We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suprisingly Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Acceptable option for a stay in downtown Chico. Was not our first choice - tried to get in at Htoel Diamond (did visit that property and will stay there next time with a little more advance notice). Listen - this is not a 3 or 4 star hotel...and probaly the 2 star designation is fair. It is old and tired - but was under $100/night and right downtown - a good option for Chico as that is where you want to be and to be able to walk (not drive!! - if you get my drift).

It was clean and amzaingly quiet...we expected much worse. If you stay here, don't expect luxury and you'll be fine...the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhmvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your comment, we value your thoughts...We strive to improve every day to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    8
    6
    15
See reviews for
12
9
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This extenderd stay best value Inn was definately undermanaged...I travel for my work and never should have stayed.. the hotels with the same rates appeared worse with no pool ... so I chose to stay until I could rent... for 2 horrible weeks..I called police for the continuous use of the pool by homeless and crack heads... who had no rooms there.... they were clothes bicycles hair feet and faces filthy.. they would disrobe and bathe inthe pool .. with numerous complaints to staff that were disregarded... I refused to swim after their filthiness ( I paid 62 dollars a nite for their bathes) most had no teeth and were in the dumpster daily and nightly eating directly from the garbage dumpster.. the gate was never locked and the dumpster had no lock... this is not family oriented.... stay away.,... its way too much money for a very poor part of town....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notacrackhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Guest,
You forgot to mention how we helped you out when you came in with no money and needed someone else to pay for your room. We took you in and gave you a discounted rate, and waited for someone to pay for your room. You said nothing but good things about us when you were here. Downtown Chico is an awsome and convenient location for our hotel. We do have ongoing Security to deal with anyone that is not supposed to be here, but to be honest you are over exageratling. That is not the kind of establishment that we are running. Management has very high standards. You did not stay 2 weeks. You stayed 3 weeks with us. I don't think you would have stayed 3 weeks if your stay was so miserable. We do thank you for your comments and for your business. We hope everything is going well with you new job. Best Regards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chico hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We rolled in pretty late on Tuesday, July 24. We tried to get a few different rooms at different hotels.... All of which told me to kick rocks. (I had a credit card stolen a week ago). The night manager went ABOVE AND BEYOND to get my buddy and I a room. After being treated like scum everywhere else, it was awesome to be treated like a human being again. Stellar.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan_blac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you, we have been receiving great comments on all of our staff. We value your business and hope you can visit us again very soon. Best Regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed over the weekend. The rates were reasonable and the room and location was ideal. Walking distance to all downtown venues and the college, nice small pool and a nice staff that will point you to the best Chico has to offer. Clean room and small continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were on vacation at Lake Almanor and had car trouble and were towed to the VW dealer in Chico. This inn was one block away from the VW dealer and we needed a place to stay while the car was repaired. My wife is very aleregic to cigarette smoke and mold/mildew and the hotel manager was very understanding. After the first night the manager arranged for the ashtray to be moved from out in front of our non-smoking room so that we could have the window open, and had the airconditioner filter changed and cleaned. Moving the ashtray was the biggest improvement as we were able to have fresh air with the window open. They also let us have a late check-out due to the car not being ready until the afternoon of the second day. Management did everything they could to make our unplanned stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

We were in town for mothers day and stay here. Very nice and clean rooms for the price. Enjoyed the free breakfast and WiFi. Our room had a great whirlpool like tub that was great after our long hike in the park. The front desk person was very helpful with directions and things to do in chico. Also was nice to be in walking distance of downtown shopping

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jw1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments which are encouraging and keeps up happy and always improving for your comfort when you stay with us. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE! I just left the hotel. When I checked in, the manager was on the phone. I stood there for sveral minutes before she even acknowledged me. Still on the phone, she rudely snatched the printout of the reservation that I brought with me from my hands and still did not say a word. She was on the phone the entire time mumbling nothing but "uh-huh". Our room (214) was very small, dirty, and it had a really bad odor to it. The curtains did not close all the way so I had to use my hair clip to clip them together. The bathroom was dirty and dark and the shower head was filthy. Because I was too tired from my flight, I fell asleep for two hours only to be waken up by my sister telling me to get up out of bed because there were bed bugs. I woke up to a BUNCH of little black bugs all over my pillow and blankets! I quickly called the front desk with no answer! We packed our things and talked to the employee there who was also very disgusted but handled the situation very well. He called the manager/owner (woman on the phone) who refused to give me a full refund. I was able to speak with her and her reason for not giving me a refund was because "you already stayed there so many hours." I checked in around 4pm and checked out at 12:30am. I was very close to calling the cops because she was being extremely difficult but she finally had the employee void the room transaction.

The owner does not appreciate her customers or the business as a whole. Value means nothing when you find yourself psychologically destroyed with thoughts of bugs living in your hair and crawling on your body.

We quickly called Oxford Suites, also located in Chico. The front desk staff treated us extremely well and even gave me a discount on my rates! Their rooms are spacious and clean! GO THERE INSTEAD!!

I couldn't feel more disgusted right now by the room and the owner.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nalthao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Guest,
I have to disagree with your misleading and false reviews. There are times when the desk clerk will be on another call helping a customer before you, but it doesn't mean that you will be ignored. Here at ABVI Chico we are known for our attentive service. Both of these negative reviews are yours except that in one you stayed for two hours but on your second one you stayed for over 8 hours. Any hotel would be reluctant to give you a refund for staying over 8 hours, and by the way it was over 8 hours. Your room was inspected and was found to be clean and no bugs of any kind. We have excellent value, clean, and comfortable rooms for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
1.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#9 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 740 Broadway, Chico, CA 95928 (Formerly Chico Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Inn Chico is placed right in the middle of beautiful downtown Chico! We are walking distance from all the best restaurants and night life that Chico has to offer. We are also only a short distance away from certain attractions such as Sierra Nevada Brewery, One Mile Recreation Area, and only walking distance to California State University Chico, as well as Bidwell Mansion. While you're enjoying your stay with us in Chico, don't forget to visit Bidwell Park, the 3rd largest Municipal Park in the country! Bidwell Park features attractions such as swinning holes like Bear & Salmon Hole, and others such as the Diversion Dam. Chico is a great place for recreational travelers, and business travelers alike. When visiting don't forget to call America's Best Value Inn Chico, where it's our mission to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chico
Chico Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing