We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, private holiday cottage not far from...”
other travellers have booked this property
Tucked deep in the heart of the old apple orchard, the cottage is surrounded by nature at its best.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tucked deep in the heart of the old apple orchard, the cottage is surrounded by nature at its best.
Through the gate to your oasis of calm and tranquility, a short walk from the car parking.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Tucked deep in the heart of the old apple orchard, the cottage is surrounded by nature at its best.
Through the gate to your oasis of calm and tranquility, a short walk from the car parking.
Peaceful south-facing patio from French doors, perfect for relaxing on blissful sun loungers.
The scent of flowers and the sight of birds, bees and butterflies surround your own private patio.
A tranquil haven of peace - relax in the company of birds and bees as they flit among the foliage.
Hanging baskets bring their vibrant seasonal colours to  attract an array of bees and butterflies.
Light floods in from the French doors to a view over the patio and the visiting wildlife beyond
Settle back in front of the lovely woodburner for warm, cosy, romantic evenings at home.
Beautiful wildflowers from the gardens add a special welcome to your idyllic Norfolk cottage.
A very cosy and peaceful place to relax and reflect at the end of a perfect day.
Grab the binoculars to see wildlife in our old apple orchard. Catch the sun rising from the east.
Fully stocked kitchen. Large freezer, washing machine and dryer in dedicated laundry room close by.
Intimate dining for two from your easy-to-reach well-stocked kitchen.
Awake to the dappled rays of the morning sun shining through the trees in the ancient apple orchard.
Master bedroom, blissfully capturing the comfortable, tasteful and elegant style of times past.
Family bathroom including all towels and luxury toiletries.
Ancient apple trees  surround the cottage  leading to the summerhouse and  wildflower meadow.
A cascade of apple blossom adorns the old apple trees in our two orchards
Summerhouse nestles in the wildflower meadow, a haven to enjoy a glass of wine as the sun goes down.
The summerhouse overlooking the wildflower meadow. Spot the deer,  rabbits, and pheasant pass by.
An autumn beauty, a Red Admiral on the ivy.
Autumn sun warms a ladybird on our Bramley apples in the orchards.
Capture the stunning damsel fly with your camera as it rests in the reeds along the riverbanks.
Discover the magnificent Broads National Park close by, nature's wonderland - so much to enjoy.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bowdery
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, private holiday cottage not far from Norwich”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We very much enjoyed our stay. Penny & Roger provided a welcome pack comprising milk, cake, eggs, fresh veg, and a beautiful flower arrangement in the lounge and answered any of our questions. The cottage was secluded, had its own patio and you could wander around the larger gardens too and sit in the summer house. Everything was very clean and comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and glad you had an excellent holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benbooafr...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely to go back and see old friends”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

17 years since we last saw the owners we were back in the heart of Norfolk at their lovely house. This time we stayed in one of the cottages away from the main house which was great as we could then enjoy a peaceful start to the day sitting in the sunny garden enjoying our breakfast and the birdlife. A beautiful spot set amongst 4 acres of woodland the cottage is well appointed with a double bed, small kitchen with appliances and cosy lounge with TV, WiFi and wood burner. Only recommendation is the bathroom which has a bath with hand shower could do with a wall mounted shower instead, otherwise perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Very many thanks for your lovely review and so pleased we were able to welcome you back to the Cottage. Catching up with all our old friends from across the world a huge pleasure for us. Thank you too for the recommendation. We are so pleased you had such a happy and relaxing visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kshuker
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Delightful stay in Norfolk”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Myself & my wife were looking to get away for a few days.
Somewhere we could rest, but close enough to the Town & the Norfolk Broads.
This was the perfect location & setting:
We stayed in a cottage, in the grounds of our hosts Roger&Penny Grade II listed beautiful home.
We'll visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Yes it would be lovely to welcome you back to Green Farm Cottage again and thank you very much for the superb review. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
175amanda
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most beautiful, tranquil place to unwind and relax in”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Spent a wonderful few days away at Orchard Cottage in the stunning county of Norfolk. Very clean, cozy, comfortable cottage with everything you would need for a stress free, relaxing and peaceful stay. Lovely surroundings, very much enjoyed sitting in the garden watching the wildlife which included a family of Green Woodpeckers who visited daily. The county of Norfolk is amazing with lots to do, Norfolk Broads, numerous nature reserves, wonderful birds and wildlife, fabulous beaches, walking etc etc. The hosts, Roger and Penny are lovely friendly people and made me feel very welcome and I would not hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you so much Amanda and Andrew for such a wonderful review.
We really enjoyed meeting you and discussing the merits of our beautiful county. The wildlife here is encouraged and preserved for maximum enjoyment of your stay in Orchard Cottage and we are delighted that you are thinking of returning.
Very many thanks again, all best wishes to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwimaxwe...
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our third stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My Dad and I love staying here; it's perfect for visiting family. The cottage is ideally supplied and wonderfully located on the peaceful Saxlingham Green.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. We were so delighted to welcome you back again to Orchard Cottage and to know how much you enjoy the beautiful peace and quiet this conservation area offers.
We greatly look forward to seeing you both again in August and hope you have another very happy and relaxing stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tigerfeet...
london
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC COTTAGE IN NORFOLK COUNTRYSIDE”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at this lovely cottage for almost a week and it was so peaceful and quiet. We were met by the owners Penny and Roger who are lovely hosts. There was a lovely homemade cake on our arrival provided on a tray with milk , coffee etc.
We loved looking at the birds feeding from the birdfeeder every morning and also in the orchard next to the cottage we saw all sorts of wildlife including a young deer and her baby, pheasant, rabbits etc.
There is an apple orchard where you could pick apples if you wished and a summer house close by.
As we come from the city with all the noise that entails we loved how quiet it was here and would defiantly go back. We went for walks as well around the surrounding area.
We visited the Norfolk Broads and would recommend hiring a boat , Great Yarmouth(bit commercialised) and we visited Cromer beach which was nice. Penny recommended a few places to visit which was a great help. On a clear night we recommend looking up at the stars it was amazing
All in all a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet and watching the widlife
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you Noel and Geraldine for such a wonderful review. It was a great pleasure to meet you both and we are so happy you had such an excellent visit particularly viewing the amazing night-sky and spotting the baby deer.! We very much hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect place to unwind.”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Penny and Roger perfect hosts. Penny had baked a cake for our arrival. Lovely surroundings, plenty of wildlife. Orchard attached to cottage and summerhouse with lots of apples which Penny encourages you to pick and take home. Cottage very clean and very comfortable. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Loved our stay. Would definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, wildlife and the peace and quiet.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing