We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuma bound”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Reviewed 24 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank ROSE H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

This was a nice room and I had a pleasant stay. I did have a concern about having a door in my room that led to the room next door as I was by myself so I did not sleep as comfortably as I could have. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank SANDRA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have connecting rooms and that is the door that was in your room. We are more than happy on your next stay to assign you a room without a connecting door. We do appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We were a bit sceptical after reading some bad reviews and complaints about noise, but we were pleasantly surprised. We actually found the level of noise acceptable; we've had a lot worse in other hotels that were closer to railroads or highways.

Pros:
- Not too expensive, especially in comparison to Fresno hotels
- Clean and spacious room
- Very friendly manager that was knowledgeable of the area and gave good directions
- New tv and a lot of tv channels
- Fast internet

Cons:
- The term gateway to Yosemite is somewhat misleading, but if you do your research you'd know that this is a 1,5 - 2 hour drive.
- Breakfast wasn't overwhelming, but at least it had waffles and fresh fruit

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatalX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are a newly renovated hotel. We do have many channels over a 100 which many guest love. We are also under new management and will continue to strive to ensure that we provide excellent customer service. We are about an hour drive from Yosemite, although as you know there are not many hotels in Yosemite which why many stay in our area. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank ARLENE K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
RED BLUFF
11
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Rooms not clean mold in bathroom shower area and back of shower cur ten, carpets are not vacuumed properly. found out why I watched a made go into a room to clean it I timed her she was 7min 40 sec really you can not clean a room properly in that time. Rooms need to be deep cleaned then you may get away with 15min if it is in good shape from the checked out customer. Location is used for transient farm workers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am disappointed to read that we fell short of your expectations as this is not normal for our hotel. We do try to provide a great value for our location and will continue to do so. I see that you feel the rooms were not clean and I am surprised that the housekeeper was only in the room for 7 mins given normally rooms take about 25-30 minutes per room to get cleaned which allows our rooms to be cleaned the correct way. I will personally look into this issue. We do have many different clients from tourists that visit Yosemite National Park to local construction, that do stay with us as we are a perfect location for all different clients. I do hope we can look forward to you staying with us again and I will ensure the level of service and quality will be up to par as we do strive to make every guest stay 100% satisfactory.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel is a good value. It is clean, comfortable, the rooms are recently remodeled and the staff is attentive. Is it the right next to Yosemite? No, but close enough for a day trip. Is it an opulent and luxurious hotel? No, this is Chowchilla. We spent 9 nights during a family get-together and we had a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I see that you enjoyed your stay while visiting Yosemite National Park. We have recently remodeled and glad you enjoyed it. We do have a very attentive staff to ensure the great customer service that our customers expect is provided. We are the perfection location for a day trip into Yosemite National Park. I am glad to see you were able to spend a number of nights with us and had a very positive experience. We look forward to having you at our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We found ourselves here after a particularly long day and not able to continue the drive back to Los Angeles. The hotel was quite clean and functional, priced-reasonably. Check in was very fast and the manager was very courteous. The only complaint I have was being awoken from a deep sleep by the sound of an oncoming train. You can imagine how this feels when you are wide- awake, but friends when you are half-asleep, that train whistle of panic is absolutely no fun. Not the soundest slumber of my life, but otherwise it was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelacatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest

I am glad to see you that you found our facilities clean and comfortable. We do try our best to ensure we provide great customer service. I do see the train was a concern for you as we do have a train that comes through the area at times. I do apologize for this. We hope that given the rest of your stay was great that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowchilla
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
17.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Madera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madera
18.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite

Address: 220 E. Robertson Blvd, Chowchilla, CA 93610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chowchilla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite is the comfortable, affordable hotel of choice conveniently located in the heart of California. We are only 58 miles away from the breathtaking Yosemite National Park south entrance gates so that you can enjoy a great day of hiking and rafting. We are a perfect hotel for the park with an ample amount of information and maps to provide our guest with. We are also just 14 miles from Merced Regional Airport Macready Field. Fresno, Madera and Merced are all moments away, along with their vibrant attractions and cultural arts. Enjoy the finest entertainment and recreation in the heart of California. At Days Inn, our friendly staff is available 24 hours a day to assist you, and we’ll get your mornings off to a great start with our delicious complimentary Daybreak Hot Breakfast Buffet which includes fresh waffles, yogurt, hardboiled eggs and coffee/juice among other items. After a day of adventure, you can relax and unwind in the seasonal outdoor pool. The hotel was completely renovated including the lobby, all rooms and bathrooms in March 2015. Every spacious guest room at Days Inn includes a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker, a beautiful bathroom, and a full array of personal care amenities. Whether you’re watching your favorite movie on satellite TV or staying connected with free Wi-Fi, Days Inn has everything you need to feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gateway To Yosemite Hotel Chowchilla
Days Inn Chowchilla
Chowchilla Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing