We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only One Night...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Inn
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Pasadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only One Night...”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My son and I stayed just one night while visiting the college campus. The service was good and the room was clean. The only complaint was that the toilet was a little low and wiggled, but no other complaints. I will definitely stay there when I come to visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Leslie! I appreciate you reminding us about the problems you had with your toilet. I think you'll be happy to hear our staff has since taken care of it!

Until next time,
Mohammad, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    5
    7
    34
See reviews for
14
10
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Yes, it was an unfortunate experience. For the same cost, I went around the corner to Heritage Inn. Microwave, refrigerator, and a lot more than just warm water and packets of instant coffee, and cellophane snacks for breakfast. My friends in town kidded me for staying at the Vagabond, apparently this place was a dump in the 80's when we were college students and I didn't even know. I'm sorry my 16 year old daughter had to see this place. We WERE going to check out Chico College but now she's seen too much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Loisann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
I'm sorry to hear that too, Loisann. We consider ours a great place to stay in Chico, so the last thing we want is for anyone to get the wrong impression of our standards and values. Although I'm disappointed we ultimately lost your business, I appreciate your candid feedback; I know it will only help us to improve.

Regards,
Mohammad, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chico hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We took a group of high school seniors here to visit the university. We weren't expecting much. We just wanted a basic, clean space for them to sleep. It wasn't remotely acceptable even for this purpose. There were roaches in the rooms. The sheets were stained with what looked like blood. The curtains were shredded to bits and there was mold on the walls! What a nightmare. The health department should shut this place down. I wish you could give a zero rating.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lselkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to follow up with us after your stay. The conditions you described in your review are in no way acceptable, nor do they fall in line with our standards for health and safety. Please know that we're actively working to correct these problems, and we really appreciate your feedback on the matter.

Thanks again,
Mohammad, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Hotel is right in the centre of Chico with plenty of parking. We received a very warm welcome from the manager who did the utmost to make sure we had everything we needed including bags of continental breakfast and a good discount. Room was clean with good facilities and perfect for two tired and dusty travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thanks for staying with us! It's great to hear you got just the R&R you needed on your trip. I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're passing through Chico!

Safe travels,
Mohammad, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

For the price, this hotel was a good stay for the price. It wasn't excellent quality but it wasn't bad either. The room was decent quality with minimal features but it was enough to get me through a good night.

Room Tip: Get a room on the west side for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScolcesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This place is disgusting. Following checking in to my room I found garbage on my floor, a half used roll of toilet paper, holes in the sheets, and stains everywhere. After finding this I went to the front desk and asked for a manager, but was told that he would not be contacted nor would anything be done. I asked for my money back as well, but was told that because I booked online that I would not be refunded, despite being checked in to a filthy room. Justine, the woman at the front desk was the most unprofessional and rude employee I have ever encountered anywhere. In fact, after telling her of the problems in my room, she deliberately lied to me and said that the maids had not yet finished the room, and I was nearly screamed at. Of course after waiting for the maids to "finish the room" they never came. Phrases like "you don't know how our maids work" and other rude comments were the result of me notifying her that the room she gave me was disgusting. I left disgusted. This place sucks. Sleep in your car, in a box, but please not here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattawan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Are they paying people to jack up the rating? You have got to be kidding me, 3 STARS!!! Our room didn't look anything like the photo. When we picked this from a travel site, it had three stars. For the room I wouldn't give it any stars. This place is a DUMP! The cable line up was good. The sheets had stains on them on one bed and the other appeared to not have been changed. The bathroom towels had black hair on them. I tried not to touch anything and took by blanket home in a plastic bag to wash. SO Gross!!
We should have gotten our money back. Stay anywhere but there. Absolutely Awful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
984 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Property: University Inn
Address: 630 Main St, Chico, CA 95928-5616 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Chico)
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn Chico hotel is centrally located in Downtown Chico, California. We deliver clean, comfortable accommodations, quality amenities, a pleasant staff, affordable prices and classic, West Coast hospitality to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Chico Hotel Chico
Vagabond Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing