We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy the Free Breakfast, Relax in the Pool, Steam/Sauna and Have a Free Drink during Happy Hour!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Suites Chico
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Free Breakfast, Relax in the Pool, Steam/Sauna and Have a Free Drink during Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed one night with a family of 4. Room was nice, clean and quiet, however contrary to the hotel name indicating "suites" the room is not a suite rather a room with sleeper/couch. Free wifi is included. HVAC is loud so turn on before you go to bed.

Hotel is off main highway and parking is free. Very easy walking distance to Costco, Chico mall and a variety of chain restaurants. In addition, Chico State is just one exit away up the highway and only a couple miles away.

Sierra Brewery is also just across the highway and within walking distance if excessive beer drinking is in your plans, however I understand the hotel provides shuttle service to the brewery if you arrange in advance.

One thing that stood out was the management and staff that work there are very friendly, and go out of their way to assist you. Management was willing to negotiate the price of the room and give several options.

Another standout was their free breakfast and happy hour.

Breakfast was offered 5:30am to 10am? and included scrambled eggs, ham, potatoes, toast, fruit salad, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, juices and milk. Much better than the standard free continental breakfast offerings at other hotels. This was a great way to start the day.

Happy hour was offered everyday from 5:30pm to 9pm? and included free salad, free soup the day, free drink (wine, beer, soda or juice) and chips. This was a great way to have a drink before or after dinner and made the hotel bar/dining room appear more lively as there were always people in this area during happy hour.

The pool was nice and hot tub nice and hot, however the jets were out of order during the time of our stay. Small clean towels were available poolside.

The fitness room had the typical exercise equipment, overhead television, nice little steam room and sauna, however the sauna was out of order during the time of our stay. Small clean towels were available however no shower facilities.

Overall, a nice place to stay in Chico. Management was also willing to discount the price of the room since we could not use the sauna.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donavan94563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    257
    93
    26
    15
See reviews for
474
143
46
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Ok, so I stayed there June of 2013. My experience was such: Front desk and Dining Staff were helpful and pleasant. My room however was appalling. The smoke detector was covered in dust, the soap bottle was covered in old foam -gross!, the alarm clock didn't work and the night stand was chipped. Onto the pool: children were eating in the pool and using the patio furniture as floating toys. The lift ( elevator ) is rather ancient, not very well lit and kinda creepy but otherwise the paperwork posted inside was up-to-date.The included breakfast was a full menu served buffet style, dry and warm cereals, hot egg dishes, fresh fruits and juice, not 5 star dining of course but much better than McDonalds and below the level of the IHOP just a stones throw away from hotel.

Speaking of which... and this may be important to some, the hotel sits on a rounded corner of a semi-main street. The street behind the hotel is a main street which leads to a very busy and well-traveled ( at all hours of the night ) where the main road has busy gas station on corner. In front of the hotel is a IHOP restaurant, I believe 2 fast food places and heaven forbid, a huge Walmart. Ugh. The noise of cars drove me insane. I suggest you request a room facing west for the least amount of noise. Do not get a room facing the front of the hotel. I requested another room and was immediately apologized to and aptly given another room which was clean. An oversight by housekeeping staff? Probably yes, however, it really made me not want to stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Chico, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your comments. We like to hear feedback, whether positive or in need of improvement, so that we can better serve all our guests. Your stay was in June, making it difficult for us to track the specifics. However we do offer our sincerest apologies, and will share your concerns with our team. If you happen to visit the west coast again, we do hope you'll consider another stay with us. Thanks again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

First off I would like to say the staff that work there are very knowledgeable, friendly, and go out of their way to assist you, I would like to especially thank Ally and Sal who helped us decide whether or not this is a good place for our daughter to go to college, they were both full of information and had nothing but good things to say about the Chico State (Ally attends there). The Breakfast was great and the rooms were clean and well kept and the beds are comfortable. The Oxford is also within close walking distance to the mall and several restaurants, Olive garden, Applebee's and In and Out are right across the street. We also toured the Sierra Nevada brewery which is also in walking distance, but the hotel will drop you off and pick you up if you prefer. I will definitely stay here when I come to visit my daughter when she is in college, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joehambee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here twice now, and both times we felt welcome; both times our room was clean & comfy and quiet... Something we look for in a hotel. Not that breakfast is a big deal for us, but they do serve a good one. And in the evening on arrival there is a free bowl of soup, a salad and a couple glasses complimentary wine. Now that is a hard combination to beat. Oh, and the staff are all courteous. We feel comfortable in recommending it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harrietbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have stayed here for about 3 months. I have enjoyed my stay very much! This was the only hotel in the area that would allow me to stay with my cat. Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and personable. The hot breakfast is wonderful. They always have eggs and some other form of protein which helps start the morning right. (They also have a variety of fruits and other normal breakfast items.) The evening reception is second to none. I travel with my work and have stayed in several different places around the US. The only other hotel chain that I have found to be similar is the Drury Hotel chain. If you like that chain, you'll love this hotel. The hot tub, heated swimming pool, sauna, and steam room are wonderful, too. Being directly across the street from Walmart, Olive Garden, Applebee's, and several other restaurants are very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Oxford suites offer spacious rooms and a great breakfast that is kid friendly. It is off the freeway but very quiet. You can walk to Ihop, Applebee's,, KRISPY KREME, or other restaurants. There is a mall and wal Matt close by. Outdoor pool and hot tub. Weight room with two treadmills and a variet of weight machines. There is an evening reception which was a casual vibe and very well attended.

Room Tip: Higher floor for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverStar-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and son stayed at Oxford Suites in Chico to visit the A Main Hobbies RC track. We had some issues with the room that was booked. After going up to the room and realizing it was the wrong size room, we went down to the front desk. Sal and CJ were very understanding of the issue and upgraded our room. Both were so extremely nice and accomodating. We had a wonderful stay and will be back soon!
Also the breakfast is super yummy!

Room Tip: Call the Hotel directly for discounts if visiting the A Main Hobbies RC Track!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
1.9 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Chico

Property: Oxford Suites Chico
Address: 2035 Business Ln, Chico, CA 95928-7628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chico
#1 Family Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Chico 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Centrally located near Chico State University, the Oxford Suites Chico is located just minutes away from the Sierra Nevada Brewery, Bidwell Mansion, the 3,400 acre Bidwell Park, restaurants, shopping and more. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Outdoor Pool, Spa, Sauna & Steam Room and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Suites Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Chico Hotel Chico
Oxford Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing