We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Diamond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Traveling through Chico we decided to stop and have dinner. We ended up staying at the Hotel because it was to nice to pass up. I will now stop in Chico every time I am traveling through for work. The Hotel is so nice and the beds are so comfortable! I could not believe the price for such an upscale property.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2009

I recently stayed at Hotel Diamond while visiting my cousin who attends Chico State University. I was impressed with the genuine nature of the employees who worked there. Once the Front Desk knew my name, I never passed through the lobby without being a warm welcome or friendly greeting in which the staff addressed me by my name.

The continental breakfast in Johnny's Restaurant is a full spread in the morning with made to order omelets. The chef is a colorful character who knows a lot about the town and the history of the hotel.

The hotel is charming... wonderful amenities, great staff, and I've never slept so well. Definitely a must stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We took our son to tour Chico State and the Hotel is very close to campus and provided free parking. We were able to walk around downtown and get a feel for the city. The best part of our stay was the breakfast at Johnnies, wireless internet, and passes to the gym. The upgraded rooms are worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSUFAN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

I had stayed at the Hotel Diamond two or three times before this trip with no problem.
On this occasion, I stayed in a suite with my same-sex spouse.
Because I would be working until after the check-out time, I arranged a late check out with the manager weeks before our stay.
On check-in, we were given only one key card to the room (although we were both standing right there) and had to go back later to get a second key. (Neither of the two front desk staff had asked if we needed more than one key when they initially handed me the envelope with the key in it.)
I was surprised to find the room dirty -- the champagne glasses had lipstick smudges on them, there was a half-empty packet of cigarettes on the fireplace mantel, and the magazines on the table had water stains on them.
When we ate in Johnny's (the bar portion, not the restaurant), we had a great deal of trouble getting served by the bartender and the waitress. (It was a weeknight, and not terribly busy.) When we did finish our meal, it took approximately 20 minutes for the waitress to bring our check. When she brought it, it took another long amount of time for her to return for the credit card. When she did finally retrieve the card, she walked away with it and set it on the bar. We had to go get it and have the bartender run it for us.
While I was working the next day and therefore unreachable, my spouse was locked out of our room at noon and had a terrible time convincing the front desk staff that we had arranged a late check out.
I would not recommend this hotel to any of my gay friends or colleagues.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank GayLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Arrived after 7 pm for business meetings at the nearby CSU Chico campus. Had two associates in tow. Staff was professional, polite and attentive to our needs. Both packages that we had shipped in advance were in the correct rooms when we arrived.

This is my second stay. Staff gives a damn! They really care and go out of their way to serve you and never seem pissed off at reasonable requests. What a concept!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hunaryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. It is our job to provide the best service to you as our guest. I apologize we were unable to exceed your expectations. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I liked everything about this hotel. The check-in process was quick and easy. The room, which was a king room, was very nice and clean. You would never guess that the hotel was as old as it is. It was also nice after a long day to just go downstairs for a nice meal and a drink. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank suQwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your time to review our hotel. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Very nice historical hotel that has been essentially reconstructed into a new hotel. Nice amenities with some of the original fixtures and furniture in the lobby. The staff was excellent. The bed was not the best we had on this trip, however. The room was spotless. A small refrigerator in the room was a welcomed perk. The hotel is near the main square and within walking distance to the downtown shops and theatre as well as the college.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank polson8568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
582 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Address: 220 W 4th St, Chico, CA 95928-5315
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range: £118 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diamond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing