We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Suites Chico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oxford Suites Chico
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have been "living" at the hotel for about 8 months now. I do go home on Friday night and return on Sunday evenings. Everyone at the hotel from the time I made my reservations to now have been wonderful. Anything I need someone is more than happy to help. I feel like I am part of the "family". For a woman who is working in a new town I feel welcome and safe here. The beds are really comfortable and the rooms are clean and pretty quiet. The entire staff are friendly and professional. I will miss my Oxford Suites friends when I leave next week. I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel for anyone planning a stay in Chico.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool if you go to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    255
    93
    26
    15
See reviews for
472
140
46
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is right off Hwy 99 in Chico, CA. Staff was very friendly. Executive suites offer a sitting area with sliding doors that separate it from the sleeping area. I was able to rise early and do yoga while my husband slept in. The sitting area also has a TV, refrigerator, microwave oven and desk. Free WiFi, which was slow at times but useful. In room coffee was surprisingly good. The complimentary breakfast was basic buffet fare with a hot dish option; decent and free. Several chain restaurants within walking distance for other dining options (Applebee's & Olive Garden right across the street). None of the downtown Chico charm in this area, but close enough to drive to. Room prices were very reasonable. Outdoor pool & Jacuzzi available. Parking fills up if you arrive late, but we always found a space.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side are quieter, less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_wanderer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I spent two nights at the Oxford Suites in Chico. The pros were that the room was clean, the small sitting area was a bonus, and the service at the hotel was excellent. A mini refrigerator as well as a microwave in the room were nice features although I did not use them. A hot breakfast included in the room rate was about average quality as free breakfasts go. The cons were that room decor was worn (especially the old carpet), the bathtub shower was a thin material that creaked when you stepped on it, and the soundproofing was not the best as I could hear noise from the upstairs guests at night. A newer and better quality mattress was needed as it was a bit uncomfortable to sleep on.

For its reasonable price, this hotel was fine, though not a luxury hotel by any means. I gave this hotel four stars considering its price and location as the physical hotel rates three stars but the service deserves five stars.

Room Tip: I would recommend a top floor room as it would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiebaker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
319 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We traveled to Chico to visit our college son. We booked a king suite at Oxford Suites so we could have some extra room for our son to hang out if he chose to do so. Check in was 3pm. We arrived around 2 so chilled in the lobby for an hour while we waited for a room. When we were checked in, we got a first floor room just down from the main desk.
The room was fully accessible with a huge roll in shower. The room didn't look at all like the room I booked. We had wanted the bathroom sinks inside the bathroom so one of us waking early didn't disturb the other. Instead, because of the huge shower, the sink was outside of the bathroom directly across from the bed. My son said the bed wasn't a king but I didn't measure it and wasn't sure. We were missing the couch we had hoped my son could use. So when he crashed, it was across our bed. Most importantly, we felt we had taken an accessible room from someone who needed it. We told the desk but they said it was the only room they had available.
The accessible room did not have a closet. There was a clothes hanging area directly next to the vanity.
The hotel has a shop off the main desk. I wanted a soft drink from the cooler. I got a little grossed out by the dirty condition of the cooler. Not grossed out enough to deny myself caffeine but I did go back to the room and thoroughly wash the soda can.
Our room also had some cleanliness issues. The vents were nasty and the shower and toilet weren't totally clean.
The hotel room was quiet except for the air conditioner fan. When it was turned off, the room was peaceful for resting.
The dining area is a huge asset for hotel guests. In the morning, there is a full hot breakfast with eggs, meat, breads and fruits. In the evening, light snacks are served with beverages. On the night we were there, snacks were chips and an American iceberg salad with lots of toppings. There was also a buffalo chicken soup. The room is large and has several TVs. We saw a world series game and the Oregon football game. The room does get noisy. You can take your food to the pool deck to escape the clamor.
All in all, this is a nice place. I just wish we had gotten the room we had reserved. Everyone here was friendly. The staff members in the dining room bus the tables and are very hard working.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you booked before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Chico, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your thoughtfulness regarding the use of an accessible room. If someone had been in specific need of the room that night, they would have been assigned the room, so all is well. We apologize for the inconvenience and the bathroom issue you sited. We can confirm that our King beds are the standard king size bed. We hope you'll consider a future stay with us, and again we are truly sorry that your stay didn't quite go as planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel was FABULOUS!! Not only was the food really good, the pool relaxing, and the rooms clean and comfortable, the service was exceptional. Traveling with a disabled sister was made so much more accommodating and less stressful by the staff who went WAY above and beyond to help us. Besides their always friendly demeanor, they made numerous changes to help make our stay both pleasant and comfortable. Besides all the physical amenities one wants when staying away from home, the staff was the true shining gem here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecbe-oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel was a bit older and you can see wear in some places, but it was well kept overall. It is definitely not a 5 or 4 diamond hotel, but there was nothing wrong with it. The price was in line with what I would expect for a 3 diamond hotel.

Pro's - Room was clean and spacious for a single business traveler. The hotel had complementary breakfast and evening reception with beer/wine. The hotel was is across the street from several chain restaurants.

Con's' - My business was with the University; there are hotels in better proximity.

I would stay at this hotel agaiin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewLee_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our experience was much different than most others. Although the food and service were great, the King suite was an extremely narrow room with just a couch--I guess to "qualify" it as a suite. Smallest suite we've ever seen. The cheesy wall heater/ac was so noisy we couldn't leave it on. Hence, no ventilation in room.
Card room key not easy to learn--front desk people could demo how to use it and save you time. With 4 pillows on bed, why can't 2 be flatter than the too puffy ones? (Bring your own pillow, if you don't like puffy)
Guess there are a lack of good hotels in Chico---price seemed too high. Also, food at Applebee's across street was lukewarm and unappealing. Wouldn't go back to either the hotel or restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Chico, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns. We are truly sorry you were not pleased with your stay. We do have other pillows available should guests prefer a different option. Our Hospitality Specialists are eager to help in these situations and we encourage our guests to let our team know if they are unsatisfied in any way. We will do our best to accommodate requests. Thank you again for your comments, and for choosing the Oxford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#9 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Chico

Property: Oxford Suites Chico
Address: 2035 Business Lane, Chico, CA 95928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chico
#1 Family Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Chico 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Centrally located near Chico State University, the Oxford Suites Chico is located just minutes away from the Sierra Nevada Brewery, Bidwell Mansion, the 3,400 acre Bidwell Park, restaurants, shopping and more. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Outdoor Pool, Spa, Sauna & Steam Room and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oxford Suites Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Chico Hotel Chico
Oxford Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing