We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serviceable hotel saved the day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Serviceable hotel saved the day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The thing for me to remember about Chico is that the university activities can cause an accommodation shortage. I waited until late make a hotel reservation and after many online attempts was relieved to find space at America's Best Value Inn. It was spartan, outdated and had one of those creepy flowered bedspreads in the smoking allowed room. I was more grateful for the accommodations than ready to pick on the place for the smell of tobacco. Even so, it was clean. We were on the back side of the hotel and it was noisy for much of the night ( probably worse on the front side) which seems to be on a popular route for loud vehicles.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ready2go14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your business and your feedback. Cleanliness is a top priority. Sorry that a smoking room is all we had left. Weekends are especially busy for us so reservations in advance is always the way to go. I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Chico.

--Best Regards--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    8
    6
    15
See reviews for
12
9
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

I visited Americas best value inn in chico, last weekend while visiting the college campus. I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff was awesome in helping me find places to eat and things to do in chico. The room was clean and I loved the whirlpool in my room. Don't understand why there is bad reviews for this motel because I had a great experience. Will go back again soon I'm sure.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jw1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Hi, we were delighted to host you, and hoped that you enjoyed your day at Chico State University, it is a great school. Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I found this property on the internet. I chose to book a room at this property as the photos of the room and pool appeared decent. I needed a room that would accomodate my four teenaged girls and two small dogs that was close to Chico State University (we were visiting the college). I should have checked this website first but did not as we decided to take this trip last minute. The place was a nightmare. The hotel room was old and dated, and it looked dirty and had a nasty, wierd smell. It appeared that the grout in the very small bathroom was originally white but was black on the date of our stay. My daughter decided to lay down on the carpet to do her homework, but quickly got up and said the carpet smelled like urine. There were crack heads hanging out outside one of the rooms. Outside another room, dirty construction men gawked at me and my teenaged girls and made dirty comments. A disgusting older man two rooms away from ours kept his window curtains about a foot open while he pranced around the room completely naked. It appeared the pool had not been cleaned in a while. I do not recommend this place and would not stay there again myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaylalily t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our maintenance staff shampoos the carpets regularly. We do appreciate you letting us know about something as important as cleanliness so that we can look into it if it hasn't been done. We do not allow any type of unrespectful and bizarre behavior by other guests. If anyone was being disrespectful to you or your family, had you told us we would have promply taken care of it. We did not hear from you during your stay at all, but we are sorry that you did not have the best experience. Unfortunately, it is impossible to control other peoples' actions all the time but any time we know of something going on, we take care of it right away.

--Best Regards--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chico hotels

Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Acceptable option for a stay in downtown Chico. Was not our first choice - tried to get in at Htoel Diamond (did visit that property and will stay there next time with a little more advance notice). Listen - this is not a 3 or 4 star hotel...and probaly the 2 star designation is fair. It is old and tired - but was under $100/night and right downtown - a good option for Chico as that is where you want to be and to be able to walk (not drive!! - if you get my drift).

It was clean and amzaingly quiet...we expected much worse. If you stay here, don't expect luxury and you'll be fine...the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhmvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your comment, we value your thoughts...We strive to improve every day to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This extenderd stay best value Inn was definately undermanaged...I travel for my work and never should have stayed.. the hotels with the same rates appeared worse with no pool ... so I chose to stay until I could rent... for 2 horrible weeks..I called police for the continuous use of the pool by homeless and crack heads... who had no rooms there.... they were clothes bicycles hair feet and faces filthy.. they would disrobe and bathe inthe pool .. with numerous complaints to staff that were disregarded... I refused to swim after their filthiness ( I paid 62 dollars a nite for their bathes) most had no teeth and were in the dumpster daily and nightly eating directly from the garbage dumpster.. the gate was never locked and the dumpster had no lock... this is not family oriented.... stay away.,... its way too much money for a very poor part of town....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notacrackhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Guest,
You forgot to mention how we helped you out when you came in with no money and needed someone else to pay for your room. We took you in and gave you a discounted rate, and waited for someone to pay for your room. You said nothing but good things about us when you were here. Downtown Chico is an awsome and convenient location for our hotel. We do have ongoing Security to deal with anyone that is not supposed to be here, but to be honest you are over exageratling. That is not the kind of establishment that we are running. Management has very high standards. You did not stay 2 weeks. You stayed 3 weeks with us. I don't think you would have stayed 3 weeks if your stay was so miserable. We do thank you for your comments and for your business. We hope everything is going well with you new job. Best Regards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We rolled in pretty late on Tuesday, July 24. We tried to get a few different rooms at different hotels.... All of which told me to kick rocks. (I had a credit card stolen a week ago). The night manager went ABOVE AND BEYOND to get my buddy and I a room. After being treated like scum everywhere else, it was awesome to be treated like a human being again. Stellar.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan_blac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you, we have been receiving great comments on all of our staff. We value your business and hope you can visit us again very soon. Best Regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed over the weekend. The rates were reasonable and the room and location was ideal. Walking distance to all downtown venues and the college, nice small pool and a nice staff that will point you to the best Chico has to offer. Clean room and small continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidP407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 740 Broadway, Chico, CA 95928 (Formerly Chico Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Inn Chico is placed right in the middle of beautiful downtown Chico! We are walking distance from all the best restaurants and night life that Chico has to offer. We are also only a short distance away from certain attractions such as Sierra Nevada Brewery, One Mile Recreation Area, and only walking distance to California State University Chico, as well as Bidwell Mansion. While you're enjoying your stay with us in Chico, don't forget to visit Bidwell Park, the 3rd largest Municipal Park in the country! Bidwell Park features attractions such as swinning holes like Bear & Salmon Hole, and others such as the Diversion Dam. Chico is a great place for recreational travelers, and business travelers alike. When visiting don't forget to call America's Best Value Inn Chico, where it's our mission to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chico
Chico Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing