We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway”
Review of Pier View Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pier View Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went there during a wild rainstorm and was confined to the room for almost the duration of our stay. When we did venture out it was close enough to walk to the restaurants and bars nearby. The room was romantic and had all amenities we required. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here, even if it wasn't exactly "beach weather", and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

I made this reservation thinking we would have a view of the Cayucos pier and beach. I was wrong. I think had our room been on the third floor all would have been fine but we were in the Executive suite on the second floor and had a beautiful view of the hotel across the street. There was a partial view to the left of the beach and partial view of pier to the right.
For those who will be staying here, read the eco information in the binder. We noticed the go green paper but didn't really read it. Usually it is about hanging towels if they are to be used again. Not so here. It means if you want your bed made, more coffee, whatever, you need to call the office and tell them. We went to lunch to give maids time to get in and returned later in afternoon. Bed not made so left again returning about 5:00, bed not made. We should have paid attention to the whole go green paper. There was no coffee, only one day worth is left but the office doesn't open until 9:30 so we went out for coffee.
The room was well appointed but I think for the price there should be extra amenities.

Room Tip: Make sure to call the office when going out for the day so your room will be cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, The PVS Team at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite and the town, and we appreciate you sharing the areas that you felt could be improved. Please know that we consider our guests' feedback very seriously, and we will utilize your comments to improve in the areas that we can while maintaining our eco-friendly status. We do hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the future. - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was only our second trip to Cayucos, but what a difference from the first time - I suppose the RIGHT hotel can make all the difference!

We stayed in a very clean and spacious suite with a ocean view balcony. It was great watching the surfers during the day and hearing the waves at night while we slept. The kitchen was an unexpected delight; pancakes in the morning were a great way to start the day.

Pier View is walking distance to all the town's restaurants and bars so that was a charm. Plus, the gourmet coffee bar at the hotel delivered the BEST MOCHAS I have ever had to us with the hotel's room service.

Small, rustic towns like Cayucos usually have a lot of catching up to do with modern luxury but Pier View Suites really comes through as a shining beach-side boutique hotel!

The beds were better than my mattress at home, the balcony furniture was way more comfortable than normal outdoor chairs (or no patio furniture), and the whole suite was very, very clean!

When you think about how big the room was and the price we paid, it was a HUGE bang for your buck! A luxury suite that size in LA or NY would be about 3x the price!

Finally, the staff were amazingly considerate and involved. They really knew who we were by the end of our stay and were very honest with us about the pricing (they accidentally overcharged us at check-in but corrected it before we even noticed). The local owners even work on site so they provided us with all the best tips on where to eat and where to taste wine nearby.

We will be returning to Pier View Suites again and again!

Room Tip: Apparently all rooms have ocean view decks so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Madison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, The PVS Team at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We're so happy that your stay was wonderful, and we're so very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. It's great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the location by enjoying the sounds of waves crashing, the view, and the Coffee Bar too! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have stayed here a few times now and will continue to make it an annual event! Each visit has been such a positive experience. The owners are outstanding hosts, so accommodating to your party. They make every effort to make you feel like family. The suites are immaculate and have everything you could possibly ever need....either to prepare your own gourmet meal or take advantage of local culinary experts. The views are wonderful...not only the ocean and sunsets but the activity of this quaint little coastal town!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, The PVS Team at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for stopping off at Pier View Suites on your 'stay'cation. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you, and we're delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay and our boutique amenities. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the future! - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

As an owner of a private concierge company for high net-worth individuals, this is a destination I would recommend in a heartbeat to any one of my clients. What makes this hotel so exceptional is it's clear attention to detail and hospitality. From the moment I was greeted at the office, I felt appreciated and right at home. I stayed in the Executive Suite and was pleased to find pots and pans for cooking, bathrobes in the closet, even a decanter and glasses to enjoy some fantastic local wine. Now all of this would be things to expect from any 5 star resort worth it's salt, but what made Pier View Suites a step above the rest is the atmosphere created both by location and it's exceptional staff. I felt genuinely valued and knew that if ever I needed anything, they would go above and beyond to make my stay even better.

Things to try while staying at Pier View Suites: The bakery downstairs is delicious and the Chai Latte with 2 espresso shots from Top Dog Coffee Bar was the perfect thing to wake up to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are so happy to hear that you had a terrific experience, and we're proud to earn your thumbs up. We appreciate that you enjoyed our wine decanter in the Executive Suite, amongst other amenities, as we take pride in the details of our boutique hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again someday!

- The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

12/12/2013
Highly exorbitant rates and deception in pricing. Please be aware. While the rooms are beautiful and there is a beautiful view it is not beach front. They use paper towels in bathroom instead of hand towels.There are two bottles of generic water and for the price you pay it should be better along with crunched up bags of generic coffee again for the price you pay...
We thought we were renting the 3 bedroom suite and when we got their only one of the bedrooms was available and the other two were locked with an additional charge to open them. Deceitful. No aircondtioning which is normally fine at the beach but when the windows are open to let in the air and hear the ocean all you hear is street noise. I have tried at least 3 times to contact the property with no response whatsoever. Obviously they may not care about keeping guests happy and accommodated . Disappointing And would not recommend. No discounting for the local community.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ddcjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosConnie, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

We're so very sorry to hear that your experience of Cayucos was disappointing. We appreciate that you choose to stay with us during your visit, and we are grateful for your open, honest feedback, as it provides us with the opportunity to learn from your experience and work to improve in the areas that we can.

We strive for transparency in pricing for rates as our suite descriptions on our website state. We also felt that we were doing our part to ensure a pleasant stay by discounting your stay as requested and addressing the grievances that you did share with us on-site upon check out and thereafter, however, we apologize that our efforts fell short.

It’s our top priority to provide excellent service to our guests and to ensure that every guest has a pleasurable experience while staying with us.We appreciate when concerns are shared immediately so we can provide a resolution as prompt as possible.


- The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment the blinds were drawn onto our balcony suite, with a 180° view of the beach; Morro Rock and the Cayucos Pier, I was done! This place lives up to all the reviews, and then some! Pristine rooms, sumptuous bedding and linens, gourmet kitchen.
Jason and crew took great care to see that our needs were handled to our satisfaction. Just their customer service alone would make this a prime destination. We will definitely be returning. Connie recommended our room: Orient Suite. Perfect for seven women to get together for fun and fellowship and spiritual refueling. Thanks for making us feel 'special'.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NJM423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thanks so much for spending the night with us on your recent trip to Cayucos! We are so grateful for your kind and generous feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had such a nice time and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back next time you're in town!

- The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
17.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,900 reviews
15 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
637 reviews
14.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
14.1 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Suites

Address: 12 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1658 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range: £212 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier View Suites is a beachside boutique hotel in Cayucos, a coastal community half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco known as “California’s last small beach town”. It has gained notoriety among both international travelers and local explorers for its spacious bungalow-style accommodations, furnished ocean view balconies, and superb guest service. Owned and operated as a family business, Pier View Suites continues to provide personalized hospitality for nightly, weekly, and even monthly visitors. Each carefully designed guest suite features stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and downtown Cayucos, gourmet kitchens, fine furnishings, and upscale amenities including: bath and skincare products by Gilchrist & Soames, eco-friendly towels and linens, goose down duvets and pillows, custom spa robes, a bottle of local wine with any stay of two or more nights, and a companion pet fish in bowl. Fireplaces and jet soaking tubs are available in select suites. Use of complimentary bikes are included with each stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pier View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Pier View Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing