We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrible!”
Review of Town House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town House Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I booked a room for 4 days. On my second day I left in the morning and did not return to my room until late evening (around 10:00pm). To my surprise everything in my room was gone! The manager thought I wasn't coming back (for some idiotic reason) an he said they are busy and needed to rent the room to someone who walked in. All my things were set by the pool and only about 20% of my things were still there. On top of that i did not get my money back. I asked for a 100% refund and he told me that He couldn't give me a penny back. His wife then came out and told me that they didn't keep enough money in the drawer to give me a refund. Im in the process of pressing charges and am still very upset about my stay. I would not recommend this motel to ANYONE!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Dalthurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2009

I went to this motel because it was the only one we could get last minute and with good rates. I read the reviews and told my daughter she better bring her sleeping bag. When I arrived I was very relieved! This property has been renovated. Its not the Hilton but its great for a budget motel. I few months back we stayed at the Days Inn in Chico and this motel is by far much better. If you are just planing n sleeping in this motel is fine. The only thing I didnt like were the pilow. If you like fluffy bring your own.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

The good: Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. There are heavy drapes on the windows. New tile in the bathroom. New Formica on the sinks. Very good quality air conditioner. Very inexpensive.
The bad: Misleading advertising.
1. The listing for this motel states "comp internet access". Only a part truth. About 1/4 of the rooms have internet access in their room. Guests in the other rooms must join the mosquitoes outside in order to get internet access.
2. "continental breakfast snack". No way!
3. "hair dryer". I tried for three days to get a working hair dryer to no avail.
In conclusion: Don't expect much. And don't believe their advertising. I really need internet access when traveling. And I was really bummed when I couldn't get it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

We booked two rooms months in advance. Due to the sleeping situation we needed both rooms to have 2 double beds which were confimed in the reservation. When we went to check in, one of our rooms with double beds became a room with a single king bed. They claimed they couldn't offer us the two rooms we booked in advanced because they had walk-in customers and they had to serve them first. On top of not giving us the rooms we reserved they had confirmed over the phone at the time of booking that kids stayed free... but when we went to check in, each kid suddenly cost the same as an additional adult.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
5  Thank gtbayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2005

To start with, the rooms are dank and dirty. Secondly, an employee of the hotel STOLE things from my room! Right after we had checked out, I realized I'd left in the room a bag containing some clothes I'd just purchased. When I went back up to the room, my new clothes were gone! I thought maybe housekeeping had found them and put them in lost and found, but they claimed they never saw a bag and I must not have left it there. I complained to the manager, and she was downright hostile about it, making me think SHE was probably the one who got my clothes!

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RenoJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
glide, oregon
15
Reviewed 26 August 2004

This is a terrible place to stay. The people are not freindly, the rooms ARE NOT CLEAN, and they gave me a smoking room when I specifically asked for non-smoking. The pool was dirty, and there were fire ants all around it. They did not seem to care at all when I expressed any dissatisfaction. I will never stay there again. Motel 6 is a much cleaner, cheaper and pleasant, and you know exactly what to expect.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, CA
17
Reviewed 14 August 2004

BAD! BAD! BAD!
My daughter's car had broken down on her way up to Chico with all her belonging to move into her new apartment. My husband and I made last minute reservations at the Town House Motel in Chico at 9:30 PM because we thought we would have to drive her up. I told the motel clerk that we would be arriving late around 1 AM. We met up with my daughter and were able to get the car restarted. We immediately called the Town House Motel shortly after 11PM to cancel our reservations. No one picked up the phone and I left a phone message with my phone number. No one called back. We tried periodically to call on our drive home, but continually no one picked up the phone. I called the motel the next morning and was told we were charged for the room and no one works at the desk after 11 PM. He said that he could have rented the room for $30 more that night because they were busy (during that 1 1/2 hour period!). I told the clerk how was I to check in at 1 AM if no one is working at the desk. He hung up on me!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
2.0 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
1.8 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Motel

Address: 2231 Esplanade, Chico, CA 95926-2203
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range: £54 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Motel located in Chico Ca. has newly remodeled rooms with full amenities. We are proud to offer our guest clean and comfortable lodging at very affordable rates. We have wireless internet, in room coffee, hair dryers, microwave, refrigerator, direct dial phones. We have a seasonal large outdoor swimming pool for our guests. Pets are welcome in designated rooms. Smoking and Non Smoking rooms available. We now have ONLINE RESERVATIONS for the convienence of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Town House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel Chico
Town Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing