We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Um...its cheap”
Review of Safari Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Safari Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Benicia, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Um...its cheap”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Only great thing about this place is that it is cheap.
Location: only great because its next to one of my favorite restaurants (Rice Bowl)
Service: came at night and just told em I was c/o so very minimal interactions
Room Condition: THERE WAS A 1 1/3 DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE THRESHOLD AND THE DOOR! HOW DOES THAT PASS INSPECTIONS?? MICE, SNAKES, SPIDERS COULD ALL EASILY COME INTO THE ROOM. The bed was rock hard, the pillows lumpy, the linens scratchy and the comforter had cigarette burns in it....do I really have to say more?

Room Tip: Don't stay here go spend the extra $50 at the Marriott or even the Best Western or anywhere wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    8
    11
    16
See reviews for
7
10
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orland, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Had great stay.....Mina was awesome at front desk all the help was accommodating and spot on.......Great service etc .will come back.......nice and clean ...very friendly, and quiet what we needed.......thank you

Room Tip: didnt use swimming pool or room service.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I stayed here one night about 2 weeks ago when my camping trip at Butte Recreation was rained out. I needed somewhere inexpensive and last minute. I saw the reviews, and so I didn't expect much- just a clean place to sleep for the night. I checked into the room and the smell of smoke was overwhelming. The phone did not work, the remote control was missing, I could not get a wifi signal and the prostitutes that were using the room across the parking lot would not stop yelling at each other. The room was DIRTY. Dirt on the walls, brown stuff around the toilet, carpets just gross.I contacted the guy at the front, and he came and put the phone back together so it would work and brought a new remote. While searching for the remote, I discovered living and entirely unafraid cockroaches in the drawers. When I checked out, I told them about the roaches and asked if there was a discount considering all of the issues. I was told I needed to talk to the owner and he was out. I told them nevermind, but they should deal with the roach issue. Never again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonomayum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chico hotels

Canyon Lake, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I moved my daughter up to Chico in August for school and spent 3 nights at this motel. I really just needed a place to sleep since we would be runing around during the day getting her moved in to her new place by the college. The price was amazing like $42 a night, and it was close to everything you need. You could walk to walgreens and fast food if you wanted to. It was also very close to freeway. It was definitely not fancy but I wasn't there to vacation. The place was clean enough the bathroom was clean (only a shower) and the TV and remote worked just fine. It was over 100 degrees each day and I had no problems wih the air, walked into a cold room every night. I love all the trees on the property and the very best part of this motel is that you can pull your car up right in front of your motel room. No long hallways os stairs to climb when your coming and going all day long.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cariute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The rooms are clean and the fee is minimal. However, the pool was a little scary looking and I was a little unhappy that I booked the room with 3 people but only got two towels even after requesting more. The office does not open until sometime after 9, making it very difficult to get service (towels, toilet would not flush properly). Inquired about checking out since they were closed when I would be leaving and was told to leave my key in room and leave. Little worried that I did not get close-out papers!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjones-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

These managers seem to not really care about the guests. They only care about themselves and their "large" property. I stayed here for a week and everyday for an hour in the morning they blow leaves, right by the room doors, waking you up. The pool was disgusting. They had 3 chairs by the pool, one of which was broken, and there was dirt, leaves and other debris floating in the pool. No employees smiled ever. I also saw a woman complain to the owner that her car was broken into, and she didn't seem slightly concerned. When I complained about the leaf blower in the morning, she was not concerned just said there was nothing they could do, and walked away. Extremely inconsiderate. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, UNLESS YOU PLAN ON ONLY STAYING ONE NIGHT.

Room Tip: Go camping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I love to stay at cheap hotels--occasionally you find a gem. The Safari Inn, unfortunately, is not. I couldn't find the place on Mapquest, which is my fault, so I called the front desk. I told the proprietor that I had a reservation on line, and asked him for directions since I had just arrived in town. He barked back, "Name!?" I repeated my request for directions, which he then provided.

Arriving at the motel, I told the proprietor I had a reservation, and showed him the booking from the internet. Again he growled, "Name!?" "It's on the booking," I retorted. He proceeded to take my registration and credit card information, and gave me the room card. I had to ask him what the room number was. Pretty rude, but I understand that life is hard and then you die.

The room was adequate, but no wifi, or ethernet. There was a television, but no cable hook up. Guess it's just for show. What I loved was the mattress, the pillow, and being asleep. If the guests need anything but this, I would really recommend a friendlier place.

Room Tip: Drive farther down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandabear202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
553 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.3 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
0.7 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
2.0 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Property: Safari Inn
Address: 2352 Esplanade, Chico, CA 95926-1902
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Safari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing