We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since 2007. This hotel use to the Comfort Inn. The olnly change was the name to Holiday Inn and a few welcomed changes such as the bedding, painting and some other stuff. I am happy to see hotels getting away from the big bulky comforters. The rooms are always clean and tidy. The nice and helpful staff stayed the same. The breakfast is great and if you don't want to eat in the kitchen area they have trays for you to take to your room. There are plenty of resturants to choose from in the area. There is a market next door if you need to pick up some last minute items. This hotel is located with easy on and off access to the freeway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenna_samchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed one night at Holiday Inn Express because we had an appointment in Chula Vista. A room was not available when we arrived at 10 am, but I was told to check regularly with reception. We left suitcases with reception and went shopping (they gave us a 10% discount coupon for Macy's) until 11 when we were told our room was ready. We had room 305 with a view of the swimming pool and parking area. Each of the queen sized beds was big enough for two people.

Pro
• Good wi-fi signal, but a bit of a nuisance to log in every time we went on Internet
• Plasma TV with good channels including HBO
• Large and clean room with many wall plugs
• Refrigerator.
• Good location across the street from La Quinta restaurant and next door to supermarket
• Free buffet breakfast from 6-9:30 am included scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit.
• Small parking area in front and large parking lot in back.

Con
• The elevator was a bit slow

We had a comfortable stay at Holiday Inn Express, and recommend it for stopovers in Chula Vista.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My family and I came to the now holiday inn express with reservations at noon with what their staff had said our rooms were ready to find out that in fact our rooms were not ready. So they offer to hold our luggage. We come back later to get our said rooms to find out that our reservations our GONE... With minimal help or sympathy from the front desk for their ERROR we had to go to another hotel that was over a half hour away.. I'm honestly so irritated and disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingchica08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I liked the hotel, but hate the location. I don't think I will come back just because of its surroundings. Rooms, lobby, and hotel public areas are very clean, and service at this hotel is decent. If you dont mind driving about 10 miles to get to Downtown San Diego, then perhaps this may be a good choice. Parking is free at this hotel.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank E_Sharaf_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Nice quiet area just South of San Diego. Front desk (especially Tiffany) was excellent and very helpful. Room (accessible) very well kept, equipped and clean. Comfortable beds. Swimming pool great. Like the location: Mission Beach less than 20 minutes, the Zoo even closer. Not many restaurants near by, but there are some within short drive. Hope to be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamburuChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Booked/prepaid online a non-smoking/2 queen/sofa bed suite for $120+. Easy location, right off the 5, near a gas station & other quick bites. Lobby was clean, Tiffiny was our front desk clerk @ check-in/check out & she was very friendly. The room was clean, air-conditioner very cold, & so was the fridge. We headed back out, went to the beach & upon returning I asked the swing clerk if she wouldn't mind supplying 2 extra towels since I like to use 1 for my hair & so do my kids, she gave us 6 more(already had six). The water heated up quickly & the bathroom was very spacious, The room was very quiet & the beds soft & clean. Breakfast was good - scrambled eggs, pico de gallo, sausages, waffles, cereal, 4 kinds of juice, yogurt, milk, hard boiled eggs, 5 different pastries/muffins, coffee/tea, bagels & cream cheese. Check out was a breeze. Next SD trip I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaveSpoonWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here to attend a conference at the San Diego convention center as San Diego hotels were way more expensive. (Walk to the Bayfront/E street trolley, take that to 12th & Imperial Transit Center, then walk to convention center - that's faster than taking the orange line and total door-to-door is about 30 minutes.) Standard breakfast and the scrambled eggs were edible. Yay! Grocery store right next door - you will want to buy big jugs of water there because Chula Vista water really tastes bad. Several restaurants and eateries in the neighborhood that you can walk to. I wanted to give this place an above average rating, but there were a couple of flaws. First, housekeeping was inconsistent; sometimes toiletries and cups were replaced; sometimes they were not. And, second, the wireless Internet would sometimes slow to a crawl. I ended up tethering to my 4G phone several times. (For the geeks out there - they only had G running, not N.)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.8 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 22 in Chula Vista
349 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Chula Vista
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.8 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#13 of 22 in Chula Vista
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista

Address: 632 E St, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2113 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chula Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Chula Vista
Price Range: £82 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Chula Vista
Comfort Inn & Suites Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Comfort Inn Chula Vista
Chula Vista Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing