We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”
Review of Chula Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chula Vista Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Drummond, Montana
1 review
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We have five young children. We enjoyed staying here. The outside pool and
hot tub were great. The breakfast wast good. The customer service was
excellent! I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbradsjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    69
    52
    25
    26
See reviews for
92
45
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

The Best Western Chula Vista Inn is a basic, no frills hotel that is located on a main street. The rooms are located away from the road, there is a swimming pool, and the building is 3 floors. Service at check-in was wonderful, the room was clean, and there is a microwave and a mini fridge, which are both good points. The hotel offers breakfast in the morning to their guests. Close to the inn are plenty of places to eat and shop, including Target, McDonald's, and several strip malls with many other options.

The bed was comfortable but recommend bringing your own pillows. The bathroom is divided where you have the shower and toilet in one area and the sinks separate. There are no additional toiletries except for the mount in the shower that has shampoo, conditioner, and gel. There is an iron and board, recycle bin, hairdryer, and coffee maker in the room as well, but no formal closet. There is a closet bar with hangers near the sinks. My only complaint would be that I was awoken early in the morning by other guests slamming doors and talking loudly along the hallway (not the hotel's fault).

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as a basic overnight room coming back from the border or visiting the Chula Vista area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlnDixie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbank
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed at the Chula Vista Inn and had a great time. Staff was great! Close to many San Diego attractions with lots to do and see. The hotel is clean and quiet. Beds were quite comfy too. Spent 4 lovey days seeing the sights. Pool and hot tub were nice to have -but had to ask for the hot tub to be heated every night so we could use it-but it did only take 1/2 hour to heat up-pool is freezing! The complimentary breakfast is lovely with lots of choices for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

This hotel is well kept. Rooms are clean and everything works fine. I have stayed in this hotel multiple times and never a problem, The staff is friendly and helpful. The location makes it perfect to visit my relatives and do the San Diego attractions all at the same time.

  • Liked — well kept clean rooms and location
  • Disliked — internet connection dropped out a couple of times but reconnected w/no problem
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamTraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

If you are looking for five-star amenities such as an on-site world class restaurant, delivered dry cleaning, masseuse, etc., along with luxurious surroundings and exquisitely landscaped grounds then no, this hotel is NOT the property for you.

However, if you are travelling for business and require a clean, quiet, well-maintained, well-managed, comfortable room to bathe and sleep in...along with an attentive staff and basic amenities, along with a nice breakfast with which to begin your day...then this hotel is, IMO, a wonderful option.

This is an industrial, working-class section of Chula Vista, approximately eight miles south of downtown San Diego. I made it to Petco Park within ten minutes each day without traffic. Within two miles of the property just south are a Target, Wal Mart and several restaurants such as McDonald's, KFC, Yoshinoya's and a 24-hour IHOP. Again, not luxurious but all easily accessible.

Despite the working-class appearance of the neighborhood I felt completely comfortable and safe at this hotel. I was treated very respectfully and graciously by the staff. Their attention both to my personal comfort as well as to mainaining the property was impressive. They really went out of their way to ensure a clean, attractive environment. No issues whatsoever with checking in or out nor over the telephone prior to arrival. Ice machine worked all days of my visit and the provided breakfast consisting of juice, fruit, waffles, cereal, toast, pan dulces and milk was very much appreciated. Only criticism is that breakfast is closed at 9am; it would be nice if it was extended to 10am or 10:30am for later risers.

Room was basic but very clean and comfortable. Everything in the room appeared to be in working order and in good condition. Nice amount of space for one or two; not sure how comfortable a family of three or four would be but for me, it was adequate. Bed was comfortable and pillows were soft and clean with no funny smells or scratchy fabrics. In-room microwave and fridge worked fine and were very appreciated.

Main criticism: yes, the bathroom's appearance could have been a bit nicer. It was clean and functional but a fresh of paint and some work on the mouldings and fixtures wouldn't hurt. Did this detract from my experience..? Not at all; just a small quibble. I'm sure the attentive staff will address it by my next visit. I would definitely consider this hotel again on my next visit to the San Diego area. I was beyond pleased with my experience.

  • Liked — Cleanliness; staff; freeway access
  • Disliked — Breakfast ending at 9am
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank btx109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2008

While the location is off the beaten San D path (and on a varied commercial roadway) it worked for us to visit family in east Chula Vista and also head north for the San D sights. Manager and staff were great.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2007

the inn is set at a convenient place. downtown san diego is a few miles north and mexico is just less than nine miles south. the inn itself looks presentable and its quite bigger than i expected. the customer service is welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 72ix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.8 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 22 in Chula Vista
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Inn

Property: Chula Vista Inn
Address: 946 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91911 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn)
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chula Vista Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chula Vista, this Hotel is only a 15-minute drive to San Diego and the Sleep Train Amphitheatre. It features an outdoor pool, spa and rooms with free Wi-Fi. The spacious rooms at Chula Vista Inn are furnished with a dining table and a coffee maker. Cable TV and a hair dryer are also provided. Chula Vista Hotel offers a continental breakfast daily. Free parking and business services are available. Chula Vista Bayfront Park is a 5-minute drive from the Best Western Inn. San Diego Air and Space Museum and the San Diego Convention Center are a 15-minute drive away. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chula Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing