We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Reviewed 9 April 2012

If you are on a very small budget, plan to spend very little time in the room and are a super sound sleeper, then this is a good value hotel. Otherwise, spend a little more to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VentiCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIChico, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate your honesty. Our establishment is continually updating with renovations and we hope you see us in a new perspective if you decide to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Americas Best Value Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

read the reviews for this place all good recent reviews, and staff was friendly when I called to book. they asked if I wanted to give my email so they could send me future offers which I declined. went to check in only to find they had messed up my reservation and had me booked for the previous night. my husband over heard my call to book the room I was quite clear about which night I wanted even confirmed it 3 times. the staff at the desk was rude about it and incredulous and told me the price had gone up so I would have to pay the difference. also they would have charged me twice if they had been booked up the night before. also they would be talking with the staff who made the reservation to find out what really happened. the room smelled bad when I first walked in. as I looked around things got worse so here goes: room smelled, the knobs on the air unit were broken and came of in my hand, the curtains did not close so you could see thru to our room had to pin them shut and you could still see in the edges, they let in so much light around the edges the room never got dark enough to sleep, the carpet had burn marks in it and bumps that you tripped over, the lamp shades were stained, the lamp was broken, the only plug by the bed was an extension cord that the bed lamps and alarm were already plugged into so to charge my phone had to unplug the lamp, the furniture was metal like filing cabinets, the sheets had hair on them and there were no fitted sheets only two top sheets tucked in, the closet door rained bits of wall and paint when I tried closed it, the bathroom had badly patched wall and cracks, the toilet seat was lose, the tub moved around as you got out of it and the shower/faucet were not attached and wiggled back and forth a few inches, the window and walls were so thin you could hear everything and it was on a busy street near a fire house. I have never paid so much money for such little quality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Traveler,

As a courtesy to you, we waived the charge for the no-show reservation. We do appreciate your business, and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences, however if you had brought your concerns to us promptly, we would have addressed all issues to make your stay as comfortable as possible. In your review you mention our tubs moving, however this hotel has always had immobile tubs, given this observation we questioned whether or not you had reviewed the correct hotel. As for the bedding in the room, our linen is done exclusively through a third party company, where they are cleaned, ironed, and inspected. This all comes to us as a surprise, since on just the 24th of February, we received 97% on our Quality Insurance inspection by America's Best Value chain. Again we apologize that your stay was not up to expectation, and hope for your continued business. Our hotel is conveniently located in beautiful downtown Chico, very close to Chico State University, as well as many of the finest restaurants and night-life establishments that Chico has to offer. We value your business and can assure you that we strive to take care of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I recommend this hotel for a business trip. Comfortable. Clean. Good wireless network (Wi-Fi). And especially the staff is very kind, polite, and they help us with all the information we need.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodrigomorenomarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

It was our pleasure to serve you on your stay. Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write and let us know how we are doing. We wish you best of luck and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Rooms are ok. Staff is nice. I think I will pass next time.
There are better hotels you can find with better value. If there is mo other choice this won't be bad choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RenoRailroadnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIChico, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your honesty and if you do stay with us again we will provide our best service to help you stay satisfied. We appreciate your nice comments as we find them rewarding to hear.

Best Regards,
Americas Best Value Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 days with my daughter. She is considering attending Chico State, so the location of this hotel was perfect. We could just walk there and not bother about parking. We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. Its not a hilton, but for Chico it was pretty good. The rate was affordable and they offered free breakfast and wifi was free which I took advantage off while my daughter visited some friends. Anyway - it looks like she is going to pick Chico (its a charming little town), so I will be spending quite a few nights here over the next four year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same - we stayed near the pool and didn't have any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darshan J, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thanks for staying with us, and thanks for the great review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and hope you will choose us in the future! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed for Business. Great location, in the heart of downtown Chico. I can walk to the restaurants and Bar and Chico State where my meeting was. The staff were very friendly and knew the hot spots for Chico. One of the better Motels I have stayed in Chico.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sustai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darshan J, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Hello, and thanks for the review! We are glad you were able to enjoy our prime location in downtown Chico. I am also happy that our team was able to assist you with finding the local hotspots. Our staff prides themselves on knowing the general area and attractions extremely well. We hope that you will choose us again next time you visit.

-ABVI Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed at Americas Best Value Inn with a college sports team playing Chico State. The cost was very low and the hotel staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel is also convenient located near a number of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonMiller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darshan J, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Hello, we are very happy you found our hotel suitable to your needs. Our staff has a commitment to excellence and customer satisfaction. Thank you for the review and we hope you will once again choose us when you find yourself in Chico.

-ABVI Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#3 of 17 in Chico
149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 740 Broadway St, Chico, CA 95928-5528 (Formerly Chico Days Inn)
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Inn Chico is placed right in the middle of beautiful downtown Chico! We are walking distance from all the best restaurants and night life that Chico has to offer. We are also only a short distance away from certain attractions such as Sierra Nevada Brewery, One Mile Recreation Area, and only walking distance to California State University Chico, as well as Bidwell Mansion. While you're enjoying your stay with us in Chico, don't forget to visit Bidwell Park, the 3rd largest Municipal Park in the country! Bidwell Park features attractions such as swinning holes like Bear & Salmon Hole, and others such as the Diversion Dam. Chico is a great place for recreational travelers, and business travelers alike. When visiting don't forget to call America's Best Value Inn Chico, where it's our mission to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chico
Chico Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing