We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fleas!”
Review of Motel 6 Chico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Chico
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fleas!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Whenever I stay at a motel, the first thing I do, even before bringing in my luggage, is check the place for bedbugs. I've never found any, but on this particular visit I found plenty of fleas. I walked in, checked the bedding, sat down and immediately had three fleas on my arm. Looked down at my white tennis shoes, two fleas there. I hightailed it out of there fast.
The clerk at the front desk was extremely apologetic and quickly moved me to another room. A thorough check of the new room revealed no insects whatsoever, but that didn't stop me from jumping if I felt the slightest itch on my body.
Both rooms had a slight musty smell to them. And the sink drained very slowly. Carpeting needs to be cleaned (my socks were dirty after walking across the room several times).
I liked that it is right next door to a Denny's. I also liked the front desk clerk. But next time I'll pay a few extra dollars and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloriaKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    15
    5
    17
See reviews for
12
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Irwin, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

After checking in we went to our room, the moment we walked in I nearly gagged! They knew the room stank because the window was open. I immediatly went to the front desk and the nice guy working there got me another room. That room had blood on the blanket, filthy carpet, it stank, and had tons of hair in the shower. I went to the front desk again and checked out. The guy refunded my money with no push back and I felt sorry for him!! He should apply at the nice Holiday Inn that I ended up staying at that night next door!

Room Tip: Do not stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoyceW726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chico hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Anytime you have to flush down a cockroach in the middle of the night after finding him crawling around in the bathroom, you can pretty much guarantee that you won’t be putting the accommodations on your recommended stay list. Combine that with a room that reeked of marijuana, a bed that was as hard as a piece of plywood, and sheets that had semen and blood stains, along with cigarette burns. If this doesn’t deter you, then here’s a helpful hint: Make sure you have either the air conditioner or heater on max or else the freeway traffic will surely keep you up at night. But hey, there’s free coffee, right?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KennyLindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed here labor day weekend with a few friends to check out the party scene in Chico. Got a smoking room with 2 full beds, AC worked magic! beds were comfy really no complaints except the room smelt like cigarette smoke. We didnt get the room to smoke cigarettes in, if you know what I mean. Our room was right across from the pool, didnt hear any noise except for the people above use which sounded like they were moving furniture all night! Staff is super friendly!

Room Tip: I had room 108 which was by the pool and front office!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 744ashleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONCORD
Level Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel was the smallest room I have ever seen. They crammed 2 beds one of which was pushed all the way against the air conditioner, the other against the wall. Even this left just barely enough room to fit between them. The bathroom was small too and everything was dirty. They did not even provide shampoo, conditioner or lotion. Pay the extra money and stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidAdroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I'm here on a business trip. Our crew faxes our timesheets every week. Here they want two dollars for the first page and one dollar every page after! No continental breakfast, the coffee is weak, there's been a piece of toilet paper in the same spot on the bathroom floor in the week I've been here! The staff is very unfriendly! I do not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellywarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I paid 80.99 for a one night stay, because that's all I could handle. Now everything worked, the TV with the buttons broken and pushed in, the remote with pretty much all the lettering rub off, the lights with the bent lamp shades, the noisy air conditioner and the sink which put out 9 individual streams of water in mostly different directions. Then there was the bed, cigarette holes in the bed spread, cigarette holes in the blankets all to cover you up on a nice lumpy mattress. Then woke up in the middle of the night to find cockroaches covering the bathroom floor, leading just slightly into the room area. The shower was about the only thing that was ok. Everything else was just awful. If I had paid 35 dollars for a night, I wouldn't have complained, but at almost 90 dollars after taxes I would have expected something better and more clean. I will say the staff was courteous, when they were paying attention and not out back smoking. When I tried to complain, it was immediately dismissed and they just sent me packing. One of the worse stays, if not the worse at a motel in 50 years.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank racingaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#4 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Chico

Property: Motel 6 Chico
Address: 665 Manzanita Ct, Chico, CA 95926-2359
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Chico 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Chico, CA is located off US Route 99 at Cohasset and Mangrove. We are within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Enjoy our outdoor pool. Relax with Wi-Fi in all modern rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Chico
Chico Motel Six
Chico Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing