We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste of Mexico right here in San Diego” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Patio

El Patio
Ranked #12 of 428 Restaurants in Chula Vista
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Taste of Mexico right here in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

The recipes are the most authentic this side of the border. There is a reason they have been here for over 50 years. It might sound inconsequential, but I love the free chips and salsa. I tried the short ribs and they are delicious. They have many entree's that are not your typical fanfare. Every time I try something new, I am amazed. I have been going about once a week for the past three months and the service is always top notch. Try their margarita on the rocks, it goes great with the chips.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Favorite So Far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Best ground beef enchaladas I've had in a long time. Hubby's chile verde burrito was the best he's had so far. I tasted and agree. The service couldn't have been better. The most attentive staff we've ever seen. They were not there constantly hovering, as the restaurant was pretty busy, but when a staff member went by and saw that we might need something, it was taken care of. Next time will try a half "Flying Saucer" which is a fried flour tortilla topped with your choice of meat, lettuce, tomatoes and sour cream. There was probably more, but that is what I could see being served to another diner. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyWesternStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oldie but goodie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This place is great for home cooking mexican food. They have mexican food that is not at your typical mexican food restaurants.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My friends lunch here often”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Absolutely the best Mexican food--great soups, salads besides.

Helpful?
1 Thank RosalynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

I would prefer to eat at El Patios than any other Mexican restaurants in Chula Vista. That is one thing we have an abundance of, is Mexican Restaurants.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dojo677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Patio also viewed

 

Been to El Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing