We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very odd tv”
Review of Antlers Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Antlers Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chester
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very odd tv”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The place was much like a motel 6. Except that there were no towel racks and the towels were in a waste basket and the tv screen was 18"! I AM NOT KIDDING! They said they had high def tv when I called ahead but neglected to say that I would need binoculars to watch it. I mean, really! Flat screens are dirt cheap these days and there is no excuse for this sort of rip off. I posted a picture so you can see for yourself. Note the "cozy" fireplace under the tv. Look at the water bottle on the dresser, the sconce on the wall and even the door handle for scale, then look at the tv! The fireplace is an electric fake flame with zero heat emitting. Notice the tv control box on top of it. That tells you how warm it does not get.

On the plus side it was clean and beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank padredecasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    47
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
55
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, MT
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

On our way to Lassen Volcanic NP in September, 2012, we had great stay at the Antlers Motel. The room was large, clean and was a great value for the money. The motel had everything you would need, in like new condition, including Dish TV, coffee stuff, a great shower and a table and chair and access to an ice machine. The owner was very friendly and helpful with local information. We drove several miles out of our way to stay at the Antlers Motel and we will stay there again when we are in the area. There is a restaurant very close to the motel. The Antlers Motel was one of our best values on our 3 week trip!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffA172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I have stayed at a lot of hotels, and this one comes to the top of my list in terms of value for money. We stayed a Saturday night here in a double bed room for $80 + tax. Everything in the room is pure luxury quality; I had paid $300 for hotel rooms and still not got this kind of quality. The towels are extremely cozy and comfortable; and you get lots of them, not just one or two. The bedsheets and the blankets are comfortable. There is Dish HDTV with lots of channels, coffee maker with good coffee stuff. The water pressure in the shower is something you will not have seen in a hotel before. This place is just 5 years old; so everything is very modern construction.

If you are planning to visit Plumas County, Lake Almanor, or Lassen NP, I strongly recommend you to stay here. You will remember the experience as part of your trip. I will surely be back to stay here, even if it means that I have to drive 30-40 miles more than what is needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amitab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Comfortable, clean motel at moderate rate. Dan, the owner, was friendly and helpful. If we get back to Chester we would definitely stay here again. Previous review commented that there were no towel racks in bathroom, but Dan says they have them and will be putting them in -- he listens and aims to please!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caltripper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

A surprisingly nice motel with lovely big rooms and bathrooms - pity the flat-screen TV high on the wall is actually too small to watch in bed in a room of this size. Linen and towels very good, room a/c works fine. In-room coffee machine works fine, too. Nice helpful management and a good team of housekeepers who keep everywhere spotlessly clean. There is a restaurant next to the hotel and another up the street next to the gas station (with the most expensive gas we saw on our 20-day vacation!). There is a useful supermarket across the street.

We would highly recommend staying here when visiting Lassen Volcanic Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed with a group for few days and enjoyed it. Room was large and very clean. Towels big and fluffy . Bed was big and very comfortable for us.
Restaurants .extent door and down the street were quite good.
Offire often closed and hard to reach but helpful
Area fires and motor cycles didn't
bother us

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdgtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This low budget, spotlessly clean motel offers large rooms with lots of space for storing your belongings. Our over sized room had a bigger than normal mini fridge, a double sink on the outside of the huge bathroom, a desk, easy chair, and three (yes three) dressers! So if you are planning on staying for a while, this would be the place to go. Decor is quite nice, with cute touches, however construction seems to be on the cheap side. Other reviewers complained of noise. We did not have that problem in our downstairs room. The office was closed more often than it was opened, however when it was open, the front desk staff was knowledgeable and quite helpful.

Things to know before you go:
There is wired internet but no wifi, so if you only have an iPad, you are out of luck. However, there is wifi available for use in the office. If you need to dry your hair, you are also out of luck as the room does not come with a hair dryer. The shampoo packet is tiny. There is no conditioner. There is no elevator.

For a low budget motel, Antlers is a little gem smack in the middle of a cute little town. If you are looking for something more on the woodsy side, then I would recommend checking out some of the properties along the Lake Almanor waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morris3445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Antlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antlers Motel

Property: Antlers Motel
Address: 268 Main Street, Highway 36, Chester, CA 96020
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New beautiful 20 room motel in the heart of Chester! 8 Cal-Kings, 12 double Queens available. Finished in 2008, this lovely motel has all the modern conveniences! Each room features lodge decor, decorative fireplaces, refrigerators, flat panel satellite TV, and plenty of room to relax. Friendly & professional staff. Directly across from the grocery store - convenient to everything! Let us make your stay memorable and fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Antlers Motel Chester
Antlers Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing