We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful kid friendly get away in the mountains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bidwell House B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful kid friendly get away in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The children wanted to see snow for Christmas, so we booked a stay far in advance. The weather, unfortunately, did not cooperate as there was little snow on the ground; the upside was that we discovered this charming B&B. We booked two rooms for 3 adults and 3 grade-school kids: the Bidwell Suite (two adjoining rooms with a queen bed and a king bed plus sitting area, woodstove, and bath with soaking tub) and the Robin's Roost (king bed, TV/DVD, and Jacuzzi tub with separate shower). The Bidwell suite was above the public areas of the Inn so we did not have to worry about the kids' footsteps keeping anyone awake in the evening. It was a lovely room with comfortable beds, lovely antique furnishings, and lots of space for the kids who were all able to share the kid bed easily. The only downsides to this room were (1) no shower head, and (2) no closets (there were, however, dressers and small antique cupboards which were adequate for hanging everyone's coats.) The Robin's Roost also had a very comfortable bed, a modern closet, and cool little pass-through-cupboards big enough for trays in case you wanted your breakfast served in your room but didn't want to open the door in your PJ's (most of the rooms in the newer part of the house had this feature.) The water was hot immediately and there was excellent water pressure in the shower. The public areas of the house had good sitting areas, a fireplace, and a sun room with games/books/DVD's to borrow. The Innkeepers were extremely friendly and helpful, letting us borrow sleds and telling us where there was enough snow to go sledding for a morning. There were also snowshoes to borrow as well as 3-ring-binders with lots of suggestions for local dining and activities for summer and winter weather. The property boasts a gazebo and a garden as well as a large yard and an outdoor patio which would be a great place for lunch in the summer. They provide a guest refrigerator and also an honor bar with wine/beer/soda/bottled water. The coffee and tea in the kitchen were available for self-serve until late in the evening. The 3 course breakfasts were delicious: they started with plain greek yogurt topped with cereal or homemade granola (yum) and dried fruit, the second course was usually an egg course (omelet with goat cheese and spinach one day, scrambled eggs with cheddar and pesto over garlic toast another) and meat (sausage or bacon), and then lastly a breakfast dessert (fruit with honey one day, a cherry pastry the next). We noticed that another table of guests had dietary restrictions which had been readily provided for due to advance notice at booking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lili P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    37
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
99
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was really a very nice bed and breakfast, with most all the things you'd hope to see. Very nice manicured lawn and property, and a really great common area to relax, play games, or just hang out. The room had plenty of charm, and was complete with a wood burning stove and all the supplies necessary for a nice fire. The breakfast was outstanding, and the service fantastic. The innkeepers were very nice, but didn't perhaps didn't have the time to connect with the guests as we've been accustomed to in other stays elsewhere. There aren't many good dining choices close by, but they have an excellent supermarket within a couple miles that had all we needed for a great meal for dining in their common area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Bidwell House. Staff was friendly and the home is incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and different each day. We went for one night and asked to stay another then another. They have a deal, stay for two nights and get the third night free. DEAL!!! As you can see from the pictures, it is fall right now and so beautiful. We will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnrene29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Bidwell House, after booking it while we were on the road on the way to Lassen Volcanic National Park. It turned out to be a fortuitous choice. Even though it is about 30-40 minutes from the park, it may be the best place to stay if you don't want to rough it.
The rooms were comfortable, the grounds inviting, the reading room, bar, coffee for guests, were all welcoming. The hosts are sweet and accommodating. A 3-course breakfast is included in the fare, far too rich for our tastes, but much appreciated by most guests.
If you can, book a massage at the spa across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YaacovG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife at I went to the area to visit Lassen Volcanic National Park and needed a place to stay for one night. We tried a couple of hotels but two were full and one was what I considered too pricey for what they had to rent.
We ended up at Bidwell House. It is very attractive and doesn't have very many rooms. The rooms come with various bathroom situations. Some have private baths and some have sharing with other rooms They have a pretty wide price range. We ended up with a room with a private bath and sit down hand held shower for about $165 for the night. That included a "3 course" breakfast.
The room was nice and furnished with antiques. It did not come with much in the way of storage for clothing. It did not have desk to sit at when using a computer. I am unsure that there was A/C in the room although it did have a small wall heater and a ceiling fan.
I thought this was more a Hotel than a B&B because the owner / operator lives in a separate building.
They had free cookies, my wife enjoyed the complimentary Sherry available in the evening. There was no coffee in the room and you have to wait until the cook gets there like 7ish in the morning. Breakfast was yogurt with cereal on top, an egg & cheese "cassarole" concoction, and a small pastry. Nothing to get excited about. Lots of tables so each couple pretty much has their own space for eating breakfast.
An interesting thing ... we asked for a recommendation of a place to eat dinner and they suggest a restaurant about a 10 or 15 drive around the local recreation lake. We went there and enjoyed the food and drink. We figured out that the owners of the B&B were also owners of this restaurant. But like I said the food was good, the value was good and there were very few other options for restaurants in the area.
So, this was a bit different than my idea of a B&B. I thought the prices were High but there are very few options in and around Chester. Either "season" was over or the local economy is bad because I was looking at a lot of places that appeared either closed or abandoned.

Room Tip: a wide range of room prices and configuations. No elevator to the second floor as you would expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here one night. The front looks like a regular house (in fact it is, built maybe around 1920), the back looks more like a regular motel, say of the BW variety, but with a nice green backyard. The room (so called Hummingbird) was nice and quiet but dark enough that we needed the lights on late in the morning. Our breakfast was average, I got two slices of french toast with some old greasy cold bacon; had expected perhaps something a bit more memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the Bidwell House in July on a trip to nearby Lassen National Park. (Word of warning about location, it was a good half hour from the main southern Lassen entrance - but if you don't want to camp, probably the best place to stay by far.)

The house is the quintessential small town B&B; lovely house, beautiful grounds, charming town. On arrival we found they were hosting an art festival and a wine walk. We caught the end of the wine walk, getting to see the town and talk to locals, (check out the great little book store in the town), then went back to the B&B where there was live music on the large porch. If you visit in the summer high season, do make dinner reservations - long waits but we should have planned ahead.

The staff was friendly and helpful and our room was large and inviting. We were impressed that guests are given the run of the house, including the kitchen, books and games, and a guest refrigerator. Our room overlooked a large patio with tables. Wifi service was good which was great as cell reception in Lassen was not available.

Our room was comfy with the exception of a small, outdated shower with an oversize shower head that sprayed on the floor and a bathroom door stop that stuck. While that should be replaced, and there was some mold on the outside of the shower, there was also a large whirlpool tub.

Breakfast included two courses with nuts, which was disturbing as reception had asked about food allergies on check in and we had said nuts were a problem. Luckily we asked our server and she quickly substituted some very nice scrambled eggs.

Would we return? I think yes. This is a lovely place with great people. On the other hand if you really are going to see Lassen National Park, camping in the park is the way to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Bidwell House B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bidwell House B&B Inn

Property: The Bidwell House B&B Inn
Address: #1 Main St., Chester, CA 96020
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Old Towne" Chester, The Bidwell House B&B Inn is the only three-diamond AAA rated Inn in the Chester/Lake Almanor basin. Fourteen distinctly different guest rooms, the swing on the porch, the unusual collection of antiques and attention to little details are all for the comfort of our guest. Chester/Lake Almanor basin and surrounding area spread across a natural wonderland created by millions of years of geologic forces, a crossroad where the granite of the Sierra Nevada meets the lava of the Cascades. Enjoy hours of pleasure on Lake Almanor with its 52 miles of shoreline, in Lassen Volcanic National Park which boasts the southernmost volcano in the Cascade range and in the 1.2 million acres that make up the Lassen National Forest and Caribou Wilderness area. This is a playground for all seasons, for all ages and any lifestyle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing