dishwasher & bar and a good bottle of "Wine". Gets better with the view of the Cayucos Pier to Morro Rock. Wake up and watch the Surfers by the Pier, have a cup of coffee and smell the beach. When we needed anything or just wanted to talk, "Tammy" was our host. Thank you Tammy and we will see you again. Marv & Cheri, Albany, OR

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Broncohat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Our mom treated me an my sister to a wonderful vacation at Pier View Suites. It was the best time spent with our mom who turned 86. My dog was also included. The treatment we recieved was just wonderful. Connie is a very caring an loving lady who made our 4 nights there the best we have ever had. Cannot wait to go back. Even bobo my dog agrees. He is 15 . Cannot wait to return. The view is absolutly wonderful . So clean an well taken care of. Thanks from Fresno

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angeleyes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

My wife and I just returned from a three day stay at the Pier View Suites in Cayucos and we couldn't be happier. We stayed in suite 300...a corner unit that had a nice balcony and an outstanding view of the ocean and, you guessed it...the pier. We showed up a little early, but it was not a problem. They checked us right in and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. The parking was convenient, free and safe and the facility was in excellent condition. I'm guessing the building is only 3 or four years old. They offer much larger multi-room suites, so don't let the "average price" on this site put you off, as we were able to get our room for the three-night rate (off season)of $160/per night. The suites are centrally located and are in easy walking distance of everything in Cayucos. If you're looking for daily house keeping this isn't the place, but you simply leave towels outside in the mornings and they are replaced with fresh new ones. We also used a sticky note on the door to get more coffee filters and paper towels. We didn't see them much but Connie and Amy did a great job takling care of our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank OldNorCalGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

Living in the Central Valley of California we love going to the Central Coast to the beach. Cayucos Pier View Suites is indeed right on the ocean and right next to the Cayucos pier. The view of the Pacific is as always refreshing and relaxing. The suites are lovely to be in but the "BED" is the best I've ever slept in including my own. First class all the way. Once you park your car and check in, you don't have to drive anywhere as you are right on the ocean with dining, antiques and shopping within walking distance. Connie and the rest of management are super. My personel rating is Excellent!!!!

Stayed: May 2006
5  Thank FresnoValleygirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
17.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,887 reviews
15 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
597 reviews
14.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
19 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Suites

Address: 12 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1658 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Family Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range: £215 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier View Suites is a beachside boutique hotel in Cayucos, a coastal community half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco known as “California’s last small beach town”. It has gained notoriety among both international travelers and local explorers for its spacious bungalow-style accommodations, furnished ocean view balconies, and superb guest service. Owned and operated as a family business, Pier View Suites continues to provide personalized hospitality for nightly, weekly, and even monthly visitors. Each carefully designed guest suite features stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and downtown Cayucos, gourmet kitchens, fine furnishings, and upscale amenities including: bath and skincare products by Gilchrist & Soames, eco-friendly towels and linens, goose down duvets and pillows, custom spa robes, a bottle of local wine with any stay of two or more nights, and a companion pet fish in bowl. Fireplaces and jet soaking tubs are available in select suites. Use of complimentary bikes are included with each stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pier View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Pier View Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing