We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hol. Inn Express Gateway to Yosemite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hol. Inn Express Gateway to Yosemite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Nice hotel, cool/modern decor. The breakfast room is sparkling clean, the food is fresh and hot thanks to Socorro, the competent, pleasant employee in charge of providing guests with a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whippetmomWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to share your experience, We agree that Socorro is a great team member that truly enjoys what she does and wants to ensure that each one of her guests that are eating breakfast in your breakfast room not only enjoys a nice Hot breakfast but also wants to ensure everything is consistently hot and fresh. We hope to see you on your next visit to the valley.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    113
    25
    7
    12
See reviews for
140
92
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

By sharing our experience with the travelers we are helping them get their dream vacation.You are very welcome

Room Tip: You would want a room with a view of the palm trees and swimming pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We are happy to hear that you received Excellent Service. We also Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is a very nice newer hotel. Unfortunately there are many dairy farms around, and no matter how clean they keep the property, there is a definitely stanch in the air. It will take a good part of a day to get to Yosemite. So if you are visiting the NP, it is best to stay in the park, and not this far away. There are very few eating choices around, but we did find the 2nd Street Cafe to be a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8837Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Our team is glad to hear your stay with us was pleasant. We are one of the newer hotels in the area. It is also nice to hear you had a chance to visit Yosemite National Park which is about an hour and 15 mins to the gates. I apologize if our staff did not recommend the many places to eat near our hotel as we do have many choices from Steakhouses to a great Mexican restaurant near our hotel, and a favorite is the restaurant at the golf course. Although it was great that you did eat at the 2nd street Cafe which is a local favorite. We do appreciate the time you took to share your experience and look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

When I first arrive at the hotel staff was very friendly. However I have to pay extra because the room that I selected online and requested 2 bed was not available. So I had to pay an additional fee for an upgrade however, when we let down the sofa bed there was a sticky mouse pad underneath. The front desk person refused to move it and insisted that we would not have a mouse in our room during the winter time. Therefore as women could not sleep. I thought this was poor service. With the train and the thin walls you can hear every thing and I mean every thing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 58kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest

I am delighted to see that you found our staff to be friendly as we try to ensure the best of possible service. I do see that you were assessed an upgrade charge given that you booked a different room type than the room you wanted at check in. I always encourage all of our guests to book directly with the hotel so that there is no confusion in the type of room you need and can guarantee it at check in. I do apologize for the level of noise you may have encountered. We hope that on your next stay with us we can make up for the shortfall you experienced on this last stay. We do appreciate your time for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a great hotel if you don't mind loud trains screaming by with the horns blaring every two hours while you attempt to sleep. It is also great if you don't mind loud, obnoxious guests arriving at the hotel at 2:30am laughing and screaming and carrying on like idiots. Count on paper thin walls, doors, windows, ceilings and floors to ensure you don't miss a single thing even after said neighbors arrive at 2:30am. Front desk girl was amazing and nice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns with us about your recent stay. I would like to apologize that some of the other guests in our hotel that day were being too loud. I am unsure if you reported this to Guest Services so we can address this at the time of the incident to correct the situation. We do monitor our guests especially during the evening hours to ensure our guests get a good nights sleep. I apologize if the trains kept you up, normally they do not run in the evening hours. I do hope that we can make your stay right for you on your next visit. We do try to provide an excellent customer experience for all of our guests.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandan, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Chowchilla several times each year when we are in the area for business. The complimentary breakfast is by far the best and well tended to breakfast we've ever experienced in a hotel in this price range. Socorro, the lady who replenishes the breakfast area, goes above and beyond in making sure the food is refreshed often and everything is clean. We have always been impressed with her excellent service and friendly personality.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler11114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinn93610, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is always a joy to hear such nice words to describe our hotel and our staff. Socorro is an excellent breakfast host who really takes pride in providing the over the top customer service that we live by. We do provide a free FULL HOT breakfast with bacon, eggs, and much more every morning for our guests. I am glad we are your choice when travelling through our area. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was a victim of a theft at this hotel by a person who had secured a master key when I stepped across the street for 30 minutes to eat. There have been several thefts there using the same method all caught on video and no-one caught. Unless you lock all your valuables in the hotel safe, the hotel is not liable for any thefts under any circumstances. It is in the fine print of your contract as they pointed out.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ValleyTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinn93610, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I do apologize for the incident that occurred at our hotel at the time of your stay. Unfortunately there were many hotels in our area that were victims from these thefts that were targeting all hotels along Hwy 99 a few months ago. We have never had any form of theft or safety issues for as long as we have been open and will continue to ensure this event does not repeat itself. Again we hope that you would understand that this incident was out of the hotels control and would not hold it against us as we continue to try to ensure our guests safety and to provide that over the top customer service that our guests deserve.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowchilla
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madera
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Madera
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madera Yosemite Pk Area
16.5 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
Address: 309 Prosperity Blvd, Chowchilla, CA 93610-8498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chowchilla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gateway to Yosemite enjoys an easily accessible address in California's Central Valley, just 14 miles from Merced Regional Airport Macready Field. Fresno, Madera and Merced are all moments away, along with their vibrant attractions and cultural arts. Spend your holiday with us, and enjoy the finest entertainment and recreation in the heart of California. Just beyond our sophisticated new lobby, our accommodations exude refinement, with amenities designed for the 21st-century traveler. Complimentary wireless Internet access, signature Simply Smart bedding, microwaves and refrigerators help you feel right at home in your guest room, while suites offer additional space to entertain or spread out your belongings. Start the day with our free Express Start hot breakfast buffet, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, western omelets, sausages and 100-percent Arabica Smart Roast coffee. Afterward, lounge beside our sun-dappled pool, or work out in the Health & Fitness Center. Our concierge will be pleased to assist with anything that might make your stay more enjoyable, including maps and directions to Yosemite National Park only 56 miles from the South Gates. Located in Central California's Sierra Nevada mountain range, Yosemite National Park offers a diverse range of activities to enhance this incredible 1,170 square miles of breathtaking natural splendor. Guided tours, backpacking trails, top rated rock climbing sites and spectacular sunsets at Glacier Point are just the beginning. Yosemite shops offer everything from souvenirs to supplies, to ensure that you have all of the necessities for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gateway To Yosemite Hotel Chowchilla
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Gateway To Yosemite
Chowchilla Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Northeast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing