We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atascadero, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beachfront Paradise”
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Just wanted to tell everyone what a great romantic getaway this place is. My wife and I have stayed hear several times. We like room 202, upstairs with the awesome ocean and pier views. Anyway the rooms are very spacious, the bedding is incredibly soft and you can lie in bed and watch the waves break with the fire going. Pretty cool!!. Our breakfast was cream brulee french toast with a local apple sausege. Yum!! The evening wines were excellent and the staff was always there to help out.

The other great thing is that you can walk to all the great restaurants in town. Had the lamb shank at Hoppee's, highly recomend that one. You know the saying, if your wifes happy, everyones happy and this place really does it for her. We will definelty be back in the fall.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The cost.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeabodyPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    34
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
36
174
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Just got back to Texas after spending 3 days here. The rooms were spacious, clean, and beds wonderful. The staff, Melissa, Hillary, and Heather could not have been nicer, or more helpful. When we arrived, had a million questions (for which ever one was working at the time), and always answered with a happy face, and a smile. They were very helpful with recommendations for restaurants in the area. Breakfast was incredible. The creme brulee french toast, and the "special pancakes" with brown sugar, oats, zuchinni, and carrots were excellent. Everyone at breakfast raved about them. The cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Parking garage was clean, brightly lit, and safe. Their website is misleading inasmuch as you do not step out of your room onto the beach, there is a drive between the rooms and the beach, but still had an excellent view of the pier, and seals, and surfers, and kids on the beach from the room and we were on the 1st floor! Ours was a mixed group, ages 72 to 17 (5 of us) and we ALL had an excellent time. Miss the staff there already!

  • Liked — Rooms and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LZYHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

It's hard to believe that this hotel can command the prices it does. We paid $249 plus taxes for our room. The room itself was fine -- spacious with a comfy bed. But the view is not at all charming, as the hotel isn't really on the waterfront but on a parking strip that's across from the beach (your immediate view is of the cars). The breakfast was mediocre, despite the older woman telling all the guests what a great cook the younger woman, who was serving, was. The breakfast area is also the sitting area/ lobby, so the effect at any time other than the breakfast hour is that you're in a small restaurant that has shut down for the night. Weird. The maids are very sweet, but SAVE YOUR MONEY and go a little further down the coast if you really want to be "on the beach."

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Have stayed at this property on several occasions including the most recent when we booked the entire property. No detail was overlooked. Attentive management ensured that every need was contemplated within this attractively appointed and well maintained property situated on the beach with attractive dining alternative within walking distance in this little beach town from the past.

  • Liked — Attentive staff at well appointed and maintained facility
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Beach, OR
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

ORSunshine
We loved it!
We just happened on this place traveling with no set agenda. We really enjoyed the view and watching the surfers from right off our deck. The beds were so comfortable and the room was very spacious. If you just want to relax this is the place for you but if you want exciting night life maybe not. Relaxing in a comfy chair with a fire in the fireplace what more could you ask for. We enjoyed it so much we stayed two nights instead of just one as we had originally planned.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OrSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA.
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2008

A real gem on the California Central Coast. Right on the ocean with fabulous views of the beach and surfers. First class furnishings, the most comfortable beds and great amenities. The breakfast was excellent ! Supurb service and a very friendly staff. A must stay ! The experience was like staying at a small Ritz Carlton.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Rocky048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

We booked a room here in Nov. 06 for our June wedding. We were only going to stay the first night of honeymoon. When we booked it we paid $219 for an ocean-view room. The hotel must've changed ownership that year because it was called Pierpointe Inn at the time of the booking. When I made the reservation I put in the comment section that it was the first night of our honeymoon so I was hoping to get a nice room. We arrived in June at what was now called "On the Beach" in late afternoon. A young girl showed us to a street view room. We could see a Chevron gas station out the window. I reminded her that we had booked an ocean view room. She told me that would cost more but that I could upgrade (somewhere between $300-400). I told her I shouldn't have to pay more b/c when I booked it, I paid what was the ocean view price at the time and it was on my printed receipt. She left us in the hall, with all our bags while she ran downstairs to call her boss. She came back up a few minutes later and told us we could have an ocean view room. The room was luxurious & beautiful. The next morning we had to leave just before 8AM to catch a flight. The lobby was dark & empty. There was no coffee, not even a muffin. Not only that, we couldn't find any place to leave our room key. We finally slid it under the door of the locked reservation room/front desk and left. I sent the manager a letter in Sept. letting them know that the service wasn't very good. I thought they would like to know. I got a letter back stating that since I got the ocean view room I shouldn't complain and that I shouldn't bother coming back there since "sometimes people are just not happy". She also wrote "If a guest ever has any type of bad experience while here and is reasonable, I make extreme efforts to rectify and improve the situation." while writing that anything I was unhappy with was my fault. We ended up staying at a Westin later that week and when the receptionist overheard that it was our honeymoon week she had a bottle of champagne & truffles sent up. The Westin is a huge impersonal hotel yet they were able to make us feel good about being there.
It was definitely kind of disappointing to stay at On the Beach when we had been looking forward to it for so long. We could tell by the letter we got that they couldn't care less about us as future guests. The Cayucos Beach Inn, across the street, is a much better value and the service is more professional.

  • Liked — The room/location
  • Disliked — The unprofessionalism, lack of service
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrewd_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
15.2 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
384 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.5 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: 181 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — On The Beach Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury inn located in the small, casual, surf town of Cayucos, on the central coast of California. All ocean views are a full 180 degrees and all rooms have private balconies, jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your On The Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Hotel Cayucos
On The Beach Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing