We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Another Burger Joint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burger Depot

Burger Depot
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Another Burger Joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I found this place to be just another Burger joint. Nothing special about the menu, quality or presentation. The layout of the entrance and order counter was conjested. There were plenty of seats though and they catered to many customers, mostly tourists visiting Lake Almanor and Lassen National Park.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FunToTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Was thinking of a Rueben...got a great burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My friend and I were discussing Rueben sandwiches on the way to dinner. The Burger Depot has a "Loco-motive Burger" with the burger on sauerkraut, onions and marbled rye. Hit the spot! The owner took our order and later came by our table to see how I liked the marbled rye. He has a good sense of humor and regaled several tables with his story of the menus. Apparently he ordered 1000 from a local printer and 10,000 were delivered... There is more to the story, but you will have to ask.

My companion had a burger with bar-b-q sauce and peppers. Looked delicious. His dirty french fries were well fried as well. The restaurant feels like an unpretentious family restaurant with dark wood booths and seating outside on the front patio. There is a "salad bar" area for all your toppings. The thing I really came for is a little train that runs on a track near the ceiling through the two rooms. If you are a train buff, you will love all the metal signs. Fun! The family also have owned the Knotbumper Restaurant up the street since the 70's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathryn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great theme, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you like trains you've got to try this place. They've done a very good job of sticking to their theme. They've even got an electric train running around the ceiling. When you add the fact that they serve really good burgers you can't miss. If you're ever in Chester, check them out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Hamburgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

One of the places we like to go for lunch whenever we're in the Chester area. Good burgers and chili at a reasonable price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dougboone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burger Depot also viewed

Chester, Plumas County
Chester, Plumas County
 
Chester, Plumas County
 

Been to Burger Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing