We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House! Want to go back!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Old Hall

The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden Atmospheric Great Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden
Atmospheric Great Hall
Garden Room
Drawing Room
Yellow Sitting Room
Country Kitchen With Aga
Poolside Pavilion
Poolside Pavilion
Childrens Chill Out Room
Master Bedroom Suite Overlooking The Garden
En-Suite Bathroom / Dressing Room
Oak Bedroom - superking bed
Oak Bedroom En-suite
Crewel Bedroom - with dressing room and en-suite
17th Century Four Poster
Attic Dorm - Sleeps 4 Kids
View To Garden Terrace
The Garden - Yew Hedges and Topiary
Pop Up Glamping
Tennis Court
Perfect for Celebrations and Get Togethers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BenW388
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful House! Want to go back!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I do not normally write reviews for anything but having gone to this house I found it impossible not to. This house has so much old character but yet with the modern functionality required for a group of 30 somethings to have a weekend away! The gardens are amazing too! The owner is very welcoming and baked us a cake and left complimentary champagne. I cannot recommend this house enough. Cant wait to go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the house and expansive gardens
Liked least: Pool could be heated
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinVerifi...
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Treasured memories from the most perfect house”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I rented The Old Hall for my wife's 50th birthday celebration and I can recommend this delighful Manor as the perfect location for an extended family celebration.
Being a mere man my party organising skills are at best pathetic and Janine the owner was a great help right from the start in offering assistance.
We house has beautiful gardens and we made great use of the tennis court, swimming pool and summer house.
The location is so peaceful and beautiful we will not hesitate to book once again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfortable beds!
Liked least: the cockerel crows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
farnaz12
1 review
“Fantastic surroundings, amazing garden, kids love looking to see if the chicken had laid eggs each day and the peacocks roaming”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The house is well presented and very comfortable. Owner s own home and we'll equipt. The garden s are so well presented and many different areas and hidden areas. Kids loved the secret camp, tree house, climbing frame and swings. For grown ups there are some fantastic areas to run and cycle in around the property.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonShe...
London
2 reviews
“beautiful 17th house - comfortable, stylish, with everything you'd ever need”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The owners of The Old Hall rent their very large and totally adorable house out to groups on a self-catering basis, but leave personal touches akin to a stay in a boutique hotel.

Ridiculously comfortable beds with heavenly duvets. Weekend stay toiletries, freshly cut flowers and treats. Up-to-date dvds, games for kids of all ages. They have everything you could possibly need - this is one well-stocked kitchen, pantry, utility room, pool room - and a 17th century house and landscaped grounds we all fell head-over-heels in love with.

One of the loveliest places we have ever stayed, the pictures they publish are beautiful yet don't do it justice - its a grand house, but feels like home immediately. The Old Hall made a special weekend all the more so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kind personal touches and treats from the owner, the open fires and the kitchen
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becks L
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect country weekend away, just what we wanted!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My friends and I had a lovely weekend at The Old Hall. The photographs did not do the house justice, it was even better than we had anticipated.

The house was absolutely beautiful, so traditional and a perfect escape from city life. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Despite the bad weather, the house was warm and we got to explore and enjoy the incredible grounds.

The owners were so lovely to deal with, they were helpful and made sure our stay was perfect.. We will all be coming back soon I am sure. It was a fantastic trip and I would recommend the house to anyone looking for a traditional, country weekend away. It was a great way to spend a weekend with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was absolutely beautiful as were the grounds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing