We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Beautiful Views, Wonderful Staff”
Review of Pier View Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pier View Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Beautiful Views, Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was only our second trip to Cayucos, but what a difference from the first time - I suppose the RIGHT hotel can make all the difference!

We stayed in a very clean and spacious suite with a ocean view balcony. It was great watching the surfers during the day and hearing the waves at night while we slept. The kitchen was an unexpected delight; pancakes in the morning were a great way to start the day.

Pier View is walking distance to all the town's restaurants and bars so that was a charm. Plus, the gourmet coffee bar at the hotel delivered the BEST MOCHAS I have ever had to us with the hotel's room service.

Small, rustic towns like Cayucos usually have a lot of catching up to do with modern luxury but Pier View Suites really comes through as a shining beach-side boutique hotel!

The beds were better than my mattress at home, the balcony furniture was way more comfortable than normal outdoor chairs (or no patio furniture), and the whole suite was very, very clean!

When you think about how big the room was and the price we paid, it was a HUGE bang for your buck! A luxury suite that size in LA or NY would be about 3x the price!

Finally, the staff were amazingly considerate and involved. They really knew who we were by the end of our stay and were very honest with us about the pricing (they accidentally overcharged us at check-in but corrected it before we even noticed). The local owners even work on site so they provided us with all the best tips on where to eat and where to taste wine nearby.

We will be returning to Pier View Suites again and again!

Room Tip: Apparently all rooms have ocean view decks so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Madison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, The PVS Team at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We're so happy that your stay was wonderful, and we're so very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. It's great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the location by enjoying the sounds of waves crashing, the view, and the Coffee Bar too! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! - The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    17
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
61
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Templeton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have stayed here a few times now and will continue to make it an annual event! Each visit has been such a positive experience. The owners are outstanding hosts, so accommodating to your party. They make every effort to make you feel like family. The suites are immaculate and have everything you could possibly ever need....either to prepare your own gourmet meal or take advantage of local culinary experts. The views are wonderful...not only the ocean and sunsets but the activity of this quaint little coastal town!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, The PVS Team at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you so much for stopping off at Pier View Suites on your 'stay'cation. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you, and we're delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay and our boutique amenities. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the future! - The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

As an owner of a private concierge company for high net-worth individuals, this is a destination I would recommend in a heartbeat to any one of my clients. What makes this hotel so exceptional is it's clear attention to detail and hospitality. From the moment I was greeted at the office, I felt appreciated and right at home. I stayed in the Executive Suite and was pleased to find pots and pans for cooking, bathrobes in the closet, even a decanter and glasses to enjoy some fantastic local wine. Now all of this would be things to expect from any 5 star resort worth it's salt, but what made Pier View Suites a step above the rest is the atmosphere created both by location and it's exceptional staff. I felt genuinely valued and knew that if ever I needed anything, they would go above and beyond to make my stay even better.

Things to try while staying at Pier View Suites: The bakery downstairs is delicious and the Chai Latte with 2 espresso shots from Top Dog Coffee Bar was the perfect thing to wake up to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are so happy to hear that you had a terrific experience, and we're proud to earn your thumbs up. We appreciate that you enjoyed our wine decanter in the Executive Suite, amongst other amenities, as we take pride in the details of our boutique hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again someday!

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

12/12/2013
Highly exorbitant rates and deception in pricing. Please be aware. While the rooms are beautiful and there is a beautiful view it is not beach front. They use paper towels in bathroom instead of hand towels.There are two bottles of generic water and for the price you pay it should be better along with crunched up bags of generic coffee again for the price you pay...
We thought we were renting the 3 bedroom suite and when we got their only one of the bedrooms was available and the other two were locked with an additional charge to open them. Deceitful. No aircondtioning which is normally fine at the beach but when the windows are open to let in the air and hear the ocean all you hear is street noise. I have tried at least 3 times to contact the property with no response whatsoever. Obviously they may not care about keeping guests happy and accommodated . Disappointing And would not recommend. No discounting for the local community.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ddcjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosConnie, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
We're so very sorry to hear that your experience of Cayucos was disappointing. We appreciate that you choose to stay with us during your visit, and we are grateful for your open, honest feedback, as it provides us with the opportunity to learn from your experience and work to improve in the areas that we can.

We strive for transparency in pricing for rates as our suite descriptions on our website state. We also felt that we were doing our part to ensure a pleasant stay by discounting your stay as requested and addressing the grievances that you did share with us on-site upon check out and thereafter, however, we apologize that our efforts fell short.

It’s our top priority to provide excellent service to our guests and to ensure that every guest has a pleasurable experience while staying with us.We appreciate when concerns are shared immediately so we can provide a resolution as prompt as possible.


- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment the blinds were drawn onto our balcony suite, with a 180° view of the beach; Morro Rock and the Cayucos Pier, I was done! This place lives up to all the reviews, and then some! Pristine rooms, sumptuous bedding and linens, gourmet kitchen.
Jason and crew took great care to see that our needs were handled to our satisfaction. Just their customer service alone would make this a prime destination. We will definitely be returning. Connie recommended our room: Orient Suite. Perfect for seven women to get together for fun and fellowship and spiritual refueling. Thanks for making us feel 'special'.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NJM423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thanks so much for spending the night with us on your recent trip to Cayucos! We are so grateful for your kind and generous feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had such a nice time and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back next time you're in town!

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My SISTERS group were looking for a location on the coast where we could get away and spend time with the Lord and each other; we found that and more at Pier View Suites!
The location allowed us to park the car on Friday when we arrived and not need it again until departure on Sunday! The patio had an awesome view of the pier and beach. The patio was large and very inviting! Kitchen and livingroom opened up to the patio. The kitchen was well stocked with appliances and everything needed to prepare a meal. Jason was very hospitable and made sure that all our needs were met. We had an awesomely amazing time! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Antonette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
It's was absolutely our pleasure! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and of course for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon!

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

It was an awesome get away. The service was amazing Jason made sure all of our needs were met and we were able to have an awesome time with the Lord! We parked the car Friday and didnt get back in it again until Sunday when we left! The patio is amazing and the kitchen and livingroom opened up to the patio. I cant wait to bring my hisband and sons! Thank you again for a wonderful weekend you truly blessed us!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Tanya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor! It warms our hearts to know that you had such a lovely time that you're ready to return already and we look forward to meeting your husband and sons! We're so pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and were able to enjoy the town and beach from our location without having to drive. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Cayucos soon.

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.0 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
15.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
17.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Sunset Inn
Cayucos Sunset Inn
#1 of 7 in Cayucos
326 reviews
6.6 mi away
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Suites

Property: Pier View Suites
Address: 14 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1659 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Family Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier View Suites is a beachside boutique hotel in Cayucos, a coastal community half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco known as “California’s last small beach town”. It has gained notoriety among both international travelers and local explorers for its spacious bungalow-style accommodations, furnished ocean view balconies, and superb guest service. Owned and operated as a family business, Pier View Suites continues to provide personalized hospitality for nightly, weekly, and even monthly visitors. Each carefully designed guest suite features stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and downtown Cayucos, gourmet kitchens, fine furnishings, and upscale amenities including: bath and skincare products by Gilchrist & Soames, eco-friendly towels and linens, goose down duvets and pillows, custom spa robes, a bottle of local wine with any stay of two or more nights, and a companion pet fish in bowl. Fireplaces and jet soaking tubs are available in select suites. Use of complimentary bikes are included with each stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pier View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Pier View Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing