We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Business Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highway Inn Chula Vista
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Chula Vista
San Jose, California
1 review
“Regular Business Traveler”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have stayed here on multiple occasions across a several year span. The prices are very reasonable, staff is always attentive to my requests. Rooms are clean, not modern by any means but clean none the less. As far as safety, your in Chula Vista not La Jolla, I've always felt safe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are updating this hotel and we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    1
    2
    9
See reviews for
4
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Currently staying here and unfortunately for the next two nights.
AREA: Across the street is a generic brand gas station, kitty corner is run down vacant looking building plus an old garage that never seems to be open even though cars are parked out front (they may have been there a while). As soon as you turn on Broadway to get to this motel you know something is wrong, it immediately turns ghetto. People seem to kick it at the gas station and across other street during the evenings. Just seems open, like anyone off the street could walk in and break into your car or hang out in front.

MOTEL and ROOM: SURPRISE! Martha Stewart says sleep soundly to cover up the screams at night with her everyday brand pillows! Rooms are decent. Aged comforters, floor is dirty &old looking. Bathroom tub had dead ants, whatever. Tried to nap during stay, woke up to fire engines and police sirens that seemed to stop somewhere close, twice. Nearby residentals have bars on their windows. Random mattresses thrown in corner of 3rd floor. Stuffy smells. Night life slighty heavy with bad booming car radio rap. Check in window located outside near driveway. Slept bad last night due to fridge clinking and tinking, maybe there was a troll inside.

Wouldn't have stayed unless I had no other choice. Constant rape jokes are told between my friends and I.

Pro's:
Does have AC, does have good hot water, has a decent fridge and microwave (haven't used).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxuryPeoples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thanks for your information, however this is very old and we have changed management and upgraded this hotel, it is a limited service budget hotel and we are in the midst of making additional changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2011

after reading the other reviews I was worried about the cleanliness of the place and security of it. Once we arrive at the Inn they pointed out that an error had been made on our reservation and they were fast at helping us with the accommodations for our family. This was a last minute trip to San Diego with the price of the hotel and the cleanliness of it I was very satisfy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherries86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you we have upgraded some things, if you are in the area please come back and check us out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2010

A/C had 2 settings, on and off, making our sleep infuriatingly uncomfortable. Security is also lacking, as our car was broken into while parked in the most well-lit space in the lot. Hotel employee (singular) masquerading around as "security" was lackadaisical and didn't seem at all surprised by the break-in. On top of it all, the room was grossly overpriced even through hotwire.com's asinine "hot deals" gimmick.

Don't stay here. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are an older limited service hotel but we are in the midst of upgrading. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, MT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This is an icky motel, the carpet was sticky, the toilet leaked, the rooms stunk! Cheap motel, I suppose you get what you pay for! Its almost like it is in the ghetto!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffnjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Since this review we have upgraded and we are making improvements. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
0.6 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 21 in Chula Vista
592 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 21 in Chula Vista
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
#12 of 21 in Chula Vista
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada San Diego National City
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
1.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 21 in Chula Vista
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highway Inn Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway Inn Chula Vista

Property: Highway Inn Chula Vista
Address: 70 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910-1422
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Highway Inn Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chula Vista, this motel offers a 24-hour front desk, wake-up call services and on-site laundry facilities. Our guest rooms at the Highway Inn Chula Vista are air conditioned, We have Cable TV with HBO and Microwave and fridge are available on request. Our motel is closed to many attractions including the Seaworld Aquatica and Coronado State Beach. The Westfield Plaza Bonita shopping center is within a 5-minute drive from the Highway Inn Chula Vista.We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Highway Inn Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing