We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With a Few Exceptions a Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oxford Suites Chico
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“With a Few Exceptions a Good Place to Stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Oxford Suites and all in all it was a very good experience. The Good. The Executive King Suite bed was very comfortable. The wifi worked great. The room was clean. We were on the top floor so we did not have any sound from above and our neighbors were quiet. The climate control kept us comfortable plus we could open the windows. The place is very conveniently located. All the staff we interfaced with were polite, cheerful and helpful. They provide a free breakfast. You can make toast pick, up some fresh fruit, along with cold cereal yogurt and really have a nice selection. In the evening you can get 2 free drinks (wine, beer, soft drinks) with appetizers, soup and salad.. They have Sierra Nevada Ale on Tap and the Fresh Salsa was nicely done as was the salad. The coffee is pretty good too including those little packets they put in your room so you can get going in the a.m. For what they offer it's a good value.
The Bad and the Ugly: Our room looked the worse for wear with counters that were cracked and filled. The bathroom where the toilet and tub/shower reside was very small and the tub down right dangerous. No tub mat. The shower had 0 pressure. Skip the wine. It's terrible. The breakfast has rubber eggs and sausage. Skip that too unless you are into that kind of food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mylanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    258
    93
    27
    15
See reviews for
475
144
46
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We scheduled a brief visit with our son in Chico, and based on Tripadvisor ratings, we chose this hotel. The staff were gracious throughout, but the venue was a bit noisy and utilitarian. Room was nice, bed was fine, happy to check out.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the upper floor rooms, away from the gym and/or elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice stay in Chico. Convenient location. Walking distance to many restaurants, and mall which is great. Buffet breakfast was just ok, not a big selection of hot items, just chorizo & eggs, and potatoes. Room was nice, comfortable bed, with really small pillows. If in Chico again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

While in our room with the door shut, we could hear the desk clerks and others talking in the lobby! The hotel is poorly designed. Our rooms (we had two) faced the open lobby and were above the kitchen and breakfast dining area. That makes for a very loud and early morning! The rooms were large, but long and narrow with one small window so light was minimal. There is one guest elevator for the entire hotel. It was so slow and heavily used that I found the stairs at the end of the hallway a faster way to get to and from my room. The loud ice machines are directly IN the hallway, not in an alcove or behind a door, so they can be heard at quite a distance. At check out, the woman in front of me was complaining about how loud her room was, and the desk clerk apologized. I also told him how loud our rooms had been, and that I never would have stayed a second night. He apologized to me also. I have the impression that they are good at apologizing for noisy rooms.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the second floor rooms near the open lobby. Do not stay near the ice machines. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Chico, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We offer our sincerest apology that you were unhappy with your stay, and that you found the hotel to be noisy. We'll share your feedback with our team members, and look for opportunities to improve the situation. Just for clarification purposes, we do have two elevators at the hotel for our guests use. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

3rd time we have stayed here. Great staff, great happy hour with free beer, wine and snacks. Tonight there was a salad bar, with soup and chips.
The rooms are nice, comfortable and clean.
This is a great place to stay, it's our favorite, we are in Chico often and have stayed in many other hotels. We would stay here every time but they are booked most of the time. So call in advance.
This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to-restaurants and shopping.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KJQJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
553 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It is one of the few larger hotel in Chico, and that is probably why school sports teams stay there. Our 1 bedroom suite was roomy and comfortable, but the noise from the hallway really bothered me. Prices are fair and they include a breakfast buffet. Again, breakfast would have been more enjoyable without 60 + rambunctious high school kids. Hotel is probably great during the week, but ask if they are hosting any large high school groups when you book.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suhr, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Oxford suites is really the best choice to stay in Chico. We stayed now for another week, and it is perfect.
Familiar atmosphere, within 10 minutes walking distance to restaurants, Wal-Mart and Chico Mall.
We stayed 4 people in a Junior suite and it has even more room than needed, perfect for a family!
Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the breakfast has what you need to get started. In the evening there is a heated swimming pool with a separate spa/hot tub.

Very good service by the front-desk and sales assistants as well.
The only drawback is that the decor and carpets are getting old-fashioned, but as said, it is fully functional.

Room Tip: We stayed several times, and all rooms are good. (This time we were next to the elevator, but did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommiestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
1.9 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#4 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Chico

Property: Oxford Suites Chico
Address: 2035 Business Ln, Chico, CA 95928-7628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chico
#1 Family Hotel in Chico
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Chico 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Centrally located near Chico State University, the Oxford Suites Chico is located just minutes away from the Sierra Nevada Brewery, Bidwell Mansion, the 3,400 acre Bidwell Park, restaurants, shopping and more. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Outdoor Pool, Spa, Sauna & Steam Room and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oxford Suites Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Chico Hotel Chico
Oxford Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing