We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Accommodations in area for Lassen Volcanic National Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Rose Quartz Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nicest Accommodations in area for Lassen Volcanic National Park”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

When I booked this BW, I did not realize that it was 30 miles south of the park. After I got to the hotel, I did not regret the booking. After a very sub-standard stay at the BW in Oakridge, CA, several nights before I was apprehensive. Night and day difference in the two! Nice, modern, clean, spacious. For the next night I did change accommodations to be nearer the park. that was a mistake. Much better sleeping at the BW. BUT, when a storm came thru, we were without power for hourS! I would have thought that the hotel would have a backup system. When I took my laundry over to the "laundry room", there was standing water on the floor. Considering what else is available in the area, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank cecilia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    160
    42
    7
    9
See reviews for
106
162
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I am from New Zealand and put together tours travelling throughout the USA for a month at a time and I had made bookings with the manager at this outfit 12 months ago for 10 rooms. I followed up with email correspondence confirming the rooms and offered in the email to also prepay for all 10 rooms. She replied by email that payment was not required until arrival and confirmed all rooms and I sent the room list. All sorted, not. All 16 of us arrived today to be told by her that she was full and had not set aside our rooms. After trying tobluff her way out she finally had the good grace toacknowledge her mistake and apologised. I told her that she needed to sort out 10 rooms somewhere else which she did but thet were 30 miles away so off we went. We sorted things out but I will avoid the place for all future tours as I cannot trust them to fulfill their contracts on group tours.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lassen was stunningly beautiful so we stayed two nights, traveling back and forth. This is a nice BW property. Hotel staff were A++. Room was exceptionally clean. Our bathroom looked a little funky but was ADA compliant. We were upstairs; there was an elevator. Breakfast was good - standard BW hotel fare. The hotel staff gave us good recommendations for dinner and they were knowledgeable about the national park too. There is a spa and a weight room and a BBQ pit I think out back; we didn't use them. If you are staying for a while in the Chester area, you should consider vacation rentals by owner. There are tons of really nice vacation homes on the south side of the lake.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face a retirement home and are quiet. We slept with our window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifCoupleSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just South of Lassen Volcanic National Park in California - a convenient overnight stop - good hotel and rooms. Being 'picky' ... the breakfast choices were a bit limited in comparison with other Best Western hotels on our month long trip - but another good night's sleep before 547 miles drive to Twin Falls, Idaho - en-route to Yellowstone NP.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank quadrantpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here three nights so we could visit Lassen Volcanic National Park. It is about thirty miles to the park but it worked out fine! It is a beautiful drive! The room was nice size and very clean. The breakfast was ok. No bacon or sausage and the hard boiled eggs still had the shell on which gets messy when you don't have a sink to wash them off! They were out of plain oatmeal. The Internet was hard to connect to but once you got on it worked fine! Everything else was good! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We chose the Best Western in Chester for our visit to Lassen National Park because of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor and they were right on,great room and nice Breakfast.The desk clerk reccommended a good restaurant for dinner,it was a very good dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
200 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife were on our last 2 days of a long 10 day vacation. We were spending a couple day's exploring Lassen Volcanic National Park. So we choose to stay in Chester, which is just about 30 minutes from the park. The rooms were fantastic, spacious, clean and comfortable. We were very happy we choose the Rose Quartz Inn.
John & LynNita Ellis

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnEllis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Best Western Rose Quartz Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rose Quartz Inn

Property: Best Western Rose Quartz Inn
Address: 306 Main Street, Chester, CA 96020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rose Quartz Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Rose Quartz Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rose Quartz Hotel Chester
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing