We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My room was very clean and it had a nice king bed. I like the free wirless and free breakfast and I must say, was very impressed with the parking lot. I have been to hotels that are very difficult when it comes to parking being so cramped. The pool was closed due to the season. Overall i had a very nice stay

Room Tip: The jacuzzy rooms are extra charge but worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIChico, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2017
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is of upmost importance to provide you with the best customer service and your nice comments reflect our actions, and we thank you for that. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feel free to stay with us again as it would be very appreciated.

Best Regards,
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    8
    6
    15
See reviews for
13
9
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnes
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Rooms were clean. The price was reasonable. Located in downtown Chico on Broadway Street. Stayed 5 nights. Lady at the desk was very friendly. Another day there was a man, and he was not friendly. You can walk from this motel to many stores,and restaraunts. The worst thing is the noise. Traffic noise was pretty bad, and Police sirens are heard often.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIChico, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2017
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We would also like to thank you for the nice comments you had. All of our employees should provide friendly customer service and the fact you did not recieve that is unacceptable. We will try our best to resolve that issue. As for the noise our nice downtown location suffers from the street noise and there is not much we can do there. If you decide to stay with us again we reccomend that you suggest a middle corner room to reduce the street noise. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Best Regards
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I used to stay here very often, when it was still a Day's Inn. At some point in 2012, this motel changed hands. The prices seem about the same, possibly a little lower. Older motel with decent level of cleanliness; very very convenient downtown location - walking distance to almost all restaurants and businesses. Walk to CSU campus too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gimmeshelter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIChico, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the nice comments you had for us and we will continue to provide the best customer service to keep your perspective of us on good terms. You are a valuable customer and we hope to provide you a room on your next visit to Chico California.

Best Regards,
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The thing for me to remember about Chico is that the university activities can cause an accommodation shortage. I waited until late make a hotel reservation and after many online attempts was relieved to find space at America's Best Value Inn. It was spartan, outdated and had one of those creepy flowered bedspreads in the smoking allowed room. I was more grateful for the accommodations than ready to pick on the place for the smell of tobacco. Even so, it was clean. We were on the back side of the hotel and it was noisy for much of the night ( probably worse on the front side) which seems to be on a popular route for loud vehicles.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ready2go14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your business and your feedback. Cleanliness is a top priority. Sorry that a smoking room is all we had left. Weekends are especially busy for us so reservations in advance is always the way to go. I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Chico.

--Best Regards--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

I visited Americas best value inn in chico, last weekend while visiting the college campus. I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff was awesome in helping me find places to eat and things to do in chico. The room was clean and I loved the whirlpool in my room. Don't understand why there is bad reviews for this motel because I had a great experience. Will go back again soon I'm sure.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jw1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Hi, we were delighted to host you, and hoped that you enjoyed your day at Chico State University, it is a great school. Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I found this property on the internet. I chose to book a room at this property as the photos of the room and pool appeared decent. I needed a room that would accomodate my four teenaged girls and two small dogs that was close to Chico State University (we were visiting the college). I should have checked this website first but did not as we decided to take this trip last minute. The place was a nightmare. The hotel room was old and dated, and it looked dirty and had a nasty, wierd smell. It appeared that the grout in the very small bathroom was originally white but was black on the date of our stay. My daughter decided to lay down on the carpet to do her homework, but quickly got up and said the carpet smelled like urine. There were crack heads hanging out outside one of the rooms. Outside another room, dirty construction men gawked at me and my teenaged girls and made dirty comments. A disgusting older man two rooms away from ours kept his window curtains about a foot open while he pranced around the room completely naked. It appeared the pool had not been cleaned in a while. I do not recommend this place and would not stay there again myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaylalily t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our maintenance staff shampoos the carpets regularly. We do appreciate you letting us know about something as important as cleanliness so that we can look into it if it hasn't been done. We do not allow any type of unrespectful and bizarre behavior by other guests. If anyone was being disrespectful to you or your family, had you told us we would have promply taken care of it. We did not hear from you during your stay at all, but we are sorry that you did not have the best experience. Unfortunately, it is impossible to control other peoples' actions all the time but any time we know of something going on, we take care of it right away.

--Best Regards--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chico hotels

Visalia, CA
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Acceptable option for a stay in downtown Chico. Was not our first choice - tried to get in at Htoel Diamond (did visit that property and will stay there next time with a little more advance notice). Listen - this is not a 3 or 4 star hotel...and probaly the 2 star designation is fair. It is old and tired - but was under $100/night and right downtown - a good option for Chico as that is where you want to be and to be able to walk (not drive!! - if you get my drift).

It was clean and amzaingly quiet...we expected much worse. If you stay here, don't expect luxury and you'll be fine...the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhmvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your comment, we value your thoughts...We strive to improve every day to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 740 Broadway St, Chico, CA 95928-5528 (Formerly Chico Days Inn)
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Inn Chico is placed right in the middle of beautiful downtown Chico! We are walking distance from all the best restaurants and night life that Chico has to offer. We are also only a short distance away from certain attractions such as Sierra Nevada Brewery, One Mile Recreation Area, and only walking distance to California State University Chico, as well as Bidwell Mansion. While you're enjoying your stay with us in Chico, don't forget to visit Bidwell Park, the 3rd largest Municipal Park in the country! Bidwell Park features attractions such as swinning holes like Bear & Salmon Hole, and others such as the Diversion Dam. Chico is a great place for recreational travelers, and business travelers alike. When visiting don't forget to call America's Best Value Inn Chico, where it's our mission to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chico
Chico Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing