We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedarville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surprise Valley Hotsprings
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cedarville
Los Molinos, California
1 review
“Great getaway!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

So relaxing! Great little diner in town...Country Hearth...fabulous food! We have been to other hot springs that have a horrible sulfur smell...not here! The water is crystal clear and HOT! We will come back after the snow falls.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aellenberger12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SV_Hot_Springs, Front Desk at Surprise Valley Hotsprings, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your great review! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    15
    1
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
35
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longwood
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

If you want to get away and really enjoy quiet and peaceful setting with a chance to hike or explore the small town of Cedarville and the surrounding areas this is a perfect place. Every room has its own spa/hot tub to enjoy the desert sky by night or day. This is my third trip back here. The first time I discovered this unique motel/spa quite by accident. The next two times it was the purpose of the trip. This is a destination, not really en route to anywhere exactly. But I just love the time I've spent here. Check out the rooms online. It is a great place for a couples get-a-way.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or pool, but the hot tubs are great. There are a couple of places to eat in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SV_Hot_Springs, Front Desk at Surprise Valley Hotsprings, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so happy that you accidentally found us and have been loyal customers ever since. We look forward to your future stays with us!!

-Surprise Valley Hot Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a lovely time here in October. The hot tubs are so wonderful, with clean mineral water flowing in constantly. The rooms are a bit small, but not uncomfortably so. We enjoyed having a refrigerator and stove in our room. But sitting in the hot tub, looking up at the sky, is amazing. I can't wait to go back.

The only reason that I gave this a 4-star instead of 5-star is because there were no robes in our room, whereas some of the other guest rooms seemed to have them. I missed having a robe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SV_Hot_Springs, Front Desk at Surprise Valley Hotsprings, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for the great review!!! We hope to see you in the future and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

-Surprise Valley Hot Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

If you really want some therapy, peace of mind, the privacy of going in and out of your room to your personal private tub then this is the place. All rooms provide the options of cooking for yourself. all rooms have a theme decor. It is not everyday for most of us in metro land or the burbs get to hear coyotes howling at night or the clear crisp desert sky and sunset. I even got to stare down an owl. The owl won of course. There are a few options in the one horse town. A hip little cafe for espresso and lunch options if you go through withdrawals. They also have an in room menu for delivery with very reasonable prices. The real deal with the waters. I have been to several mineral springs and this one of the best. Love it

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abracadabraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SV_Hot_Springs, Owner at Surprise Valley Hotsprings, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you at Surprise Valley Hot Springs again soon.

-Surprise Valley Hot Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have been here MANY times. Anniversaries, part of our honeymoon, Thanksgiving, even Christmas and sometimes just because. The rooms are always clean. The hot tubs are always clean and ready to sit in. We enjoy sneaking treats to the local resident dog Utah. It's nice to go relax in a quiet beautiful setting. Staff has always been helpful and friendly. Have told many people about this place. We have gotten massages that were awesome too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome. We have stayed in many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanna R, Front Office at Surprise Valley Hotsprings, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you Lynette707 for the GREAT review!! We look forward to seeing you at Surprise Valley Hot Springs!!


-SVHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

One of the best, down home secrets on the planet. We have visited several time and are staying again in 2013. It really is a great place to get some solitude. If you appeal to the western ranch-style of living. Just hang out around Cedarville and ease drop on some of the local conversation. I couldn't help but smile and enjoy the simplistic characterizations of what life is all about. "It's like drive'n cattle!" It wasn't long before I had slipped into another culture that brought simplicity, relaxation and an easy rhythm to my life that felt great! If you want to slow your pace down, figure out what is important, enjoy the Applegate trail and Black Rock Desert - This is the gateway to another world and time, long since swallowed up by progress and I ever so desire to get back!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4thebeatenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alturas, CA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our bookclub had a fun weekend at the Hotsprings. We've done this twice and continue to enjoy the location, facilities, and amenities. The hot tub water is nice because it is fresh water unladen with chemicals. The kitchen is nice for quick meals while at the hot springs.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedarville
0.0 mi away
JnR Hotel
JnR Hotel
#4 of 4 in Cedarville
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rim Rock Motel
Rim Rock Motel
#1 of 6 in Alturas
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Niles Hotel
Niles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alturas
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Motel
Sunrise Motel
#3 of 4 in Cedarville
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Motel
Hacienda Motel
#4 of 6 in Alturas
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surprise Valley Hotsprings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surprise Valley Hotsprings

Property: Surprise Valley Hotsprings
Address: 67254 Highway 299, Pob 509, Cedarville, CA 96104
Region: United States > California > Cedarville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cedarville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded...pristine...undisturbed. Welcome to the remote high desert valleys of northeastern California- come discover Surprise Valley Hot Springs. Bordered by the majestic Warner Mountains, Nevada's Hays Range, and ancient lake beds. This is the perfect getaway!Accommodations include deluxe and standard rooms, all have private outdoor hot tubs fed by a cascading waterfall of warm Artesian mineral water. Your room also includes a full or partial kitchen- just let us know what kitchen meets your individual cooking needs. You will find room to roam, quiet time, therapeutic massage, manicure, or pedicure, and vast opportunities for outdoor activities and exploration.Consider us your own private destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surprise Valley Hotsprings Hotel Cedarville
Surprise Valley Hotsprings Cedarville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing