We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality but a bit pricey”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Shore Campground
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We rented an RV and a tent spot in June. The campground is very clean but very dusty. The staff was friendly. They have free showers and flush toilets that are cleaned daily. Every site is walking distance to the lake. The closest town is a very short drive away if supplies are needed. Dogs must be on a leash or there is a $100 fine. They have hookups for water and electricity and they will come to the site to pump sewage for a very small fee. I would plan to go again. Overall it was a bit pricey but the quality was worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forgiven81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. Our staff works very hard and it's great to get such positive feedback. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We only spent one night here, but we will make a point to try to return. The campground is a beautiful, heavily wooded location right on the pretty Lake Almandor. We asked for and received a level campsite although not all of them were. The new owners seemed willing to go above and beyond to make sure we were happy. And oh, those pines and cedars smelled so good....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCaproon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for posting such a stunning review. We would be happy to have you come back, we can save a level spot for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This has been, by far, the cleanest park we have ever stayed in. The restrooms were immaculate with very nice showers. The spaces were large and fairly level. The hookups (no sewer here) were close, convenient and well marked. Check-in was a breeze and everyone we encountered was very gracious, always with a smile. We will return, possibly this fall. Loved this place !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for spending the time to write such a great review. Our entire staff works very hard to insure our campground is clean and we pride ourselves on our hospitality. We hope to see you this Fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a nice campground, however, they book out about 6 months in advance so be sure to book your space in advance if you have a camper/trailer. The facility has very clean bathrooms and shower areas which is fantastic and being on Lake Almanor is just amazing in and of itself. Unfortunately, the downsides are: it's very dusty (maintenance workers seem to power through the little dirt roads on their ATVs and you're caught in a dust cloud if nearby.) The swimming areas are rocky, with duck/water fowl droppings all over the place...along with dog droppings (thank you pet owners for not picking up after your own.) Also, the campsite is a little crowded, they really pack you in there side by side as close together as possible. Our family in the campground across from us, were actually sharing a picnic area with another family.
Again, not a bad place to stay for a few days but we'll probably seek out other places next time for better options.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are a popular campground and the months of July and August fill up fast. We start taking reservations Jan. 2nd. During our slower months it’s a lot easier to get a last minute site. We recommend reserving as far ahead as possible if you’re looking to get a particular site. The previous owners would take reservations a year in advance, we change that policy to six months to be more fair to those who could not plan that far in advance. Thank you for the comment on our bathrooms, we work hard to make sure they are clean. It can be dusty, this depends on how much rain we get. We just switched to golf carts to minimize the dust. We do have to travel around the campsite to make sure it’s clean, in good repair and the trash is picked up. We will tell the crew to keep the carts slower and particular dry days. We ask and will fine owners who do not pick up after their pets. The ducks are a great part of the atmosphere like much of the wildlife, so I guess it’s a just one of those things. Our campgrounds are actually bigger than most campgrounds in the area and we are the only private campground in the area that allows tent campers. We are not sure what happened with your picnic table, please be sure to let us know. Each site should have its own picnic table. We would be happy to make sure your site is setup properly. Thank you for your comments, its helps us to create the best camping experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I really enjoyed this camping experience - hot showers, super friendly staff, clean bathrooms, peace and quiet time, and picturesque views at the lakeside campground - what more can you ask for? One thing maybe you should take into account: We had camp spot # 86 which is directly at the lake, however it is a small spot. For us it was perfect because we did not have to pitch a tent. We slept in our campershell in the truck. This way it did not bother us, we had ample space around the fire ring for our chairs and the big picnic table with benches provided a great spot for our meals. If you need to pitch a big tent, this tent spot might be too small for you. Ask for a bigger one like # 85 or 84. They have extra big spots for RV-s and such which cost more. You can rent canoes and boats from there and they have a little shop where you can buy groceries. The camp site is close to great fishing spots and the Mount Lassen National Park. There is new management and they are all very nice and will make sure that the troublemakers won't have a chance to ruin your vacation. I will definitely go back to this campground where the Sierra meets the Cascade Mountains. My little granddaughter loved the play ground and the kid friendly shallow lake.

Room Tip: Call the staff to make a reservation and let them know your needs. They told us in advance that our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munichmaedchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice, clean and friendly campground with easy access walk to the beach. A bunch of our Family came here for 4th of July and it made it so nice to accommodate individuals who wanted a tent site, RV Space or Cabin all at the same campground. Bathrooms were clean with showers. The new owners and staff were very nice and helpful getting us all checked in and making sure you were comfortable. There is a store by the office with a good variety of items, which made it convenient. Boats, Canoes and other water toys were available for us to rent at the campground. Just a 5 minute drive to Chester to enjoy the 4th of July parade, shopping and restaurants. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funNcancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Although we lived in California most of our lives, this was our first trip to Lake Almanor. We have 2 30' trailers and went with family. Overall it was better than expected in spite of the weather!. We ended up with a pull through site with a deck! Wonderful view of the lake and really pretty quiet. The owners were helpful and visible. The sites were clean and trash picked up regularly. Camp fires were allowed which was a plus for our grandchildren. We look forward to another trip there soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to North Shore Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Campground

Address: Highway 36, North Shore of Lake Almanor, Chester, CA 96020
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Chester
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new and improved North Shore Campground, an RV park and campground that is under new ownership! As the new owners, we have worked hard to create a family-friendly environment that is inviting, fun and safe. We welcome you into our home and our campgrounds, it is our pleasure to share this experience with you and create a memorable experience for you and your family during your visit to Northern California. If there’s anything we can do to make this a one-of-a-kind experience for you, please don’t hesitate to talk to us before, during or even after your trip! We want to make everyone feel like they’re at home when they visit North Shore Campgrounds.With over one mile of shoreline on Lake Almanor, North Shore Campgrounds has everything you could imagine and more. Our peaceful and relaxing resort has over one mile of shoreline available with plenty of fun activities ready for your visit. We have worked hard to create a welcoming environment to new and old guests. The park has been carefully designed to complement the natural beauty of these beautiful and serene settings.Clean and modern bathrooms, boat docks and ramp, boat rentals, playground, a high speed Internet access point, and a WiFi hot spot are some of our amenities. We also have guest houses available for rent that offer all the modern conveniences. In addition, you may rent our Coleman popup trailer rental. We are the only private resort on the lake that offers tent and RV sites, as well as cabins. This makes us an excellent choice for your next family reunion, camping trip or any excuse to get away! We are located on the North Shore of Lake Almanor, two miles east of Chester, California, just off Highway 36.Come fish, boat, walk along the shoreline, hunt for crawdads, watch the many species of waterfowl, or just relax and watch the water. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat in a truly spectacular location, visit us at North Shore Campground. Stop by and grab a cup of coffee with us during the morning, we love getting to know our new family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing