We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money”
Review of Putters Bistro & Pub - CLOSED

Putters Bistro & Pub
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ave. 26
Chowchilla, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Been to this restaurant several times and the service had been consistently slow. Orders consistently come out wrong, and the food is average at best for an over priced meal. Not much effort is placed in customer service...you be better off going to McDonalds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ixjc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
clovis, ca
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks- dining room service poor”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Food in dining room is really good. The service my a male waiter in their is deplorable. He doesn't communicate to guests. Shouldn't be serving people at all. The bar is great has great drinks. Bartender (female) was awesome.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank golfercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Owner at Putters Bistro & Pub, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you enjoy your experience at the bar. That being said, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some feedback as this helps us improve. We hope to see you again soon! Best, Russel (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't go there.”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

3 years ago great. 2 years ago good but they got checks mixed up. This year it was absolutely terrible and our group will never go back. We had a group of 26 for dinner. Made reservations 2 months in advance. All arrived and seated by 6:20 pm, drink orders taken 15 to 20 minutes later. Our waiter made it quite clear that he didn't want to be there--unfriendly and abrupt. Took dinner orders at approx. 6:50, dinners started arriving about 7:20pm. One person got his dinner after everyone else had already finished dinner, so basically ate by himself. No bread until salads came out and then gave us 4 rolls for 8 people. We asked twice for more rolls and our request was basically just ignored. Finally pushed the roll request at end of dinner and were told it took 25 minutes because they were in oven. They then gave only us 4 rolls for 6 people. Never offered coffee or dessert. Water was requested several times before being replenished and then reluctantly--as though it was a chore. Most dinners were good and hot, although some were just warm, but they were not served in an efficient manner. Once dinners did start coming out, it took 15-20 minutes before everyone was served. The restaurant was virtually empty except the bar area had 3 or 4 guys at a table. It was obvious they were shorthanded--we saw only our waiter and the young woman who helped with serving. Saving on labor?!. Our outing host went back the next day and talked about our poor service, etc. to the owner and he was very rude--did not seem to care and told her she only wanted her money back. Gratuity was added at 18% and I wished I had given a $1 after that response to her.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M, Owner at Putters Bistro & Pub, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We are sorry to hear about your experience with us, Bob. We do our best to ensure a high standard of food and service is provided to our customers. It seems that standard was not adhered to on your group’s visit. Since then, we've talked to our servers about how best to handle large groups to avoid situations like you've described. We thank you for taking the time to review us, as it helps us improve. We'd love to see you soon! Russel (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Putters Bistro & Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing