We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food in a small town setting”
Review of Kopper Kettle Cafe

Kopper Kettle Cafe
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Food in a small town setting”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We've eaten at this Kopper Kettle Cafe a few times now, and been happy every time. Actually we normally select this place because we've been happy every time. I think we've always only had sandwiches of one sort or another, and they were all pretty good -- quite enjoyable. One in particular we really liked of course I don't remember the name of, but anyway it had turkey and bacon in it and was really good. The cheesesteak I had last weekend was nice too -- not Philly cheesesteak style (and as I recall they don't claim it is) but made with chunks of meat instead of thinly sliced. But then, unlike authentic Philly cheesesteak the one at Kopper Kettle is made with real cheese, nice cheese, so that's a big plus. It's a small diner type of place, family run it seems -- looks like probably a local hangout, though I wouldn't really know.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    59
    31
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not Too Bad”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Kinda like the local greasy spoon, but a little better. The breakfasts were good so I am not complaining. It seems to be quite a local hangout, which to me says the food is good.

The portions were nice, not huge and by no means small. I had an omelet and as omelets go, it was yummy.

Would I go back? Maybe...I am being vague, I know, but I just can't remember too much about the place!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Homemade Dining, Welcoming Staff”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Comfort food with a bit extra! Very good food, large servings, and a warm and welcoming staff. I was here on business and I wanted more healthy food that burgers, fries and a shake. The delicious chef-like chicken salad was a winner! Be sure to eat here when you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroville, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“comfort food and excellent value”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We got in late and were looking for a place where the kids would eat without too much fuss. Great diner setting without pretentions, good service, fantastic homemade clam chowder, and large servings of classic diner food (breakfast all day, burgers, fries, chicken fried steak with baked potato, hot sandwiches, etc.) The kids liked it so much we got takeout for them and Grandma the next night while we went out for a "grown-up dinner" elsewhere!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lili P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fine Burger Place”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

As in other reviews, there aren't too many places in Chester, and the Kopper Kettle was close to our hotel. The dinner was actually really good for a burger place, and the service was very friendly and efficient. Be sure to ask about the fish in the tank by the door!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrX55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kopper Kettle Cafe also viewed

Chester, Plumas County
Chester, Plumas County
 
Chester, Plumas County
Chester, Plumas County
 

Been to Kopper Kettle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing