We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Chula Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chula Vista Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I booked a room here during Comic Con to avoid the high prices of the downtown hotels. The last time I stayed at this hotel I was on the 3rd floor and the front desk honored my request to be on the same floor. Although this location is not what I'd call a destination resort, it's a simple and clean hotel for those who are on a budget.

This was my second time staying and it was just as clean, sufficient, and friendly as the last. Since my last stay, I noticed that they upgraded the flat screen to a larger one. Reading others' reviews leads me to believe some aren't doing their research before booking. This hotel is in an older part of town which I think other guests don't keep in mind. They provide a clean room with everything you need for a comfortable stay with nice staff. If you want to pay $50-$150+tax more, you will get a nicer hotel located in a desirable area. You get what you pay for, and more at this hotel. I'll return to this location if I'm in San Diego. As a traveler who depends on reviews, let's all try to have reasonable expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAnative714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    69
    52
    24
    25
See reviews for
91
44
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

The hotels that were our first choices sold out, but it was a good thing we found out. This hotel evoked a 5 rating due to the level of service and amenities we received at practically a Motel6 rate. We had free parking, wifi, and breakfast, a larger updated room in a quiet location per husband's request. The beds were okay, but I prefer a plusher mattress. The rest of the family enjoyed the firmer feel which worked out. We wanted to use the pool on our last day but unfortunately there were about 5 other families in the area. That was a let down since it was very hot. Anderson was a memorable part of our stay. He was a professional young man that deserves a promotion.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happypilgrim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
238 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and had a perfectly fine experience. As others have posted, it is not the Ritz nor is it the horror that some referred to. We were in room 236 which was clean, the bed was comfortable, the air conditioner worked fine, etc. There was one minor idiosyncricy---the bathroom light would come on by itself during the night! I'd get up to shut it off and a few hours later it turned itself back on! A haunting at the hotel or bad wiring? It never happened during the day.
The hotel is convenient to San Diego and allows easy access to all attractions without the big city hassle. As a matter of fact, we attended an evening concert in Balboa Park that ended at 9:30 and we were back at the Best Western by 9:50.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 54Nancy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We chose to stay here again because of the great experience we last had at this hotel. The same front desk personnel Anderson, Erica, and Claudia were there still and remembered me! I absolutely recommend this hotel to my friends and family just based on service from the staff. The fact that the rooms are clean and comfy of course are contributing factors as well. See all of you next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_explorer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chula vista, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

clean, and comfortable. Not close to much of interest that I know, but liquor store across the street and pool with Jacuzzi seemed clean. Staff was kind. One ice machine on ground floor. small parking lot, but adequate. microwave and fridge in the room was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Allison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have never stayed in such a terrible hotel. I am very surprised Best Western would put their name on it. The beds were so springy, noisy, and uncomfortable it was impossible to sleep. I think the mattresses are from the 1970s. The bathroom was deplorable. Dirty, mismatched tiles, poor caulking, caved in ceilings and the hot and old were backwards. Weird black filth that looked like dark sand would drip out of sink and in toilet. I slept closest to the door so I could protect my wife and children from an intruder if need be. Would have rather slept in a tent near the beach. Facilities probably would have been better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My daughter and I checked in on Saturday night and left on Monday. The room was very clean and the breakfast we very good. Waffles and hard boiled eggs, muffins and microwave sandwiches and juice. The pool is much smaller than the picture on the website. There was a slight gap under the door, but I have seen worse, I just used a towel to block it better. When I got home I realized I had left a VITAL part of my sleep machine in the room and Anderson was a VERY VERY helpful person. He had it shipped right away! I would not hesitate to stay again. It was centrally located to the highway and many attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
1.8 mi away
South Bay Inn
South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
1.9 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Inn

Property: Chula Vista Inn
Address: 946 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91911 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn)
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chula Vista Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chula Vista, this Hotel is only a 15-minute drive to San Diego and the Sleep Train Amphitheatre. It features an outdoor pool, spa and rooms with free Wi-Fi. The spacious rooms at Chula Vista Inn are furnished with a dining table and a coffee maker. Cable TV and a hair dryer are also provided. Chula Vista Hotel offers a continental breakfast daily. Free parking and business services are available. Chula Vista Bayfront Park is a 5-minute drive from the Best Western Inn. San Diego Air and Space Museum and the San Diego Convention Center are a 15-minute drive away. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chula Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing