We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
california
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, great location”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Since my first review a few years ago when the refurbished Thunderbird motel became a Quality Inn, I have stayed here several times. My last stay was about a year ago, and I will be returning again next October, (I have my reservation booked already!) The grounds, pool, and rooms are very clean, the desk and housekeeping staff are friendly, and they do their best to accommodate guests that request room location preferences. I am looking forward to my next stay, and have recommended this hotel to friends. Second floor rooms facing north (from room 212 towards the back of the hotel), tend to be a bit quieter than those nearer towards the front, mainly due to traffic noise on Main Street especially on weekends.

Room Tip: Request a room facing north on the second floor, a little further away from main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firedog13814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    83
    31
    12
    10
See reviews for
78
53
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Now that our daughter is attending Chico State, we've stayed at the Quality Inn a few times. It's our hotel of choice - close to campus, walk to downtown and next door to my favorite antique shop. It's clean, comfortable, and serves breakfast. The staff is always accommodating and eager to make our stay pleasant. We will come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniceBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

No need to spend a fortune to have good, clean accomodations in Chico, especially when this hotel is so convenient. The hotel was comfortable for us in all ways and would stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estrella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housatonic, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

An older motel that's been renovated and brought into the 21st century. Conveniently located near the local food co-op (for those who might be so inclined). Got a great price via Priceline. Better quality overall than the comparably priced Best Western, which I've stayed in before. It's on a busy main drag, but unlike others, I didn't have any problems with noise (but, then, earplugs are a must when on the road). Decent light breakfast. No elevator, so second floor could be difficult if you've got heavy luggage.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chico108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This motel has been recently renovated. Our room was large and clean, with a flat-screen television. It's just a few blocks from Chico's lovely downtown, which has lots of restaurants, shops and art galleries. There's a restaurant called Paradise Cafe adjacent to the motel, which has tasty and very substantial breakfasts at good prices. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager715, General Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time out off your busy schedule and reviewing us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your experience with our staff.
We will be seeing you soon upon your next visit.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, Calif.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Here are the pros:
I got a very nice price through Priceline. The room was clean and looked like it was recently upgraded. Bed and linens were very comfortable. It's within walking distance to Chico State.

Cons:
Noise. There was a lot of noise from Main Street and the parking lot that serves both the hotel and the coffee shop next door. The other noise issue involves the TVs. They wall-mounted the flat screen TV's back-to-back with the room next door. The problem is the audio from your neighbor's TV travels right through the wall through the mounting drill holes and the raised electrical outlets on each side. I kept having to turn up my TV to hear it over the neighboring room (and I'm sure they were doing the same). They didn't stop watching TV until after 1am, so I was screwed. I could hear every word loud and clear.

The free breakfast includes coffee, OJ, make-your-own waffles, cereals, toast and rubbery hard boiled eggs. The breakfast room is very small (5 or 6 tables) and all the food items and coffee are located in one tight corner. That means if just one person is ahead of you, you can expect a wait (e.g., only one person can reach the coffee at a time, and that person also blocks someone from using the waffle-maker, etc). It would be much better if they would spread out the food and drinks to break up the lines, and also please fix the toaster (one side is broken, so you have to wait several minutes if one or two people are ahead of you).

Would I stay here again? Maybe for a night if I get a good rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the street. I suspect I was given a room close to the street because I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaSerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager715, General Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you kindly for your honest review. We are glad you found best value while you were in the town and recognised it during your stay.
We do not our guets by how they reserved the room. All guests has same value and all our rooms got same ammenities. However if you requested any specific room or location in advance, we do our best to fulfill it.
Your comments regarding our breakfast room will be considered.

thank you again for reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Hotel would not honor our AAA membership as promised. We were told they reserve the right to take away any discount at any time without reason??? Are you kidding me! Breakfast was mediocre at best. We will never stay here again and have to guess what rate we will be charged when we check in!

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyfromreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager715, Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Familyfromreno,
we are very sorry for your recent experience. We do offer AAA discount year a round. however there are blackout dates few days of the year.
we are sorry for the inconvenience, but I am sure if future we will make sure you will get right information from our staff.

thank you kindly for your honest review and bring this into our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
995 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#3 of 17 in Chico
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn, Near Chico State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn, Near Chico State

Property: Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Address: 715 Main St, Chico, CA 95928-5617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chico
#3 Family Hotel in Chico
#5 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn, Near Chico State 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn near Chico State near the California State University Chico campus. The Quality Inn® near Chico State is less than a mile away from the Bidwell Mansion State Historic Park outdoor recreation area and museum. This unique venue features a Victorian-era house with 26 rooms, a gift shop, a theater and more. Guided tours of this facility are held weekly. This California hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chico. If business brings you to town, the convention center and California State University, Chico campus are within walking distance. The Silver Dollar Speedway is within five miles. The city of Chico has recognized as bicycle friendly town, so hit the town for pleasure and explore the downtown area, Bidwell Park and much more. Additional points of interest close to this Chico, CA hotel include: Butte County Fairgrounds Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. Chico Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn, Near Chico State reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn, Near Chico State Hotel Chico
Chico Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing