We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay on the Central Coast Hands Down!”
Review of Pier View Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pier View Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay on the Central Coast Hands Down!”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

THIS is the place to stay in Cayucos "the last beach town of CA". We checked in thinking we were in the wrong place but the manager soon gave us the warmest welcome and a bottle of wine. She gave us a quick tour and information about restaurants/things to do. We stayed the first time in the California Suite which was very modern and romantic. We could not believe we had a whole luxury studio condo to ourselves for the price of a hotel room! In it there is a fireplace, a large ocean view deck, and a full kitchen. At first we thought we didn't need such a full space but it proved economic and homey to make pancakes in the morning and barbeque oysters at night. The most recent time we stayed here we were welcomed by the same manager who remembered us and brought us a fish in a bowl to our room as "company". The Executive Suite is exquisite and fit for a celebrity. Everything is authentic Asian with a modern classy twist. Definably a "WOW factor when you walk in. There were two decks and the coolest glass and stone shower overlooking the beach and town so you get a view! The best part is that the hotel is close to everything in town and in the county. While we stayed here we went wine tasting twice, kayaked, rode horses, and went to the SLO Thursday Farmers Market (a must see). We love Cayucos and we love the service we get at this hotel, definably the best in town and a nice escape from the city without sacrificing the upscale amenities.

NOTE: Even though the hotel is not "on the beach", neither is "ON THE BEACH B&B". We were recommended to stay there and it was not nice, plus it was not even on the beach, it is across the street with a view of a creepy public restroom: no thanks! Pier View Suites has way better 180 degree views and is worth every penny! It took us about one minute to walk out the door of our suite to the sand.

Room Tip: We have stayed here multiple times and have found that the romantic 2 person rooms are great because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    17
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This place is great for two couples, however please be prepared: The Chateau Suite has no bathtubs, no closet in the downstairs bedroom...just a coat tree with hangers and an "open" layout in the downstairs bedroom. First I freaked...then I took my tiara off, relaxed, and stopped to smell the roses. The place is large and adorable. Clean with a good kitchen and an absolutely magnificant oversized balcony overlooking the ocean, Morro Rock and Cayucos Pier. We played guitars and sang on the balcony...then walked to the town's wonderful restaurants. We played poker in the Old Cuyucos Tavern, did some geocaching and enjoyed the sunsets from the balcony. The town of Cayucos is the last of the laid back beach communities and Pier View Suites rocks! I will return.

Room Tip: Pier View Suites has seasonal rates. You can truly make out during off season. Call hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RadioLady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I booked the Executive Suite on the 2nd floor for 5 nights. It's a Master Bedroom, Living Room / Dining room combined, Galley Kitchen, 2 bathrooms and balcony above the street. 2 extra bedrooms can be unlocked to increase the suite size.

Overall: Probably the best in Cayucos, however, don't expect the Four Seasons. This place is really all about location and convenience. Smack in the middle of town and walking distance to everything. Stay on the 3rd floor for best views and the least noise - no one walking on your ceililng. No room service or daily maid / linen change unless you request it. More about chilling on your own.

Check-In. Managment is often not in the main office - so you call a local number (taped to the office door) and the they appear in a minute. I had the choice of a bottle of complementary red or white wine. Lots of great local wineries - but this was not one of them (try Harmony - 10 minutes down the road - awesome). I passed on the guest Siamese Fighting Fish - the water looked really cloudy.

Master Bedroom: About 15' x 15' with a King Bed and bathroom en suite. The bathroom is a transparent glass cube within the bedroom - so close the windows if you plan to shower or use the facilities => really odd design choice. Good water pressure. The 2nd bathroom off the kitchen has no windows - so it offers more privacy - if you want. Lots of towels but minimal shampoo / soaps.

The bedroom has ample closet space - but not enough hangers. The bed is REALLY SOFT - and the ill-fitted sheets smell of bleach (they're clean). Carpet and comforter could use an update - seafoam green. Cable TV + Remote. Walls/Floors are PAPER THIN => you can hear the elephants upstairs trampling night and day - if you are in the 2nd bathroom - the conversation comes through the vents.

Living Room: Maybe 15' x 20'. Rock hard Sofa/Pull out bed with side chair, coffee + side tables. Full size desk + chair with ample plugs. Dining table seats six comfortably. 30+" TV on the wall. Same green carpeting as bedroom. Overall style is dated Asian. Massive sunlight and partieal ocean views. The phone was not plugged in when I arrived so I got down under the desk and put the plug back in... wierd. The phone number is available from the front desk if you are expecting a direct call. GREAT WIFI => I mean really FAST.

Kitchen: Galley style - between the entry and living room. Good size Refrigerator, stove, microwave. Fully stocked with pots, pans, untensils. Small, but efficient. No windows - just overhead lighting.

Parking: Ample => many parking spacces in the hotels lot behind the building.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My family rented a suite, not at all what was promised. No room service, no frills, no pool, no sounds of ocean just traffic from the street. Not up to our standards. Smelled like pet urine, we like pet friendly not pet smells. Do yourself a favor stay at "On the beach" bed and breakfast... way nicer and on the beach! We stayed there last year and loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jersey4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

It is hard to find a good place to stay on the central coast but we have finally found it. My four kids love Cayucos because of the beach and my husband and I prefer it to the other coastal towns but got sick of staying in crumby little $200 rooms that were built in the 50’s and last furnished in the 80’s. We finally found Pier View Suites when it opened a couple of years ago and have came back 6 times since. We have stayed in six of the seven suites at the hotel and have not been disappointed once. Each suite is nicely designed and bright with plenty of space and light. All suites have large decks and equally fantastic views, especially for the 4th of July Parade. The setting is spectacular, and the staff is professional, enthusiastic, and obliging. The grounds and rooms are always pristine and spotless. We love grilling steaks and cooking meals in our suite but it is nice that 10 causal and fine dining restaurants are all within easy walking distance, not to mention a great wine bar on the second floor of the hotel. My husband and I regularly visit the hotel’s public spa (the Bohemia) where Suzanna delivers some of the best massages we’ve ever had. This is a great find and, in an area with a drought of upscale hotels, it is definitely worth more than it charges. A++

Room Tip: Executive Suite 220
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AllanNoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We booked Pier View Suites after reading the glowing reviews on this site. We were travelling with our 12 lb puppy and reserved a suite that was pet-friendly. On arrival we were shown to our suite and informed about how often to feed the resident fish. I took off my shoes and started to unpack when I noticed that my socks were very wet. On closer inspection the living rug was soaking wet in a few areas. I talked to the woman in the office who informed me that it was a 'pet friendly' unit and accidents happen. We were paying a hefty price for the unit so it wasn't like 'pet friendly' meant we were getting some kind of bargain. She did assure me that someone would come in the next day to extract the moisture but there was no apology at all. The following day a fan was put on the rug to suck out the moisture. The unit was advertised as being a luxury accommodation and although the bed was very comfortable, we did not experience anything luxurious about the place. The towels were abundant and of good quality but the kitchen was completely bare. There was not even a dish cloth! We cook when we travel and there was no cutting board and not one condiment in the cupboards. We've been staying at a lot of VRBO properties and the least we have been seeing is salt, pepper and cooking oil but there was nothing at all in this unit. The street was noisy and the beach, across the street was a bit cruddy. We were told we'd be able to hear the surf but we were too far away to do so. Wifi was slow and sporadic. We are travelling across country and experiencing a lot of different types of accommodation and this one was disappointing for the price. They also advertise laundry on site and it is a coin laundry situated on the main level, not in the unit itself. All told, a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vcfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Me and my family stayed at the Pier View Inn Suites on Saturday, April 9th and left on Sunday, April 10th. Pier View Inn is perfect for a large group of people! It was a large group that we went with...myself, my boyfried, brother, sis-in-law, parents, cousins, uncle, and grandfather. We had two adjoining suites, which worked out wonderfully!! The rooms were very spacious and very clean! And the view from our balcony was spectacular! The weather was absolutely gorgeous so we were able to see Morro Rock from our room!
I wish our trip there could have lasted longer! I am definitely going back to Cayucos and staying at the Pier View Inn Suites! Thank you for a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank minreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.0 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
15.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
17.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Suites

Property: Pier View Suites
Address: 14 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1659 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier View Suites is a beachside boutique hotel in Cayucos, a coastal community half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco known as “California’s last small beach town”. It has gained notoriety among both international travelers and local explorers for its spacious bungalow-style accommodations, furnished ocean view balconies, and superb guest service. Owned and operated as a family business, Pier View Suites continues to provide personalized hospitality for nightly, weekly, and even monthly visitors. Each carefully designed guest suite features stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and downtown Cayucos, gourmet kitchens, fine furnishings, and upscale amenities including: bath and skincare products by Gilchrist & Soames, eco-friendly towels and linens, goose down duvets and pillows, custom spa robes, a bottle of local wine with any stay of two or more nights, and a companion pet fish in bowl. Fireplaces and jet soaking tubs are available in select suites. Use of complimentary bikes are included with each stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pier View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Pier View Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing