We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carol's Ranch House
Ranked #12 of 20 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Kalama, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always good.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Unless your a lumber jack a quarter order of the biscuits and gravy will satisfy the average person and it's the best in town. The apple wood smoked bacon is like nothing you can buy in a super market, if your a bacon lover it's to die for. The omelets are huge and made the omelet lovers in our group very happy. As to another review, I've never seen any biker types here, the town does get some touring "Gold Wing" type guys occasionally but I've never seen any gang type.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was recommend by the people at Bear Creek that was just outside of Chester. Biker-type people seem to be the norm here. Breakfast is really good and plentiful. Very friendly service and homely.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rickemmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Awesome Breakfasts!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have been stopping here for breakfast for years...no matter what we order, it's delicious! Of course, we have our favorites...the chile verde omelet is excellent as are the biscuits and gravy (worth the calories once in a while). If you imbibe, you can't go wrong with their Bloody Mary! It's not known for its atmosphere (thus a 4 instead of a 5), but DO NOT be afraid to stop here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NuttyAcres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much better than you would think from the outside.”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

When I moved to town this was a rollicking bar with adequate breakfasts. The bar now consists mainly of bloody mary's with breakfast or lunch, but the food has improved. The pancakes are large, the Spanish Omelet flavorful and real. Some days it is hot, hot. Some days it is not hot. Depends on the peppers - sort of like real food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
2 reviews
“good breakfast”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Please cdhoose whatever special Carol has on the board for breakfast. You will be very pleased.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank opalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carol's Ranch House also viewed

Chester, Plumas County
Chester, Plumas County
 
Chester, Plumas County
 

Been to Carol's Ranch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing