We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want the Marriott....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Inn - Chico

American Inn - Chico
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
American Inn - Chico
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you want the Marriott....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

So if you want a marriott experience this is not it but if you want a place to sleep that is quiet this does just fine. Close to lots if stuff . Save mart round the corner. Gas across the street. Adequate parking. Beds were sufficient . Has a fridge,tv, microwave. Street is close but bring ear plugs and you'll sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chad l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    2
    3
    10
See reviews for
5
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

"What a dump!" True, the rooms have been this prettied up with new paint and bedding, but that's about it. It still has a well-worn look and feel. Some "non-smoking" rooms (such as mine) still offer that Marlboro man moment. And don't get me started on the bathroom: broken tiles, with a gaps to who-knows-where and a shower so dark you could develop film in it. My highest praise is that it's probably worth what I paid for it. But, never again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pablomundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chico hotels

Oroville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was actually a very clean and nice motel. I was supprised to find the managers very friendly and sociable after reading the last review. I was here years ago, and the first time being back since the new management has begun, it has changed alot! The floors were clean, the bathroom was nice, becides the size restrictions of the room I enjoyed it! The last review scared me a bit, but since price i came here, and I would deffinatly recomend this motel to anybody with a budget, and needs a nice place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is the worst managed hotel in Chico! Doreen at the front desk and Andy..the manager were both unprofessional and rude! The manager dodged phone calls. They refused to give names when I told them we were complaining about the service. They should be fired and this place should be closed by the looks of it. Run down and dilapidated!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIANE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

There hasn't been much updating in this motel for a long time. The floors are uneven and cracked, the counters are broken and our non smoking room reeked of smoke. The furniture is old and dilapidated.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

I wasn't expecting much due to the price but was amazed just how little we got. In the shower there were exposed rusted pipes overhead. The tv was functional but we were only able to get a few channels. We stayed there for 3 nights and never received any maid service. The first day we were told she was late, the 2nd day we were told that we only receive maid service every other day and after that we didn't even ask since we were going to be leaving. The staff is friendly but very very lazy and didn't follow through with any request. The hotel is in a good location but wouldn't stay again due to lack of service and run down room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue76032847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

The non smoking room smelled of smoke. The air conditioner did not work. The rooms are relatively clean but overall dingy in appearance and a bit beat up with roughly patched holes in the walls and a tiny bathroom. I would not recommend this hotel unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
3.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#9 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn - Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn - Chico

Property: American Inn - Chico
Address: 2573 Esplanade, Chico, CA 95973-1162
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn - Chico 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Inn is newly remodeled, new owners and new management. We pamper you with all the comforts of home, with friendly and caring staff. We provide you with comfortable rooms, free wifi, Showtime, Spanish channels, cable channels, direct dial phones with free local calls, microwave, refrigerator, wake up service, and fax service in office. We welcome you to stop by and see our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your American Inn - Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing